Flames Home > Wrestling Home > News

Liberty Opens Tournament Season at Brockport

November 13, 2009
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

Scott Clymer is one of three Liberty wrestlers who had previous success during Liberty's last trip to the Brockport/Oklahoma Gold Tournament in 2007.

Scott Clymer is one of three Liberty wrestlers who had previous success during Liberty's last trip to the Brockport/Oklahoma Gold Tournament in 2007.

Following a season-opening dual victory over Campbellsville, the Flames wrestling program now moves into its tournament schedule. Liberty will begin the run this weekend when the team travels to Brockport, N.Y., to participate in the Brockport/Oklahoma Gold Tournament.

Over the next nine weeks, the Flames will take to the mats in eight different events, spanning six different states.

This week's trek to Brockport marks a return to the Tuttle North Gymnasium for the Flames, as Liberty opened the 2007-08 season at the event. As a team, Liberty placed seventh in the event with 87.5 points, thanks to a pair of third-place finishes.

Chad Porter (R-Jr., Parkersburg, W.Va.) was among the pair who placed third, as the 165-pounder knocked off Brown's Chris Musser in a 6-5 decision during the third-place bout. Along his journey to third-place, Porter posted five wins, opening with a first-period pin, while adding three-straight major decision victories to advance to his meeting with Musser.

Two other current members of Liberty's roster also had nice showings during the Flames' last trip to Brockport, two seasons ago.

Scott Clymer (R-So., 141, Germansville, Pa.) opened his collegiate wrestling career with a sixth-place finish at the event. After losing to eventual weight-class winner Will Rowe of Oklahoma, 11-1, Clymer pinned Brockport's James Forsyth and blanked Brown's Bryan Tracy, 5-0, before falling to Brown's Mark Bloom, 9-7, in the fifth-place match-up.

At 157 pounds, Shaun Smith (Sr., Washington, W.Va.) placed fourth with a 3-2 record on the afternoon. The sophomore advanced to the semifinals of the championship bracket, before losing to Oklahoma's Chad Terry in an 8-0 major decision.

After scratching out a 4-3 win over Brown's Lenny Morandino, Smith dropped a 4-2 decision to Buffalo's John Cummings in the third-place match-up.

Porter and Smith were among the seven victors for the Flames during their 25-9 victory over Campbellsville, last weekend. The Tigers came into the dual ranked No. 9 in the preseason NAIA polls, and returned five All-Americans from last year's roster.

Joining Porter and Smith as winners against Campbellsville were Jonathan Childress (125 pounds), Collin Lewis (141 pounds), Frankie Gayeski (149 pounds), Nick Knowles (174 pounds) and Josh Pelletier (285 pounds).

All but two matches during the afternoon dual ended in decision wins. Liberty did manage to win the two non-decision outcomes, starting with Childress (Fr., Red Lion, Pa.) who opened his collegiate career with a win by fall, 32 seconds into his 125-pound bout.

On the opposite end of the weight class listing, Pelletier (R-Jr., Charleston, Maine) held a narrow 3-0 edge following five minutes of action. However, the redshirt junior scored a takedown and a reversal to go along with 3:06 of riding time to finish off the 10-2 major decision win.

Those seven winners are among a list of Liberty grapplers who could take to the mats this weekend for head coach Jesse Castro at this year's Brockport/Oklahoma Gold Tournament. The event, which is the 11th annual wrestling showcase hosted by Brockport, includes a field of 19 wrestlers who finished in the Top 20 last season and six Top 50 programs.

Spotlighting the nine-team field is Ohio State, who was last year's national runner-up and is ranked No. 3 in the country. No. 12 Edinboro, No. 18 Oklahoma, along with Army, Brockport, Buffalo, Kent State and Rutgers comprise the remainder of the participating teams.

Liberty's Probable Starting Lineup:
125 – Jonathan Childress or Justin Branham
133 – Sean Katz
141 – Scott Clymer or Collin Lewis
149 – Frankie Gayeski or Peter Crawford
157 – Shaun Smith or Logan Crawford
165 – Chad Porter
174 – Nick Knowles or Brad Clark or Eli Sanchez
184 – David Ziegler or Joseph Son
197 – Jacoby Johnson or Jon Weber or Brandon Lawrence
285 – Andrew Wilson or Josh Pelletier