Flames Home > Golf Home > News

Karlsson and McKay Named to State Squad

July 23, 2010
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

Robert Karlsson (left) and Max McKay (right) have been named to the 2010 Virginia All-State Men's Golf Squad, as selected by the Virginia Golf Coaches Association.

Following seasons which led to trips to the NCAA Regionals, Liberty golfers Robert Karlsson and Max McKay have been named to the Virginia All-State Men's Golf Squad.

The all-state listing is a 10-member team, five on the first-team and five more on the second-team, and is selected annually by the Virginia Golf Coaches Association.

Karlsson, a rising junior from Kalmar, Sweden, was named to the Virginia all-state first-team listing, following a year where the led the squad with a 72.4 stroke average and was named the Big South Men's Golfer of the Year.

Karlsson had seven Top 5 finishes out of 12 events during the course of the 2009-10 season, punctuated by winning medalist honors at the Big South Men's Golf Championships in April.

The victory at the conference event earned Karlsson a trip to the NCAA Regionals for the second year in a row. He posted a one-over par 211 at the NCAA New Haven Regional, where he recorded his best collegiate regional finish as he tied for 24th place.

Joining Karlsson on the all-state first-team listing were Virginia golfers Will Collins and Ben Kohles, Old Dominion's Eric Onesi and VCU's Lanto Griffin.

McKay, a rising sophomore at Liberty, was one of five selections to the all-state second team. The 2010 Big South Freshman of the Year finished second on the squad to Karlsson, posting a 72.7 stroke average during his rookie season in college.

McKay joined Karlsson at the NCAA Regional as an at-large selection, where he posted a one-under par 209 and finished in a tie for 16th place. McKay's showing at the New Haven Regional was the best individual NCAA Regional performance in program history, while he became the eighth golfer in Big South history to break par at an NCAA Regional event.

McKay was joined on the all-state second team by Virginia Tech's Mikey Moyers and Marshall Bailey, Virginia's Kyle Stough and VCU's Vincent Nadeau.

Rounding out the annual awards handed out by the Virginia Golf Coaches Association was Coach of the Year honors for Virginia's Bowen Sargent. He was tabbed Coach of the Year for the third-straight year after leading his Cavaliers to an 11th-place finish at the NCAA Championships, the best finish in program history.

Virginia All State Men's Golf Squad
Selected by the Virginia Golf Coaches Association

First Team
Will Collins (Virginia)
Lanto Griffin (VCU)
Robert Karlsson (Liberty)
Ben Kohles (Virginia)
Eric Onesi (ODU)

Second Team
Marshall Bailey (Virginia Tech)
Max McKay (Liberty)
Mikey Moyers (Virginia Tech)
Vincent Nadeau (VCU)
Kyle Stough (Virginia)

Coach of The Year: Bowen Sargent (Virginia)