Flames Home > Men's Tennis Home > News

Liberty Runs Win Streak to Three Straight

March 10, 2010
|  Orlando, Fla.
|   RSS
|   Share
|   Box Score

Chad Simpson went undefeated in singles during Liberty's Spring Break Trip.

Chad Simpson went undefeated in singles during Liberty's Spring Break Trip.

The Liberty Flames won their third consecutive match, defeating the Southern Illinois-Edwardsville Cougars, 5-2, Wednesday.

The match concluded Liberty's Spring Break trip, 3-0. With victories in five of their last six contests, the Flames even their record at 6-6 overall. Southern Illinois-Edwardsville falls to 1-1.

As in each of its previous matches in Orlando, Liberty opened the contest with a sweep of the doubles. Siim Tuus and Tristan Stayt did not drop a point in dispatching Paulo Gonzalez and Michael Chamberlain, 8-0, in the No.1 match. Giancarlo Lemmi and Chad Simpson took the No. 2 contest in similar fashion, winning 8-1 over Robert Young and Carkis Sanchez. Juan Reyes and Louis Steyn completed the Liberty sweep with an 8-4 victory over Dylan Reed and Jeremy Knipp.

In singles, the Flames won four of the six contests to capture the 5-2 victory. Each of Liberty's four victories came in straight sets. Lemmi, slotted at No.2 in the Liberty line-up, won 6-1, 6-1 over Young. Simpson defeated Devan Faulkenberg, 6-0, 6-4 in the No.3 match. Steyn did not lose game in a 6-0, 6-0 victory over Reed at the No. 4 spot, while Ben Wirth at No. 6 took his contest, 6-2, 6-2, over Jordan Faulkenberg.

Liberty seniors Steyn and Simpson each posted 3-0 records during their time in Florida.

The Flames return home on Saturday for a Big South Conference match against the Winthrop Eagles. Match time at the LU Tennis Courts is scheduled for 10 a.m.

1. Tuus/Stayt (LU) def. Gonzalez/Chamberlain (SIEU) 8-0
2. Lemmi/Simpson (LU) def. Young/Sanchez (SIEU) 8-1
3. Reyes/Steyn (LU) def. Reed/Knipp (SIEU) 8-4

1. Paulo Gonzalez (SIEU) def. Siim Tuus (LU) 6-4 5-7 10-8
2. Giancarlo Lemmi (LU) def. Robert Young (SIEU) 6-1 6-1
3. Chad Simpson (LU) def, Devan Faulkenberg (SIEU) 6-0 6-4
4. Louis Steyn (LU) def. Dylan Reed (SIEU) 6-0 6-0
5. Carkis Sanchez (SIEU) def. Juan Reyes (LU) 6-4 6-4
6. Ben Wirth (LU) def. Jordan Faulkenberg (SIEU) 6-2 6-2