Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

5 Lady Flames Earn Big South All-Conference Honors

October 30, 2015  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Jennifer Knoebel

Jennifer Knoebel

After garnering its second straight Big South regular-season championship, five Liberty women's soccer players have earned all-conference honors, as voted on by the conference's coaches.

Sophomore forward Jennifer Knoebel headlines the group of Lady Flames, picking up first team and all-academic team honors. Redshirt junior goalkeeper Holly Van Noord and senior midfielder Rebekah Page were selected to the conference's second team. Freshmen forwards Devon Jones and Aly Hill each earned all-freshman team honors to round out Liberty's honorees.

An all-freshman team member in 2014, Knoebel paced the Lady Flames in points (17), goals (5) and assists (7) during the 2015 regular season. The forward's seven helpers were also the fourth best mark in the Big South. Knoebel earned Big South Attacking Player of the Week Honors on Oct. 5 for her performances in wins over Charleston Southern and Campbell. She also posted game-winning goals in 1-0 victories over High Point (Oct. 10), Coastal Carolina (Oct. 24) and Longwood (Oct. 27). In the classroom, the nursing major and Big South Presidential Honor Roll member currently holds a 3.73 grade point average.

Earning a second team nod for the second straight year, Page missed six games due to injury during Liberty's non-conference slate, but returned in time for the start of the conference season. Starting all 10 conference contests, Page played a pivotal role in guiding Liberty to a regular-season title and an 8-2 mark in Big South action.

After earning Big South Defensive Player of the Year honors, last season, Van Noord entered the 2015 campaign as the Big South Preseason Defensive Player of the Year. The netminder added to her stellar career numbers at Liberty, posting eight shutouts and a league-leading 103 saves. Van Noord also concluded the regular season ranked third in the conference in save percentage (.866) and goals-against average (0.90). Van Noord is currently the reigning Big South Defensive Player of the Week after closing out the final three games of the regular season with 14 saves, two shutouts and zero goals allowed in 225 minutes of action.

Despite playing in just 12 games, Jones concluded the regular season as Liberty's second leading scorer with four goals. The Columbus, Ohio native made her presence known on Sept. 23, recording two goals, including the game-winner with 20 seconds left during Liberty's 3-2 double overtime victory at Radford (Sept. 23). Along with a goal in a 3-1 win versus Campbell (Sept. 30), Jones also posted a goal and an assist in the Lady Flames' 3-0 victory at Winthrop (Oct. 21).

Playing in all 18 games during the regular season, Hill received the starting nod on 13 occasions. Like Jones, Hill was instrumental in Liberty's contest at Radford, concluding the contest with two assists. Along with Knoebel, Hill helped set up Jones' game-winning goal on her second assist. One week later, Hill netted her first collegiate goal against Campbell.

2015 Big South All-Conference
First-Team All-Conference
F:  Ashley Clark, R-Sr., Campbell
F:  Amber Adams, Jr., Coastal Carolina
F:  Jennifer Knoebel, Soph., Liberty
F:  Amanda Spencer, Jr., Longwood
MF:  Daniella Famili, Soph., Coastal Carolina
MF:  Becca Rolfe, Soph., High Point
MF:  Payton Ormsby, Jr., Campbell
MF:  Olivia Colella, Sr., Longwood
D:  Alana Mackey, Sr., Longwood
D:  Kelsey Perrell, R-Jr., High Point
D:  Taylor Coleman, Sr., Winthrop
D:  Jordan Lundin, Soph., Radford
GK:  Alex Persiani, Soph., High Point

Second-Team All-Conference
F:  Caroline Houser, Soph., UNC Asheville
F:  Anna Sells, Jr., Charleston Southern
F:  Shelby Hooe, Sr., Gardner-Webb
F:  Kayla Christian, Fr., Coastal Carolina
MF:  Bekah Page, Sr., Liberty
MF:  Hannah Gaither, Sr., Presbyterian College
MF:  Megan David, Sr., Winthrop
MF:  Erica Gazzani, Jr., Charleston Southern
D:  Sophie Cobb, Sr., Presbyterian College
D:  Emma Houser, Soph., UNC Asheville
D:  Haylea Witz, Sr., Longwood
D:  Bri Nagle, Jr., Gardner-Webb
GK:  Holly Van Noord, R-Jr., Liberty

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Amy Burch, D, Sr., High Point
Asyia Mitchell, F, Sr., Radford
Alexis Connors, GK, Sr., Campbell
Shannon Wratchford, F, Fr., Campbell
Mel Flatter, D, Jr., Coastal Carolina

All-Freshman Team
Kayla Christian, F, Coastal Carolina
Devon Jones, F, Liberty
Shannon Wratchford, F, Campbell
Sydney Wallace, D, Longwood
Callyn Loughrey, D, High Point
Justine James, F, UNC Asheville
Alyssa Dell Acqua, GK, Charleston Southern
Brittany DeLoach, D, Gardner-Webb
Kelsey Yeager, D, Presbyterian College
Anna Brantley, D, Campbell
Aly Hill, F, Liberty

All-Academic Team
Kine Thorsvik, MF, Jr., Campbell
Lydia Frierson, MF, Soph., Charleston Southern
Darbie Kelley, MF, Sr., Coastal Carolina
Shelby Hooe, F, Sr., Gardner-Webb
Amy Burch, D, Sr., High Point
Jennifer Knoebel, F, Soph., Liberty
Alana Mackey, D, Sr., Longwood
Sophie Cobb, D, Sr., Presbyterian College
Asyia Mitchell, F, Sr., Radford
Emma Houser, D, Soph., UNC Asheville
Jessica Logan, D, Sr., Winthrop

Attacking Player of the Year
Ashley Clark, F, R-Sr., Campbell

Defensive Player of the Year
Alex Persiani, GK, Soph., High Point

Freshman of the Year
Kayla Christian, F, Coastal Carolina

Coach of the Year
Paul Hogan, Coastal Carolina

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Shelby Hooe, F, Sr., Gardner-Webb