Flames Home > Baseball Home > News

Flames Capture No. 1 Seed for 2014 Big South Baseball Championship

May 17, 2014
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

The defending Big South champion Liberty Flames have captured the 2014 Big South title and claimed the No. 1 seed for next week's Big South Baseball Championship at the Winthrop Ballpark in Rock Hill, S.C. The seedings and pairings were announced this evening, following the close of the 2014 regular season. The tournament will be contested May 20-24.

Liberty, 39-14 overall, posted a program-high 23 conference wins, en route to recording a 23-3 mark in Big South Conference play and capturing its third conference regular season title in program history. The Flames have ranked as high as No. 21 in the national polls this season.

With the best conference record as the North Division champion, Liberty draws the No. 1 seed and will play in Bracket Two during the conference championship.  The Flames will face the No. 8 seed Gardner-Webb Runnin' Bulldogs at 4:30 at Winthrop Ballpark in their first game of the 2014 Baseball Championship, Tuesday. The Runnin' Bulldogs posted an 11-15 record in Big South play and a 24-29 overall record during the regular season. Liberty won both of its games at Gardner-Webb during the conference's regular season, April17-18.  The finale game of their three-game series was rained out.

Winthrop won the Big South's South Division Championship to earn the No. 2 seed in the Big South Championship.  The Eagles finished the season with a 14-13 Big South record.  Campbell earned the No. 3 seed with an 18-8 record in league play and High Point finished at No. 4 with an 18-9 conference mark.  Radford will be the No. 5 seed as it finished the Big South season with a 17-10 record.  Coastal Carolina garnered the sixth seed as it completed league play with a 13-13 record.  Charleston Southern claims the No. 7 seed with a 12-14 record and Gardner-Webb rounds out the seeding with an 11-15 conference mark.

The 2014 Big South Baseball Championship features the top eight teams in the conference, regardless of division. The championship will air on the Big South Network, with the semifinals and the winner take all championship game airing exclusively on ESPN3.  The Big South's Tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Baseball Championship. 

Each Liberty contest during the tournament will be broadcast LIVE on the Victory Radio Network. Links to the broadcasts will also be available at LibertyFlames.com.

The Big South Conference Baseball Championship schedule is as follows:

Tuesday (Watch: Big South Network)
Game 1: No. 2 Winthrop vs. No. 7 Charleston Southern, 9:30 a.m.
Game 2: No. 3 Campbell vs. No. 6 Coastal Carolina, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 1 
Game 3: No. 1 Liberty vs. No. 8 Gardner-Webb, 4:30 p.m.
Game 4: No. 4 High Point vs. No. 5 Radford, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 3

Wednesday (Watch: Big South Network)
Game 5: Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 9:30 a.m.
Game 6: Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 5
Game 7: Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 4:30 p.m.
Game 8: Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 7

Thursday (Watch: Big South Network)
Game 9: Winner Game 5 vs. Loser Game 7, 3 p.m. 
Game 10: Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 8, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 9 |

Game 11: Winner Game 8 vs. Winner Game 9, 10 a.m.  (Watch: ESPN 3)
Game 12: Winner Game 7 vs. Winner Game 10, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 11 (Watch: ESPN 3)
Game 13: if necessary, 5 p.m.
Game 14: if necessary, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 13

Saturday - Championship Game
TBA vs. TBA, 4 p.m. (Watch: ESPN3)