Flames Home > Women's Tennis Home > News

Jenkins Named Scholar-Athlete, All-Conference

April 21, 2010
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

Jordan Jenkins was named 2010 Big South Women's Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Liberty Lady Flames Jordan Jenkins and Nadia Solomon-Burgess both received Big South all-conference women's tennis honors, the league office announced this evening.

Jenkins was named the 2010 Big South Women's Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year, along with being selected all-conference in singles. Jenkins and Nadia Solomon-Burgess were honored by being named all-conference in doubles. The conference awards are voted upon by the Big South's tennis coaches.

Jenkins has been named to the all-conference singles team each of her three seasons at Liberty. The junior posted a 17-3 record this spring from the No. 1 spot in the Liberty line up, becoming the program's all-time singles wins leader with 63 victories. Her 2010 spring win total is the most in her career, eclipsing her 2008 total of 16 triumphs during her 2008 Big South Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year season. Several times Jenkins was ranked by the ITA in singles this season, reaching as high as No. 90.

As a pairing, Jenkins and Solomon-Burgess were tabbed all-conference in doubles. The combination finished the regular season with a 5-0 record, including a 3-0 mark during Big South Conference play. It is the third year Jenkins has been named to the all-conference doubles team, each time as part of a different combination.

Charleston Southern sophomore Olga Makhova was named the 2010 Big South Women's Tennis Player of the Year, while her head coach Mike Baker was recognized by his coaching peers as the 2010 Coach of the Year. Erica Webb of Gardner-Webb and Yasmine Alkema of Winthrop were selected as the conference's Co-Freshmen of the Year.

The 2010 Big South Championship gets underway Thursday with three matches at the Radford University Tennis Courts, starting at 9 a.m. The No. 7 seeded Liberty Lady Flames face the No. 2 seeded Winthrop Eagles in the second match of the day at Noon.

2010 Big South Conference Women's Tennis Award Winners

Women's Tennis Flight Champions

No. 1 – Olga Makhova, Charleston Southern
No. 2 – Miki Bunea, Coastal Carolina
No. 3 – Sandra Herrera, Winthrop
No. 4 – Brooke Pletcher, Charleston Southern
No. 5 – Maria Camberos, Coastal Carolina
No. 6 – Angie Torres, Charleston Southern

No. 1 – Yasmine Alkema and Elizaveta Zaytseva, Winthrop
No. 2 – Sandra Herrera and Giovanna Portiolli, Winthrop
No. 3 – Sara Abutovic and Lisa Wilkinson, Winthrop

Women's Tennis All-Conference
Olga Makhova, Charleston Southern
Jordan Jenkins, Liberty
Elizaveta Zaytseva, Winthrop
Miki Bunea, Coastal Carolina
Lexi Bolesky, Coastal Carolina
Yasmine Alkema, Winthrop
Mia Drobnjak, Radford
Andrea Schutte, Charleston Southern

Elizaveta Zaytseva/Yasmine Alkema, Winthrop
Andrea Schutte/Angie Torres, Charleston Southern
Jordan Jenkins/Nadia Solomon-Burgess, Liberty
Sandra Herrera/Giovanna Portiolli, Winthrop

All-Academic Team
Jordan Jenkins, Liberty
Elizaveta Zaytseva, Winthrop
Tavenner Black, Gardner-Webb
Maria Camberos, Coastal Carolina
Ivana Tomaic, Radford
Andrea Schutte, Charleston Southern
Virginia Waldron, Presbyterian College
Louise Bottomley, UNC Asheville

Player of the Year
Olga Makhova, Charleston Southern

Co-Freshman of the Year
Erica White, Gardner-Webb
Yasmine Alkema, Winthrop

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Jordan Jenkins, Liberty

Coach of the Year
Mike Baker, Charleston Southern