Flames Home > Men's Basketball Home > News

Sanders Named Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Candidate

November 4, 2011
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

Liberty men's basketball senior point guard Jesse Sanders is one of 30 Division I players up for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award.

Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Website

Sanders' Lowe's Senior CLASS Profile

Liberty men's basketball senior point guard Jesse Sanders has been selected as a candidate for the 2011-12 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. The announcement was made Friday morning. Liberty's floor general is one of 30 Division I players across the country up for the prestigious award.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

Sanders enters his senior year coming off a stellar 2010-11 campaign in which he was voted Big South Player of the Year. The Sugar Land, Texas native led the league in assists with 183 (5.7 apg), while averaging 11.3 points and 6.0 rebounds per game.

Sanders was instrumental in the Flames success last season, helping lead Liberty to a second place finish in the conference standings, setting a new program record for most conference wins with 13.

In addition to his accomplishments on the court, Sanders is a three-time Big South Presidential Honor Roll member. A business management major, he has made the dean's list on three occasions and holds a 3.44 GPA.

During his spare time, Sanders' enjoys giving back to the community and is active in Liberty's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). As a member of SAAC, Sanders has helped support the growth of Special Olympics in the Lynchburg area. In his sophomore year, Sanders spurred on a campaign to collect shoes for the organization Samaritan's Feet, which provides footwear for children around the world that are without shoes. Sanders is also active in Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA), speaking to various clubs and camps throughout Central Virginia.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2011-12 candidate class includes three men's players who were members of last year's CoSIDA Academic All-American team, one Associated Press All-American and seven players who are on teams ranked in the Associated Press preseason top 25 poll.

Lowe's, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the men's Senior CLASS Award® winner during the 2012 NCAA Men's Final Four®, which will be held March 31 and April 2 in New Orleans.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot.

Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, Division I men's and women's coaches and fans who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

For more about Sanders and the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, visit the links above.

2011-12 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Men's Basketball Candidates
Tim Abromaitis, Forward, Notre Dame
William Buford, Guard, Ohio State
Kyle Bullinger, Forward, Weber State
Scott Christopherson, Guard, Iowa State
Darnell Gant, Forward, Washington
Ashton Gibbs, Guard, Pittsburgh
Drew Gordon, Forward, New Mexico
Malcolm Grant, Guard, Miami (Florida)
Draymond Green, Forward, Michigan State
Justin Greene, Forward, Kent State
Reggie Hamilton, Guard, Oakland
Mick Hedgepeth, Forward, Belmont
Robbie Hummel, Forward, Purdue
Bernard James, Forward, Florida State
Orlando Johnson, Guard, UC Santa Barbara
Jarrod Jones, Forward, Ball State
Kevin Jones, Forward, West Virginia
Quinn McDowell, Forward, William and Mary
Darius Miller, Guard, Kentucky
Ronald Nored, Guard, Butler
Zack Novak, Guard/Forward, Michigan
Zack Rosen, Guard, Pennsylvania
Jesse Sanders, Guard, Liberty
Tanner Smith, Guard, Clemson
Jordan Taylor, Guard, Wisconsin
Erving Walker, Guard, Florida
Demetrius Ward, Guard, Western Michigan
Kyle Weems, Forward, Missouri State
Chris Wroblewski, Guard, Cornell
Tyler Zeller, Forward, North Carolina