Flames Home > Women's Soccer Home > News

Lady Flames Earn No. 1 Seed in Tourney

November 1, 2009
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

Lady Flames Maria Owen, Heather Bowling, Silvia Betancourt and Rachel Wisehart

Lady Flames Maria Owen, Heather Bowling, Silvia Betancourt and Rachel Wisehart

The Liberty women's soccer team, the 2009 Big South regular-season champion, has been announced as the No. 1 seed for this week's Big South Women's Soccer Championship, to be held in Charleston, S.C., beginning Thursday. The Lady Flames (6-1-2 Big South) became the first team in Big South history to finish in first place after finishing with the league's worst record the previous year.

Liberty's opening game will take place on Thursday at Blackbaud Stadium, when the Lady Flames take on No. 8 Winthrop at 2 p.m. Liberty claimed a 1-0, double overtime victory at Winthrop on Oct. 9, in the teams' previous matchup this season.

The Lady Flames wrapped up the regular season as the Big South champions for the third time in program history, and the first time since 2003, when Liberty shared the title with Coastal Carolina.

In addition, Liberty won six Big South contests in a season for the first time in program history.

Gardner-Webb, last year's eighth-seeded team, earned the No. 2 seed with a 6-3 conference record, followed by tournament host No. 3 Charleston Southern with a 5-2-2 record.

Last year's regular-season champion, Coastal Carolina, who finished this year with a 5-3-1 conference mark, is the No. 4 seed, followed by No. 5 VMI and the No. 6 seed, defending tournament champion Radford, both at 5-4. Rounding out the field are No. 7 High Point (4-4-1) and No. 8 Winthrop (2-5-2).

The Big South Women's Soccer Championship begins Thursday, and concludes with the championship game on Sunday. The event will be held at Blackbaud Stadium. The tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the 2009 NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Championship.

Thursday, Nov. 5
Game 1: No. 4 seed Coastal Carolina vs. No. 5 seed VMI, 11:30 a.m.
Game 2: No. 1 seed Liberty vs. No. 8 seed Winthrop, 2 p.m.
Game 3: No. 2 seed Gardner-Webb vs. No. 7 seed High Point, 4:30 p.m.
Game 4: No. 3 seed Charleston Southern vs. No. 6 seed Radford, 7 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 6
Game 5: Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner (Semifinals), 4:30 p.m.
Game 6: Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner (Semifinals), 7 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 8
Game 7: Game 5 winner vs. Game 6 winner (Championship), 2 p.m.