Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Lambert Receives Rock Royer/Mac Rivera Award

April 30, 2014  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Video Views: 39255

Trey Lambert, a senior pitcher on Liberty's baseball team, was named the recipient of the 2014 Rock Royer/Mac Rivera Award, presented on Monday evening as part of the third annual FLAMESPY Award show.

In 1975, the Rock Royer/Mac Rivera Award was established to honor the top graduating senior student-athlete at Liberty University who best exemplifies the standards and lives of both of these great Christian men.

Rock Royer was Liberty's first football coach in 1973. Mac Rivera was a member of Liberty's men's basketball team from 1972 until 1975. Both Rock Royer and Mac Rivera tragically died at a young age, with Royer dying in a plane crash and Rivera passing away after a fall.

This award encompasses more than just athletic ability. It recognizes the Liberty University graduating senior student-athlete who has maintained an exemplary testimony on the playing field, in the classroom and among the student body.

"Trey Lambert is a devout Christian. He is a team captain and our number one starter," stated Flames baseball head coach Jim Toman. "Trey is a great example of what a Liberty student-athlete should be. He puts God first, family second and his academics and baseball third. His teammates look up to him, on and off the field, as he has a very strong work ethic and is an incredible competitor."

Lambert is having a career season at Liberty on the field, leading the Flames with a 9-1 record and a 2.27 ERA. His stellar efforts on the mound have not gone unnoticed by those around the country, as he was recently named to the National Pitcher of the Year award watch list.

The senior played a significant part in Liberty's Big South championship run in 2013 and helped the Flames advance to the NCAA Columbia Regional finals. This season, Lambert's efforts on the mound have Liberty off to a 19-1 start in Big South play and nationally ranked for the first time in program history.

"My time at Liberty has helped enlighten me to the knowledge that my God provides for me and empowers me," commented Lambert. "It has helped show me that through the love, power and discipline of the Father, my time and capabilities on this earth have no bounds.

"It has helped open my eyes to the message that as a son and heir of our Lord, I have no greater purpose than to humbly serve Him with my life. My time at Liberty has shown me the opportunity I have to help others reach the next level, and experience the blessed life that the God who can do immeasurably more has to offer!"

In the classroom, Lambert is slated to graduate in May with an undergraduate degree in health promotion. The two-time Big South Presidential Honor Roll member is currently maintaining a 3.94 cumulative GPA.

Off the field, Lambert recently helped Liberty's baseball program win the athletics department's Darius Dixon Service award, given to the individual or team who unselfishly gives of their time to make a difference in the greater Lynchburg community.

Lambert has taken part in festivals, carnivals and reading days in numerous elementary schools around town and was active with Liberty's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee that helped out at local Special Olympic events.

Lambert also worked with Operation Christmas Child to put together gift boxes for needy children around Christmas time and helped prepare meals for rehabilitation patients at the Gateway House through Living Word home groups.

The Tazewell, Va., native has worked with the local chapter of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA), speaking in high schools at FCA Club meetings.

Lambert joins Dave Bream (1985) and Phillip Thompson (2006) as the third baseball recipient of the Rock Royer/Mac Rivera Award. He is the 44th overall recipient of this distinguished award, and this is the 39th year Liberty Athletics has presented its top athletics honor to a well-deserving graduating senior student-athlete.

Rock Royer Award
1975 - Sling Patterson - Football
1976 - David Neff - Football
1977 - Scott Goetz - Football

Mac Rivera Award
1977 - Paul Dalton - Men's Basketball

Rock Royer/Mac Rivera Award
1978 - Gary Avila - Wrestling
1979 - Dave Anderson - Football
1980 - Karl Hess - Men's Basketball
1981 - David "D.J." Hertzler - Football
1982 - Sharon Snodgrass - Women's Basketball
1983 - Bill Gillespie - Football/Men's Track & Field
1984 - Rick Seilhamer - Wrestling
1985 - Sue Andrew - Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
1985 - Dave Bream - Baseball
1986 - Ron Stamer - Men's Soccer
1987 - Pam Wilder - Women's Basketball
1989 - Kathy Guetterman - Volleyball
1990 - Lynn Attwood - Cross Country/Track & Field/Women's Basketball
1991 - Craig Holiday - Wrestling
1992 - Mike Coleman - Men's Basketball
1993 - Theresa Bream - Volleyball/Women's Basketball
1994 - James Downey - Football
1994 - Matt Hildebrand - Men's Basketball
1995 - Todd Setsma - Men's Golf
1996 - Ryan Werner - Track & Field
1997 - Michael Prettyman - Track & Field
1998 - Ben Anderson - Football
1999 - Jarrod Everson - Football
2000 - Elena Kisseleva - Women's Basketball
2001 - Andrea Wildrick - Track & Field
2001 - Nathan Day - Men's Basketball
2002 - Heather Sagan - Cross Country/Track & Field
2003 - Collin Mascagni - Men's Soccer
2004 - Tatiana Tkachuk - Volleyball
2005 - Sam Gado - Football
2006 - Sonia Rodriguez - Women's Soccer
2006 - Phillip Thompson - Baseball
2007 - Arlene Zelinskas - Track & Field
2008 - Allyson Fasnacht - Women's Basketball
2009 - Beth Bennett - Softball
2010 - Chris Rocco - Football
2011 - Zach Duke - Football
2012 - Jesse Sanders - Men's Basketball
2013 - Jennifer Klugh - Cross Country/Track & Field
2014 - Tray Lambert - Baseball