Flames Home > Softball Home > News

Liberty Earns No. 2 Seed in Big South Championship

May 9, 2010
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

The Lady Flames have earned the No. 2 seed in this week's Big South Softball Championship, to be played in Conway, S.C.

The Lady Flames have earned the No. 2 seed in this week's Big South Softball Championship, to be played in Conway, S.C.

After posting the most league wins in program history, the Liberty Lady Flames will enter this week's Big South Softball Championship presented by Musco Sports Lighting as the No. 2 seed. The tournament will be held on the campus of Coastal Carolina in Conway, S.C.

The 2010 Lady Flames (37-16, 13-5 Big South) finished the regular season tied for third-most wins in a single season in program history, and the squad also went undefeated at home in conference play. Liberty was tabbed to finish third in the annual Big South preseason poll.

For the second-straight season, Radford is the No. 1 seed. The Highlanders went 16-2 in conference play to claim the 2010 regular-season championship for the second time in school history. Radford's 16 wins also ties the Big South single-season record, which the Highlanders set a year ago.

Winthrop, Gardner-Webb and Charleston Southern finished tied for third place in the league standings with 8-10 records. The composite records between the three teams were evaluated with each having an identical 3-3 record against each other. The records against the No. 1 seeded Highlanders were compared next with the Lady Eagles being the only team of the three to defeat Radford in the regular season, making them the No. 3 seed. Gardner-Webb garners the No. 4 seed with a head-to-head series win over Charleston Southern earlier this season. The Buccaneers landed in the No. 5 spot, while Coastal Carolina picked up the No. 6 seed with a 6-12 conference record. Presbyterian College rounds out the seeds at No. 7 as it went 4-14 in League action.

The 2010 Softball Championship begins Thursday, May 13, with five games scheduled, and continues with bracket play through Saturday, May 15. The Big South's Tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Softball Championship. The Conference Championship schedule is as follows:

Thursday, May 13 (Games 1-5)
Game 1: No. 4 Gardner-Webb vs. No. 5 Charleston Southern, 9 a.m.
Game 2: No. 2 Liberty vs. No. 7 Presbyterian College, 11:30 a.m.
Game 3: No. 3 Winthrop vs. No. 6 Coastal Carolina, 2 p.m.
Game 4: No. 1 Radford vs. Winner of Game 1: 4:30 p.m.
Game 5: Winner of Game 2 vs. Winner of Game 3, 7 p.m.

Friday, May 14 (Games 6-10)
Game 6: Loser of Game 1 vs. Loser of Game 2, 9 a.m.
Game 7: Loser of Game 3 vs. Loser of Game 4, 11:30 a.m.
Game 8: Winner of Game 4 vs. Winner of Game 5, 2 p.m.
Game 9: Winner of Game 6 vs. Winner of Game 7, 4:30 p.m.
Game 10: Loser of Game 5 vs. Winner of Game 9, 7 p.m.

Saturday, May 15 (Games 11-13)
Game 11: Loser of Game 8 vs. Winner of Game 10, 10 a.m.
Game 12: Winner of Game 8 vs. Winner of Game 11, 2 p.m. (Championship Game)
Game 13: If necessary, Championship game, 4:30 p.m. (only if the Winner of Game 11 wins Game 12)