Flames Home > Football Home > News

Woodrum Named to Jerry Rice Award Watch List

October 18, 2012
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

2012 Jerry Rice Award Watch List

Liberty quarterback Josh Woodrum was one of three players added to the Jerry Rice Award watch list, which was updated and released earlier today by the Sports Network.

Along with Woodrum, the Sports Network added Jacksonville quarterback Kade Bell and North Dakota wide receiver Jameer Jackson to the 19-player watch list.

The Jerry Rice Award is in its second year of existence and is one of the four major awards handed out at the end of the FCS football season by the Sports Network.

The award honors the top FCS freshman player in the country. The inaugural award was given last year to Towson running back Terrance West, who ran for 1,294 yards and 29 touchdowns.

The Jerry Rice Award is named for legendary wide receiver Jerry Rice, who was a two-time first-team All-American in the FCS (then Division I-AA) at Mississippi Valley State. The award is voted on by a national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries following the regular season.

On the season, Woodrum has thrown for 1,186 yards and seven touchdowns. The rookie was named Liberty's starting quarterback for the Montana game and has remained in that role since the game against the Grizzlies.

In four starts under center, Woodrum has a pair of 300-yard passing games (Montana and Gardner-Webb) and he has completed 74.8 percent of his pass attempts (98-of-131). On the year, Woodrum ranks No. 5 in the country in passing efficiency (162.38).

The Sports Network will update the Jerry Rice Award watch list at least one more time before voting on the national award at the conclusion of the FCS regular season schedule in November.

2012 Jerry Rice Award Watch List
(as of 10/18/12)

Vernon Adams, Eastern Washington (QB, 6-0, 180)
Kade Bell, Jacksonville (QB, 6-1, 185)
Zak Browning, Southern Utah (LB, 5-11, 215)
Reese Hannon, Furman (QB, 6-2, 201)
Ryan Heaston, Missouri State (RB, 5-10, 174)
Telvin Hooks, Tennessee State (RB, 5-10, 190)
Jacob Huesman, UT-Chattanooga (QB, 6-1, 190)
Jameer Jackson, North Dakota (WR, 6-3, 233)
Miles Killebrew, Southern Utah (SS, 6-3, 201)
Sawyer Kollmorgen, Northern Iowa (QB, 6-2, 215)
T.J. Lally, South Dakota State (LB, 6-0, 225)
Trent McKinney, Montana (QB, 6-0, 198)
Sean Price, Appalachian State (WR, 6-5, 210)
J.J. Raffelson, Western Illinois (LB, 6-3, 235)
Luke Rhodes, William & Mary (LB, 6-2, 230)
Brendon Riddick, Norfolk State (RB, 5-11, 210)
John Robertson, Villanova (QB, 6-1, 200)
Andre Stubbs, Youngstown State (WR, 5-6, 160)
Josh Woodrum, Liberty (QB, 6-3, 210)