Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Rininger Named Times-Dispatch 2nd Team All-State

March 26, 2014  Lynchburg, Va.  RSS
|   Share
Ashley Rininger was honored by the Richmond Times-Dispatch as a second team all-state member.

Ashley Rininger was honored by the Richmond Times-Dispatch as a second team all-state member.

Liberty redshirt sophomore post player Ashley Rininger has been tabbed a Richmond Times-Dispatch second team all-state selection, as published in this morning's edition of the newspaper.

Rininger adds to a sizeable list of honors the Canton, Ohio native has earned during a breakthrough season. She was a first team All-Big South honoree and the Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Rininger also garnered a trio of Big South Player of the Week honors (Dec. 2, Dec. 23 and Feb. 24) and made the Seton Hall Thanksgiving Classic All-Tournament Team.

Rininger finished with 16 double-doubles on the season, breaking Megan Frazee's program sophomore class record. Among Big South players, she ranked second in field goal percentage (.542), fourth in rebounding (9.0 rpg), sixth in blocked shots (1.4 bpg) and seventh in both scoring (14.7 ppg) and free throw percentage (.750).

Rininger helped the Lady Flames record their seventh consecutive 20-win season, as Liberty finished 20-11 overall and 15-5 in Big South action. The Lady Flames advanced to the Big South Championship semifinals for the 18th straight year.

2013-14 Richmond Times-Dispatch Women's Basketball All-State Awards
Division I First Team

Kirby Burkholder, James Madison
Robyn Parks, VCU
Shae Kelly, Old Dominion
Taylor Brown, George Mason
Alyssa Bennett, Hampton

Division I Second Team
Precious Hall, James Madison
Malia Tate-DeFreitas, Hampton
Uju Ugoka, Virginia Tech
Ashley Rininger, Liberty
Toia Giggetts, James Madison

Division I Honorable Mention
Kaitlyn Mathieu, William & Mary
Kristina King, Richmond
Ataira Franklin, Virginia
Nikki Newman, James Madison
Rachel Gordon, Norfolk State

State Player of the Year
Kirby Burkholder, James Madison

State Coach of the Year
Kenny Brooks, James Madison