Flames Home > Football Home > News

Spring Football Practice Set to Open on Thursday

March 21, 2012
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

The Turner Gill era of football will officially take to the field for the first time on Thursday, when Liberty's eighth head coach holds his first spring practice workout inside of Williams Stadium.

Gill will hold the first of 15 spring practice sessions on Thursday afternoon, from 3:45 to 6 p.m. on the turf.

The month-long workout session will be punctuated by Liberty's spring scrimmage inside Williams Stadium on April 21 at 1 p.m. One last workout session will be held following the spring scrimmage on April 24, concluding Liberty's annual spring practice season.

During the next four-plus weeks, Liberty is scheduled to work out each Tuesday and Thursday from 4:15 to 6:30 p.m. and Saturday mornings from 10 a.m. to noon.

With the exceptions of the spring scrimmage on April 21, all of Liberty's remaining 14 spring workout sessions will be closed to the general public.

LibertyFlames.com will be providing a post-practice report following each of Liberty's 15 spring practice workout sessions, including audio and video interviews with Gill, his assistant coaches and players.

 

2012 Spring Football Practice Schedule
March 22 (Thursday): 4:15 – 6:30 p.m.
March 24 (Saturday): 10 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.

March 27 (Tuesday): 4:15 – 6:30 p.m.
March 29 (Thursday): 4:15 – 6:30 p.m.
March 31 (Saturday): 10 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.

April 3 (Tuesday): 4:15 – 6:30 p.m.
April 5 (Thursday): 4:15 – 6:30 p.m.
April 7 (Saturday): 10 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.

April 10 (Tuesday): 4:15 – 6:30 p.m.
April 12 (Thursday): 4:15 – 6:30 p.m.
April 14 (Saturday): 10 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.

April 17 (Tuesday): 4:15 – 6:30 p.m.
April 19 (Thursday): 4:15 – 6:30 p.m.
April 21 (Saturday): 1 p.m. (Spring Scrimmage)

April 24 (Tuesday): 4:15 – 6:30 p.m. (Final Practice)