Flames Home > News

Football Captures Sparky for Biggest Win; Best Individual Performance Contest Begins

July 23, 2007
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

Cast your vote for Best Individual Performance today.

Cast your vote for Best Individual Performance today.

Click Here for In-Depth Supporting Information on the Best Individual Performance nominees

After a neck-and-neck race with the Liberty women's basketball team, the Flames football team has emerged as the inaugural winner of the Sparky for Biggest Win, by virtue of a 34-20 defeat of No. 24 Charleston Southern on Nov. 11, 2006. Meanwhile, voting is now open for Best Individual Performance. The five nominees include Megan Frazee, Rashad Jennings, Terra Lowe, Josh McDougal and Alex McLean. For in-depth supporting information on each of the nominees, click here.

Charleston Southern entered Williams Stadium on Nov. 11 riding a 14-game winning streak and sharing the top spot in the Big South standings. However, Liberty gave its senior class and more than 10,000 fans in attendance a memorable Senior Day by claiming a 34-20 win over the No. 24 Buccaneers. The Flames ran out to a 27-7 halftime lead and never looked back, claiming their first win over a nationally ranked opponent since 1997.

The victory evened Liberty's record at 5-5 and helped the Flames match the biggest turnaround in the nation. Liberty, coming off a 1-10 campaign, ended the year 6-5 after defeating VMI on the road in the following week's season finale. To read the complete LibertyFlames.com game recap, click here and to view the boxscore, click here.

Liberty fans are now asked to choose the year's Best Individual Performance from among the following options: Megan Frazee's 37-point, 15-rebound effort in the Lady Flames' win at Virginia, Rashad Jennings' 21 carries for 199 yards and three touchdowns during Liberty's 28-0 blanking of Savannah State, Terra Lowe's no-hitter and 13 strikeouts in the softball team's key conference win over Coastal Carolina, Josh McDougal's 3:57 mile at the ASICS Invitational and Alex McLean's 40-point, 19-rebound output as part of the Flames' late-season road win at VMI. The winner will be determined through fan voting on the Flames Poll, the newest addition to LibertyFlames.com. The Flames Poll is located on the right-hand side of the main page of LibertyFlames.com.

The poll for Best Individual Performance will remain open until July 30, at which time the winner will be announced on LibertyFlames.com and voting for Best Newcomer will commence. A full voting schedule appears below.

Nominees for Best Individual Performance
Megan Frazee at Virginia (37 points, 15 rebounds on Nov. 20, 2006)
Rashad Jennings at Savannah State (21 carries, 199 yards, 3 TDs on Sept. 23, 2006)
Terra Lowe vs. Coastal Carolina (No-hitter, 13 Ks on April 27, 2007)
Josh McDougal at ASICS Invitational (3:57 mile on March 31, 2007)
Alex McLean at VMI (40 points, 19 rebounds on Feb. 21, 2007)

Sparkys Voting Schedule
Biggest Win (July 16-23) – Winner: Football team's 34-20 win over No. 24 Charleston Southern
Best Individual Performance (July 23-30)
Best Newcomer (July 30-Aug. 6)
Best Female Athlete (Aug. 6-13)
Best Male Athlete (Aug. 13-20)