Flames Home > Men's Tennis Home > News

Flames Secure 6th Straight Win

March 14, 2012
|  Orlando, Fla.
|   RSS
|   Share
|   Box Score

Freshman Jorge Azuero maintained his perfect singles record, Wednesday, moving to 4-0 on the year.

The Liberty men's tennis team continued its hot streak, Wednesday morning, defeating Chicago State, 7-0.  The shutout is the Flames' fourth of the year.

Liberty ups its record to 9-3 with its sixth straight win, marking the program's longest win streak since an eight game stretch in 2003.  Chicago State remains winless on the year at 0-11.

Liberty quickly gained a 1-0 advantage with the doubles point.  The Cougars had to default in the No. 3 match, while Tristan Stayt and Shea Thomas defeated Sergiu Muresan and Rashley Yeremia, 8-2 in the No. 2 slot.  Siim Tuus and Giancarlo Lemmi claimed an 8-5 win in the lead match, taking down Mario Naboa and Julian Chavez.

Chicago State then defaulted the No. 6 singles match, to give the Flames a 2-0 lead.
Liberty continued the morning sweep by only allowing Chicago State to win a combined 11 games in the five singles contests.

Matt Slamecka blanked Luis Ulloa, 6-0, 6-0 in the No. 5 match, while Dillon Segur only gave up one game, defeating Chavez, 6-1, 6-0.

Tuus and freshman Jorge Azuero both won by 6-1, 6-1 decisions in the No. 1 and No. 4 matches, respectively.  Tuus defeated Naboa, while Azuero outhit Yeremia.  Azuero's victory keeps him perfect in limited singles action this season, at 4-0.

Mandeep Yadav closed out the 7-0 win with a 6-2, 6-4 victory over Sergiu Muresan in the No. 3 match.

The Flames will now return home and resume Big South play.  On Sunday, Liberty will welcome Gardner-Webb to the Hershey Tennis Courts for a 1 p.m. conference contest.

Liberty 7, Chicago State 0
1. Tuus/Lemmi (LU) def. Naboa/Chavez (CST), 8-5
2. Harrell/Stayt (LU) def. Muresan/Yeremia (CST), 8-2
3. Yadav/Slamecka (LU) wins by default

1. Tuus (LU) def. Naboa (CST), 6-1, 6-1
2. Segur (LU) def. Chavez (CST), 6-1, 6-0
3. Yadav (LU) def. Muresan (CST), 6-2, 6-4
4. Azuero (LU) def. Yeremia (CST), 6-1, 6-1
5. Slamecka (LU) def. Ulloa (CST), 6-0, 6-0
6. Harrell (LU) wins by default