Scores & Schedule Close keyboard_arrow_down

Team News

Zavodny Named First Team All-Big South

May 8, 2013  Rock Hill, S.C.  RSS
|   Share
Lady Flames (L-R) Megan Robinson, Katie Zavodny and Kassidy McCoy all earned Big South postseason awards.

Lady Flames (L-R) Megan Robinson, Katie Zavodny and Kassidy McCoy all earned Big South postseason awards.

On the eve of the 2013 Big South Softball Championship, three Liberty Lady Flames earned postseason conference honors, as announced at an awards banquet on the campus of Winthrop.

Junior outfielder Katie Zavodny was named to the Big South All-Conference first team. Third baseman Kassidy McCoy drew All-Freshman Team mention and sophomore second baseman Megan Robinson was listed on the Big South All-Academic Team.

Zavodny received all-conference honors for the second year in a row, after being named to the Big South All-Conference second team last year. She was also a member of the VaSID All-State second team in 2012.

A native of Concord, N.C., Zavodny has had a record-setting season, leading the Lady Flames with a .390 batting average, 40 runs scored and a program-record 41 stolen bases. She went on a 23-game hitting streak earlier this year, tying Liberty's existing record set by Alycia Stevens in 1995. Zavodny has two five-hit games this season, and she is the first Lady Flame with five hits in a game in program history. She is currently ranked No. 6 in the nation in stolen bases per game.

McCoy, a Hendersonville, Tenn., product, is a member of the inaugural Big South All-Freshman team in softball. She hits .290 with five doubles, three homers and 16 RBIs, and ranks fourth on the team with a .355 on-base percentage. McCoy went 3-for-3 with a homer against both Longwood and Virignia, and hit a home run during the regular-season finale versus Virginia Tech.

Robinson, who hails from Richlands, Va., holds a 4.0 grade-point average as a youth ministries major. She has made 50 starts at second base this season. Robinson paces the Lady Flames with 96 assists while sporting a .968 fielding percentage. She leads Liberty, and is tied for fifth in the Big South, with eight times hit by a pitch.

Senior pitcher/designated player Brooke Short, from conference newcomer Longwood, was named Big South Player of the Year. The conference's pitcher of the year distinction went to Coastal Carolina sophomore Kiana Quolas.

Campbell received two major softball awards, as catcher Courtney Klingler was voted Big South Freshman of the Year and Camels head coach Drew Peterson earned his first Big South Coach of the Year honor.

Gardner-Webb sophomore shortstop Savannah Burns earned Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

The 2013 Big South Softball Championship presented by Musco Sports Lighting begins tomorrow at 9 a.m., as No. 8 seed Presbyterian College and No. 9 seed Charleston Southern meet in an elimination game. The No. 6 seed Lady Flames face No. 3 seed Longwood in the fifth game of the day, scheduled to begin at 7:30 p.m. at Winthrop's Terry Field.

2013 Big South Softball Award Winners

First Team All-Conference
Kori Nishitomi, OF, Longwood
Katie Zavodny, OF, Liberty
Stephanie Jones, OF, Campbell
Raven Lee, 1B, Campbell
Samantha Meenaghan, 2B, Gardner-Webb
Ericka Nesbitt, SS, Campbell
Kory Hayden, 3B, Coastal Carolina
Megan Baltzell, C, Longwood
Kiana Quolas, P, Coastal Carolina
Rachael Walters P, Radford
Brooke Short, DP, Longwood
Marci Christian, UTL, Charleston Southern

Second Team All-Conference
McKenzi Corn, OF, Winthrop
Jana Matthews, OF, Charleston Southern
Morgan Eye, OF, Radford
Morgan Baker, 1B, Gardner-Webb
Carly Adams, 2B, Longwood
Emily Murphy, SS, Longwood
Stephanie Sbardella, 3B, Charleston Southern
Courtney Klingler, C, Campbell
Courtney Roberts, P, Campbell
Ashley Bagwell, P, Coastal Carolina
Chelsey Schoenfeldt, DP, Winthrop
Cat Tarvin, UTL, Presbyterian College

All-Freshman Team
Courtney Klingler, C, Campbell
Courtney Roberts, P, Campbell
Emily Murphy, SS, Longwood
Rachael Walters, P, Radford
Briana Chiusano, OF, Coastal Carolina
Carly Adams, 2B, Longwood
Emily Naegele, C, Radford
Erin Ruff, DP/UTL, Presbyterian
Morgan Noad, C, Coastal Carolina
Becky Mantel, CF, Radford
Kassidy McCoy, 3B, Liberty
Casey Burns, 1B, Radford

All-Academic Team
Brittany Arnn, P, Campbell
Jennifer Giles, P, Charleston Southern
Kiana Quolas, P/OF, Coastal Carolina
Savannah Burns, SS, Gardner-Webb
Megan Robinson, 2B, Liberty
Amy Putnam, OF, Longwood
Morgan Durham, 2b, Presbyterian College
Ryndee Ruch, OF, Radford
Chelsey Schoenfeldt, P/DP, Winthrop

Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Savannah Burns, Gardner-Webb
Player of the Year – Brooke Short, Longwood
Pitcher of the Year – Kiana Quolas, Coastal Carolina
Freshman of the Year – Courtney Klingler, Campbell
Coach of the Year – Drew Peterson, Campbell