Flames Home > Women's Tennis Home > News

Lobel Named to BSC All-Academic Team

April 18, 2012
|  Asheville, N.C.
|   RSS
|   Share

Carol Lobel's selection to the All-Academic Team is the first of her career.

Senior Liberty women's tennis player Carol Lobel has been named to the Big South Conference's All-Academic Team, as announced by the conference this evening. All of the conference's tennis teams are currently in Asheville, N.C., as the season's award winners are being honored at the year-end banquet. Awards are voted on by Big South tennis coaches. Competition for the 2012 Big South Women's Tennis Championship begins tomorrow.

Lobel earns her academic honor after producing a strong season and career not only on the tennis courts but also in the classroom.

This season, the Rio de Janeiro, Brazil native has recorded 10 wins in both singles and doubles play.  In Big South action, Lobel earned three wins in both formats of play. For her career, Lobel has claimed 39 singles wins and 39 doubles wins.

In the classroom, Lobel holds a cumulative GPA of 3.72, while being an Industrial & Systems Engineer major. The senior has been named to the Big South Presidential Honor Roll each of the last two years.

Winthrop's Yasmine Alkema claimed the 2012 Player of the Year award, while Gardner-Webb's Alice Hopkins was tabbed the 2012 Freshman of the Year. Coastal Carolina's Diana Mortlock received Scholar-Athlete of the Year recognition.

Radford's Bruce Harrison wrapped up the headline awards, being named the Big South Coach of the Year. After going 6-15 overall and 2-5 in conference play last season, Harrison led his team to a 16-6 record this season, while posting a 4-4 mark in Big South action.

Liberty will begin championship play Thursday, no earlier than 3:30 p.m. against No. 3 seed Coastal Carolina.

2012 Big South Conference Women's Tennis Award Winners

All-Academic Team
Anais Gomar, Campbell
Lindsay Krause, Presbyterian College
Giovanna Portioli, Winthrop
Zoe Hamel, UNC Asheville
Carol Lobel, Liberty
Diana Mortlock, Coastal Carolina
Ioana Oprea, Gardner-Webb
Alexandra Walters, Charleston Southern
Petra Dajevic, Radford

Women's Tennis Flight Winners
No. 1 Singles – Yasmine Alkema, Winthrop
No. 2 Singles – Andressa Garcia, Winthrop
No. 3 Singles – Sandra Herrera, Winthrop
No. 4 Singles – Giovanna Portioli, Winthrop
             Katie Fosnacht, Coastal Carolina
No. 5 Singles – Alexandra Walters, Charleston Southern
No. 6 Singles – Monica Aguado, Winthrop

No. 1 Doubles – Yasmine Alkema/Andressa Garcia, Winthrop
No. 2 Doubles – Sandra Herrera/Giovanna Portioli, Winthrop
No. 3 Doubles – Maria Hesketh/Kourtney Kowal, Coastal Carolina
All-Conference Singles
Yasmine Alkema, Winthrop
Erica White, Gardner-Webb
Sandra Herrera, Winthrop
Olga Makhova, Charleston Southern
Andressa Garcia, Winthrop
Miki Bunea, Coastal Carolina
Alice Hopkins, Gardner-Webb
Karolina Chernaya, Campbell

All-Conference Doubles
Sandra Herrera/Giovanna Portioli, Winthrop
Miki Bunea/Diana Mortlock, Coastal Carolina
Borislava Nikolova/Karolina Chernaya, Campbell
Yasmine Alkema/Andressa Garcia, Winthrop
Olga Makhova/Marija Dzakovic, Charleston Southern

Player of the Year
Yasmine Alkema, Winthrop

Freshman of the Year
Alice Hopkins, Gardner-Webb

Scholar Athlete of the Year
Diana Mortlock, Coastal Carolina

Coach of the Year
Bruce Harrison, Radford