Flames Home > Women's Basketball Home > News

Brown, Warley Earn 1st Team All-Big South Honors

March 8, 2012
|  High Point, N.C.
|   RSS
|   Share

Devon Brown (left) and Avery Warley were both named to the first team All-Big South squad on Thursday.

Liberty redshirt senior center Avery Warley and redshirt junior guard/forward Devon Brown have both earned a spot on the first team All-Big South squad for the third consecutive season. Their honors were announced at the Big South Conference Women's Basketball Awards Ceremony, held at the University Center in High Point, N.C., Thursday evening.

Additionally, point guard Reagan Miller made the Big South All-Freshman Team, while redshirt sophomore guard/forward Terika Lunsford was included on the Big South All-Academic Team.

Winthrop sophomore guard Dequesha McClanahan was voted Big South Player of the Year, while her head coach, Marlene Stollings, was tabbed Big South Coach of the Year.

UNC Asheville's Shonese Jones was honored as Big South Freshman of the Year and High Point's Cheyenne Parker was recognized as Big South Defensive Player of the Year. Rachelle Coward of Charleston Southern and Brianna Dillard of Gardner-Webb shared the Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year award.

Liberty was the only conference school to place two players on the first team All-Big South roster. It is the third straight year and the 10th time in program history that the Lady Flames have done so.

Warley, who finished second in the voting for both Big South Player of the Year and Big South Defensive Player of the Year, garnered her third straight first team All-Big South distinction. The Washington, D.C., native leads the Big South in field goal percentage (.582), while ranking second in double-doubles (12) and third in blocked shots (1.6 bpg).

However, Warley's greatest contributions have come in the rebounding column. She ranks second in the conference and No. 7 nationally with 11.2 rpg. During the season, Warley broke both the Liberty and Big South Conference career rebounding records, and she enters the Big South Women's Basketball Championship with 1,225 career boards. Additionally, Warley's 324 rebounds this season rank her No. 5 on the Big South single-season rebounding chart.

Brown joins 2000 graduates Elena Kisseleva and Sharon Wilkerson as the only Lady Flames ever to earn first team All-Big South honors as a freshman, sophomore and junior. Brown ranks among the Big South leaders in numerous categories, including free throw percentage (second, .789), points (fourth, 17.2 ppg), rebounds (sixth, 7.1 rpg) and steals (ninth, 2.0 spg).

Brown has scored 20 or more points eight times this season, reaching a season high of 27 points against Coastal Carolina on Feb. 13 and Presbyterian College on Feb. 20. She has also tallied four double-doubles.

Miller placed second to Jones in the voting for Big South Freshman of the Year and made it four straight years that Liberty has been represented on the Big South All-Freshman Team. The Sanger, Texas native was a four-time Big South Freshman of the Week, winning the award three straight weeks (Feb. 13, 20 & 27) late in the season.

Miller leads conference freshmen and ranks No. 4 in the Big South with 4.0 assists per contest. She also sits fourth in the conference in three-point field goal percentage (.379) and seventh for three-point field goals made (1.83 per game). Miller's 53 three-pointers this season are the most by any Lady Flame since Cynthia Thomson sank 56 triples in 1991-92.

Lunsford, a sport management major with a 3.13 grade-point average, earned her first career Big South All-Academic Team nod. She has started four games this season and scored a career-high 11 points during a Jan. 23 home victory over Winthrop. Lunsford narrowly missed a double-double against No. 12/14 Oklahoma on Nov. 25, finishing with nine points and 10 rebounds against the Sooners.

Liberty captured the Big South regular-season title and enters the Big South Women's Basketball Championship as the No. 1 seed for the 13th time. The Lady Flames will open tournament play Friday at noon, with a matchup against No. 8 seed UNC Asheville at the Millis Center in High Point, N.C.

2011-12 Big South Conference Women's Basketball Award Winners

First-Team All-Conference
Dequesha McClanahan, Winthrop
Avery Warley, Liberty
Shamia Brown, High Point
Devon Brown, Liberty
Da'Naria Erwin Spencer, Radford

Second-Team All-Conference
Rachelle Coward, Charleston Southern
Cheyenne Parker, High Point
Tonisha Baker, Campbell
Erin Reynolds, High Point
Diana Choibekova, Winthrop

All-Freshman Team
Shonese Jones, UNC Asheville
Reagan Miller, Liberty
Shatia Cole, Coastal Carolina
Leah Wormack, UNC Asheville
Kiera Gaines, Campbell

Academic All-Conference
Amanda O'Neill, Campbell
Rachelle Coward, Charleston Southern
Taylor Epley, Coastal Carolina
Brianna Dillard, Gardner-Webb
Laura Whitt, High Point
Karlee Taylor, Presbyterian College
Lindsey Thompson, UNC Asheville
Katherine Brockett, Radford
Kaitlyn Rubino, Winthrop
Terika Lunsford, Liberty

Player of the Year
Dequesha McClanahan, Winthrop

Defensive Player of the Year
Cheyenne Parker, High Point

Freshman of the Year
Shonese Jones, UNC Asheville

Coach of the Year
Marlene Stollings, Winthrop

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Rachelle Coward, Charleston Southern
Brianna Dillard, Gardner-Webb