Flames Home > Women's Soccer Home > News

Four Lady Flames Receive Conference Honors

November 3, 2010
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

Madison Short (pictured) along with teammates Aimee Luurtsema and Ariana Espinoza were selected to the 2010 Big South All-Conference Second Team, while Casey Norris was named to the all-freshman team.

Heading into the Big South Women's Soccer Championship on Thursday, a quartet of Liberty Lady Flames received all-conference honors this afternoon, as announced by the conference office.

Three Liberty players were tabbed to the second team – forward Aimee Luurtsema, midfielder Madison Short and defender Ariana Espinoza. Freshman Casey Norris was also recognized for her efforts this season, as the forward was named to the all-freshman team.

Luurtsema leads the Lady Flames with 13 goals and 31 points this season, ranking her 14th and 15th nationally in each category. The junior is also second in the conference in goals and points and tied for fourth in assists with five this season.

Heading into this week's Big South Championship, Luurtsema is tied for second in the program's annals for the most goals in a single season and is third on Liberty's single-season points listing. Along with receiving a second-team selection, the Grandville, Mich., native was also named to the conference all-academic team.

Madison Short finished the regular season as the Lady Flames' assist leader with seven. The midfielder's assist total places her at second in the Big South behind High Point's Sara Rager, who finished with eight. In addition to her helpers, Short also chipped in two goals this season.

A key member of Liberty's defense, Espinoza started 17 contests for the Lady Flames during the regular season. The Costa Rica native also found the net this season, scoring a goal during Liberty's 6-0 win over Southern Virginia on Sept. 15.

Norris appeared in all 19 regular-season contests for the Lady Flames as a freshman, starting eight. The forward's big moment came in Liberty's 1-0 overtime victory over Winthrop on Oct. 9. In the 98th minute of the contest, the Pittsboro, N.C., native capitalized on a pass from teammate Bekah Moye, scoring the golden goal to give Liberty the win.

Luurtsema, Short, Espinoza, Norris and the rest of the Lady Flames enter Thursday's quarterfinal matchup in the Big South Championship as the No. 6 seed, taking on No. 3 seed Coastal Carolina. Game time at Radford's Patrick D. Cupp Memorial Stadium is slated for 4:30 p.m.

First-Team All-Conference
Marky Boyce, Sr., F, Charleston Southern
Courtney Durbin, Jr., F, Winthrop
Kelli Joline, Fr., F, High Point
Julie Ruh'e, Fr., F, Radford
Anna Tupy, Sr., MF, Coastal Carolina
Latrice Lee, Sr., MF, Radford
Caitlin Wesnesky, Sr., MF, Charleston Southern
Allie VandeWater, So., MF, Winthrop
Janay Whittaker, So., D, High Point
Tyler Drake, Fr., D, Charleston Southern
Katie Perkinson, Sr., D, Winthrop
Chloe Urig, Fr., D, Charleston Southern
Che' Brown, Fr., GK, Radford

Second-Team All-Conference
Michelle Dennis, Sr., F, Charleston Southern
Aimee Luurtsema, Jr., F, Liberty
Tricia Vensel, Jr., F, Winthrop
Kate Wilkinson, Fr., F, Coastal Carolina
Sara Rager, Sr., MF, High Point
Madison Short, So., MF, Liberty
Sarah Strand, Jr., MF, VMI
Emma Krantz, Fr., MF, Charleston Southern
Kelly Morrison, Jr., D, VMI
SharDavia Bell, Sr., D, Radford
Ariana Espinoza, So., D, Liberty
Sammy Vercellino, Fr., D, High Point
Chelsea Hearne, Jr., GK, Gardner-Webb

All-Freshman Team
Che' Brown, GK, Radford
Kelli Joline, F, High Point
Kate Wilkinson, F, Coastal Carolina
Chloe Urig, D, Charleston Southern
Toni Lashley, F, Charleston Southern
Anna Sammons, D, Winthrop
Megan Reynolds, F, Gardner-Webb
Julie Ruh'e, F, Radford
Tyler Drake, D, Charleston Southern
Sammy Vercellino, D, High Point
Casey Norris, MF, Liberty

Attacking Player of the Year
Marky Boyce, Sr., F, Charleston Southern

Defensive Player of the Year
Che' Brown, Fr., GK, Radford

Freshman of the Year
Che' Brown, GK, Radford

Coach of the Year
Spencer Smith, Winthrop

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Brielle Spencer, Jr., D, High Point

All-Academic Team
Staci Ulichnie, Sr., MF, Charleston Southern
Colleen Schohl, Sr., D, Coastal Carolina
Megan Tremblay, Jr., MF, Gardner-Webb
Brielle Spencer, Jr., D, High Point
Aimee Luurtsema, Jr., F, Liberty
Melanie Martin, Sr., MF, Presbyterian College
Kathleen Jarvis, Sr., MF, Radford
Megan Dent, So., GK, UNC Asheville
Simone Jimenez, So., MF, VMI
Rachel Webster, Jr., MF, Winthrop