Flames Home > Volleyball Home > News

Liberty Volleyball Opens 2011 Fall Practice

August 10, 2011
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

Video Views: 11940

The 2011 Liberty volleyball season is underway, as the Lady Flames held their first official team practice on Tuesday morning. The team has a full two-week practice schedule slated, preparing them for the upcoming campaign.

Liberty boasts a roster of 17 players participating in fall training camp, including 12 returnees and five newcomers. The squad will practice twice each day, Sundays excluded, through Aug. 20. Fans will get a chance to see the full team in game action at the Vines Center during the annual Blue-White Scrimmage Aug. 23 at 7 p.m.

The Lady Flames, four-time defending Big South regular season champions and coming off of a 25-9 campaign, have been predicted to win the Big South championship this season. Senior libero Kelly Haseman, along with junior middle blocker Loren Thomas and sophomore setter Jade Craycraft, has been named to the 2011 Preseason All-Big South team.

The 2011 regular-season schedule begins Aug. 26, with a match at Georgia. Match time is set for 7 p.m. in Athens, Ga. Liberty will open the home schedule Sept. 9 and 10, playing host to the Liberty Invitational presented by Pepsi.

2011 Liberty Volleyball Preseason Practice Schedule
Practice times and locations subject to change

Tuesday, Aug. 9
9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (Schilling Center)
2:30 p.m.-5:30 p.m. (Schilling Center)

Wednesday, Aug. 10
9 a.m.-Noon (Schilling Center)
2 p.m.-5 p.m. (Schilling Center)

Thursday, Aug. 11
9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (Schilling Center)
2:30 p.m.-5:30 p.m. (Schilling Center)

Friday, Aug. 12
9 a.m.-Noon (Schilling Center)
2 p.m.-5 p.m. (Schilling Center)

Saturday, Aug. 13
9 a.m.-Noon (Schilling Center)
2 p.m.-5 p.m. (Schilling Center)

Monday, Aug. 15
9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (TBA)
2:30 p.m.-5:30 p.m. (TBA)

Tuesday, Aug. 16
9 a.m.-Noon (TBA)
2 p.m.-5 p.m. (TBA)

Wednesday, Aug. 17
9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (TBA)
2:30 p.m.-5:30 p.m. (TBA)

Thursday, Aug. 18
9 a.m.-Noon (Schilling Center)
2 p.m.-5 p.m. (Vines Center)

Friday, Aug. 19
9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (TBA)
2:30 p.m.-5:30 p.m. (TBA)

Saturday, Aug. 20
9 a.m.-Noon (Schilling Center)
2 p.m.-5 p.m. (Schilling Center)

Tuesday, Aug. 23
7 p.m. - Blue-White Scrimmage (Vines Center)