Flames Home > News

Jenkins Captures Sparky No. 2

August 18, 2008
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

Cast your vote for Best Male Athlete today!

Cast your vote for Best Male Athlete today!

Click here for detailed supporting information on the five Best Male Athlete nominees

For the second consecutive week, Liberty freshman women's tennis standout Jordan Jenkins has claimed a Sparky. Previously recognized as Best Newcomer, Jenkins was voted Best Female Athlete as well.

Voting is now open for the last of five Sparky categories, Best Male Athlete. The nominees include Tim Harner, Clendon Henderson, Rashad Jennings, Josh McDougal and Alex McLean. For in-depth supporting information on each of the nominees, click here.

Jenkins, a native of Sarasota, Fla., headlined the Lady Flames' highly-touted recruiting class this season. She certainly did not disappoint, winning the first 16 matches of her career, while playing at No. 1 singles. Jenkins, who ended the year with a 16-1 singles record, was also 16-1 at No. 1 doubles, where she was paired with junior Ekaterina Kuznetsova.

Jenkins' stellar play helped head coach Chris Johnson's squad achieve its best-ever record. The Lady Flames ended the year at 13-4 overall and 4-1 in Big South play, crafting a 12-match winning streak during the latter part of the campaign.

In addition to her aforementioned awards, Jenkins also garnered the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) State Rookie of the Year honor. The first Lady Flame ever to earn this recognition, Jenkins was a first-team VaSID all-state performer as well. To read LibertyFlames.com's release about her VaSID honors, click here.

Liberty fans now have the opportunity to choose the past year's Best Male Athlete from among the following five options: Tim Harner (Wrestling 141-pounder), Clendon Henderson (Men's Track & Field thrower), Rashad Jennings (Football running back), Josh McDougal (Men's Cross Country/Track & Field distance runner) and Alex McLean (Men's Basketball forward).

Two of the nominees are past Sparky winners, as McLean and McDougal have claimed the first two Sparkys for Best Individual Performance.

Men's basketball standout Larry Blair was the winner of the inaugural Sparky for Best Male Athlete, in 2007.

The winner of this year's Sparky will be determined through fan voting on the Flames Poll. The Flames Poll is located on the right-hand side of the main page of LibertyFlames.com.

The poll for Best Male Athlete will remain open until Aug. 25, at which time the winner will be announced on LibertyFlames.com.

Nominees for Best Male Athlete
Tim Harner, Wrestling
Clendon Henderson, Men's Track & Field
Rashad Jennings, Football
Josh McDougal, Men's Cross Country/Track & Field
Alex McLean, Men's Basketball

Sparkys Voting Schedule
Biggest Win – Winner: Wrestling team's second consecutive NCAA East Regional Championship (March 9, 2008)
Best Individual Performance – Winner: Josh McDougal's NCAA National Cross Country Championship (Nov. 19, 2007)
Best Newcomer – Winner: Jordan Jenkins (Women's Tennis)
Best Female Athlete – Winner: Jordan Jenkins (Women's Tennis)
Best Male Athlete (Aug. 18-25)

Year-by-Year Winners of the Sparky for Best Female Athlete
2007: Megan Frazee (Women's Basketball)
2008: Jordan Jenkins (Women's Tennis)