Flames Home > News

Corbin Voted Best Newcomer; Best Female Athlete Contest Begins

August 6, 2007
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

Corbin Voted Best Newcomer; Best Female Athlete Contest Begins

Click here for in-depth supporting information on Best Female Athlete nominees

Big South Freshman of the Year and VaSID Rookie of the Year Kallie Corbin can add another award to her trophy case, as the freshman setter has been selected as the 2007 Sparky Award winner for Best Newcomer. Meanwhile, voting is now open for Best Female Athlete. The five nominees include Megan Frazee, Jessica Moore, Jonita Randolph, Mandee Wheelock and Arlene Zelinskas. For in-depth supporting information on each of the nominees, click here.

Corbin stepped in as the Lady Flames' starting setter from day one and helped her team go 9-5 in Big South play and finish third in the conference standings. She became the first Liberty volleyball player ever to be named VaSID Rookie of the Year and was the first Lady Flame since current assistant coach Jennifer (Belk) Vaden to be named Big South Freshman of the Year.

Corbin's contributions were not limited to setting. She led the Big South in service aces (52) and finished second on the team in both digs (376) and blocks (68). Corbin posted four triple-doubles (assists, kills and digs) during the season, tying for fourth nationally in the category.  To check out the Oregon native's bio, click here.

Liberty fans are now asked to choose the year's Best Female Athlete from among the following options: sophomore guard/forward Megan Frazee (Basketball), senior center fielder Jessica Moore (Softball), senior No. 1 singles/No. 1 doubles player Jonita Radolph (Tennis), senior midfielder Madee Wheelock (Soccer) and senior heptathlete Arlene Zelinskas (Track).  The winner will be determined through fan voting on the Flames Poll, the newest addition to LibertyFlames.com.  The Flames Poll is located on the right-hand side of the main page of LibertyFlames.com.

The poll for Best Female Athlete will remain open until Aug. 13, at which time the winner will be announced on LibertyFlames.com and voting for the final 2007 Sparky Award, Best Male Athlete, will begin. A full voting schedule appears below.

Nominees for Best Female Athlete
Megan Frazee, Basketball
Jessica Moore, Softball
Jonita Randolph, Tennis
Mandee Wheelock, Soccer
Arlene Zelinskas, Track

Sparkys Voting Schedule
Biggest Win (July 16-23) -- Winner: Football team's 34-20 win over No. 24 Charleston Southern
Best Individual Performance (July 23-30) -- Winner: Alex McLean at VMI (40 pts., 19 rebs.)
Best Newcomer (July 30-Aug. 6) -- Winner: Kallie Corbin, Volleyball
Best Female Athlete (Aug. 6-13)
Best Male Athlete (Aug. 13-20)