Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Liberty Seeded 7th for Big South Women's Lacrosse Championship

April 27, 2014  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Liberty Seeded 7th for Big South Women's Lacrosse Championship

After concluding the regular season this afternoon, the Liberty lacrosse team shifts its focus to the 2014 Big South Lacrosse Championship which begins with the quarterfinals on Wednesday. The Lady Flames enter the tournament as the No. 7 seed and will travel to face No. 2 seed Davidson on Wednesday evening at 6 p.m.

Liberty (1-6 Big South) and Davidson (6-1 Big South) recently faced each other on April 19 with the Wildcats earning a 16-3 victory. The Lady Flames are 0-7 all-time against Davidson, including a 17-8 setback in the semifinals of the 2013 Big South Lacrosse Championship.

Defending tournament champion High Point finished the Big South season with a perfect 7-0 conference record to win the outright regular-season title for the first time and the right to serve as host of the semifinals and finals.  The Panthers will take on No. 8 seed Presbyterian College (0-7 Big South) in the quarterfinals on Wednesday at 7 p.m. 

Longwood captured the No. 3 seed after finishing third in the standings with a 5-2 mark.  The Lancers will host No. 6 seed Campbell, which concluded the regular-season with a 2-5 league record, Wednesday at 4 p.m.  Winthrop is the No. 4 seed following its 4-3 Big South season, and will host No. 5 seed Coastal Carolina (3-4 Big South) Wednesday afternoon at 2 p.m.

Winthrop, Coastal Carolina, Campbell and Presbyterian College are making their first appearance in the conference's postseason championship.

The quarterfinals and semifinals will be broadcast live on the Big South Network, while Sunday's championship contest will be carried live on ESPN3 at 2 p.m.  The Big South champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship.

Wednesday, April 30 – Quarterfinals
Game 1:  No. 1 High Point vs. No. 8 Presbyterian College, 7 p.m.
Game 2:  No. 4 Winthrop vs. No. 5 Coastal Carolina, 2 p.m.
Game 3:  No. 2 Davidson vs. No. 7 Liberty, 6 p.m.
Game 4:  No. 3 Longwood vs. No. 6 Campbell, 4 p.m.

Friday, May 2 – Semifinals (at High Point)
Game 5:  Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 4 p.m.
Game 6:  Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4, 7 p.m.

Sunday, May 4 – Championship (at High Point)
Game 5 winner vs. Game 6 winner, 2 p.m. (TV: ESPN3)