Flames Home > Cross Country Home > News

3 Fall Teams Earn BSC Sportsmanship Honors

January 3, 2012
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

(L-R): Women's soccer's Kelly Henion, men's soccer's Scott Sutarik and women's cross country's Khristina Kanagy helped their respective teams win Big South Team Sportsmanship Awards this fall.

The Liberty men's soccer, women's soccer and women's cross country teams have all earned Big South Conference Team Sportsmanship Awards for the 2011 fall season. The honors are voted upon by the conference's student-athletes.

Head coach Jeff Alder's men's soccer team won the award for the first time since the Big South Team Sportsmanship Awards were instituted in the fall of 2005, sharing the honor with conference newcomer Campbell.

On the field, the Flames enjoyed one of the best seasons in program history. Liberty went 11-6-3 and won its second Big South title in 2011, advancing to the NCAA Division I Men's Soccer Championship. The Flames defeated a pair of Top 10 teams during the year, notching their first-ever victory over No. 10 Virginia and taking down No. 9 Coastal Carolina in the Big South semifinal round.

The women's soccer team, coached by Jessica Hain, earned the award for the second year in a row and the conference-best fourth time overall. The Lady Flames have won the Big South Team Sportsmanship Award three times during Hain's four years as head coach.

The Lady Flames finished with a 9-8-3 record this fall and reached the semifinals of the Big South Women's Soccer Championship.

It was also the fourth Big South Team Sportsmanship Award for head coach Brant Tolsma's women's cross country team. The Lady Flames were previously recognized in 2005, 2006 and 2008.

Liberty finished second at the Big South Women's Cross Country Championship, recording a top-two placing for the eighth straight season. The Lady Flames were led by redshirt junior Jennifer Klugh, who won her second Big South women's cross country individual title in a row.

Liberty has now earned a conference-high 35 Big South Team Sportsmanship Awards since the program was started in 2005. The men's and women's cross country and track & field squads have combined for nearly half (17) of those honors.

At the conclusion of the 2011-12 athletic season, the Big South Conference's Institutional Sportsmanship Award will be announced.  An institution's sport winners count towards the Institution Sportsmanship Award and the winner is determined on a system recognizing the highest percentage of the maximum possible points each institution is capable of achieving in that year.  The institution with the highest percentage will win the award.  VMI has won the Big South's Institutional Sportsmanship Award all six years of the award's history.

2011-12 Big South Team Sportsmanship Award Winners
Men's Cross Country:
Women's Cross Country: Liberty
Women's Soccer: Liberty
Men's Soccer:
Campbell and Liberty (Co-Winners)
Charleston Southern
Football: VMI