Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Rivera and Yang Earn Big South All-Conference Doubles Honors

April 14, 2014  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Brittany Yang (pictured) and Belen Rivera earned a spot on the Big South All-Conference doubles team.

Brittany Yang (pictured) and Belen Rivera earned a spot on the Big South All-Conference doubles team.

Liberty's No. 2 doubles tandem of Belen Rivera and Brittany Yang garnered inclusion on the Big South Conference Women's Tennis All-Conference doubles team, as announced today by the league office. Additionally, Rivera and Yang, along with Cameron Richard and Valerie Thong, were tabbed Flight winners at the No. 2 and No. 3 positions, respectively, while Yang earned a spot on the All-Academic squad for the second consecutive season.

Rivera and Yang become the Lady Flames' sixth doubles pair ever, and first since 2011, to earn all-conference recognition. The duo finished the regular season with a 10-4 overall record, including a conference-best 8-1 mark in league action. Rivera and Yang posted all but one of their wins in the No. 2 spot. Thanks in part to their eight Big South victories, Yang and Rivera were also tabbed Flight winners at the No. 2 position. The tandem becomes the first-ever No. 2 pair to be declared a flight winner in Liberty history and the fifth duo overall.

Yang garners her second straight all-academic team honor, becoming the fourth Lady Flame in school history to earn inclusion on the squad more than once. The Newnan, Ga., native holds a 4.0 GPA as a graphic design major. On the court, Yang tallied a 13-5 overall singles record and a 12-7 doubles mark.

Since being paired together for the first time on March 8 against Marshall, Richard and Thong have been nearly perfect, posting a 9-1 overall record and a 6-0 mark in Big South matches. The tandem enters the Big South Championship on a nine-match winning streak. This marks the third year that Liberty has had two doubles pairs win flight awards in the same season.

Charleston Southern's Marketa Placha was voted the Big South Conference Women's Tennis Player of the Year, while Buccaneers head coach Mike Baker was tabbed the league's Coach of the Year. Coastal Carolina's Honami Yazawa was selected Freshman of the Year, while the league's sports information directors voted Coastal Carolina's Dominique de Wit as the Big South Women's Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

The 2014 Big South Women's Tennis Championship opened today in Boiling Springs, N.C., with a pair of first round matches. The No. 3 seed Lady Flames will play their first match of the tournament on Wednesday at 2:30 p.m. against No. 6 seed Radford in the quarterfinal round.

2014 Big South Conference Women's Tennis All-Conference And Award Winners
Women's Tennis Flight Winners

No. 1 singles – Andressa Garcia, Winthrop
No. 2 singles – Yvonne Hubler, Charleston Southern
No. 3 singles – Alexandra Walters, Charleston Southern
No. 4 singles – Nicolin Luecke, Charleston Southern
No. 5 singles – Rokia Sacko, Gardner-Webb
No. 6 singles – Monica Aguado, Winthrop

No. 1 doubles – Yvonne Hubler/Alexandra Walters, Charleston Southern
No. 2 doubles – Belen Rivera/Brittany Yang, Liberty
No. 3 doubles – Cameron Richard/Valerie Thong, Liberty

All-Conference Singles
Marketa Placha, Charleston Southern
Andressa Garcia, Winthrop
Yvonne Hubler, Charleston Southern
Karolina Chernaya, Campbell
Libby Scott, Coastal Carolina
Alexandra Walters, Charleston Southern
Alice Garcia, Winthrop
Honami Yazawa, Coastal Carolina
Caitlin Cridland, Winthrop

All-Conference Doubles
Yvonne Hubler and Alexandra Walters, Charleston Southern
Andressa Garcia and Alice Garcia, Winthrop
Libby Scott and Dominique De Wit, Coastal Carolina
Belen Rivera and Brittany Yang, Liberty

All-Academic Team
Ana Maria Ortiz, Campbell
Yvonne Hubler, Charleston Southern
Dominique De Wit, Coastal Carolina
Rokia Sacko, Gardner-Webb
Brittany Yang, Liberty
Sarah Moomau, Longwood
Lucia Leahy, Presbyterian
Taylor Newman, Radford
Zoe Hamel, UNC Asheville
Andressa Garcia, Winthrop

Player of the Year
Marketa Placha, Charleston Southern

Freshman of the Year
Honami Yazawa, Coastal Carolina

Scholar–Athlete of the Year
Dominique De Wit, Coastal Carolina

Coach of the Year
Mike Baker, Charleston Southern