Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Big South and Music City MBB Matchups Announced

August 27, 2015  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Theo Johnson

Theo Johnson

2015-16 Men's Basketball Schedule

The 2015-16 Liberty Men's Basketball schedule is now officially set with the announcement of the Big South Conference schedule. Along with conference action, Liberty's opponents for the 2015 American Sports Network Challenge in Music City (Nashville, Tenn.) have been finalized.

During Liberty's stay in Tennessee, the Flames will play three straight games in the Nashville Municipal Auditorium, beginning with Appalachian State on Thanksgiving Day (Nov. 26). The following day, Liberty takes on Western Michigan before concluding the tournament against Tulane on Nov. 29.

The American Sports Network will broadcast select games during the event. Television assignments and game times for the tournament will be announced at a later date.

With 11 teams in the Big South, each member will play an 18-game unbalanced schedule in 2015-16, facing eight teams twice and two teams once. The Flames will have single meetings against Coastal Carolina and Campbell.

Conference action for the Flames begins on Dec. 3, when Liberty takes on Radford at the Dedmon Center before hosting Charleston Southern inside the Vines Center two days later. Following six non-conference matchups, Liberty returns to the Vines Center versus UNC Asheville on Jan. 2.

The Flames round out the regular season at home in three of the final four contests. Liberty's Senior Day takes place on Feb. 27, when the Flames host Gardner-Webb in the regular-season finale.

The 2016 Big South Men's Basketball Championship takes place March 3-6 inside The HTC Center in Conway, S.C. The top five teams receive a bye, giving way to first-round matchups among the remaining seeds on March 3, followed by quarterfinals (March 4), semifinals (March 5) and finals (March 6). The winner earns an automatic bid to the 2015 NCAA Tournament, with the opening round beginning March 15.

All television assignments and game times will be announced at a later date.