Flames Home > Track & Field Home > News

46 Flames Named to BSC Outdoor Track All-Decade Teams

May 7, 2014
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

Clendon Henderson (left) and Andrea Wildrick (right) are two of Liberty's eight Big South All-Decade honorees who were also NCAA Division I outdoor All-Americans.

A total of 45 Liberty student-athletes and head coach Brant Tolsma have been named to the first-ever Big South Conference Men's and Women's Outdoor Track & Field All-Decade teams. Part of the Big South's 30th anniversary celebration, the all-decade teams were determined by conference administrators and fan voting.

Headlining the Flames' honorees are eight outdoor All-Americans, including Greg Benhase (1990s men's jumps), Clendon Henderson (2000s men's throws), Ken Howell (1990s men's sprints), Josh Jones (2000s men's decathlon), Josh McDougal (2000s men's distance), Heather Sagan (2000s women's distance), Ryan Werner (1990s men's throws and decathlon) and Andrea Wildrick (2000s women's jumps).

McDougal, Sagan and Stephen Githuka (1990s men's distance) were each included on their third Big South All-Decade list of the year, after previously being voted to their respective cross country and indoor track & field squads.

Tolsma was voted the coach of the 1990s and 2000s men's all-decade teams, as well as the 1990s women's all-decade team. During the time period covered by these three honors, Tolsma coached a total of 20 Liberty teams to Big South outdoor titles and was a 15-time Big South Coach of the Year.

Five members of Tolsma's current coaching staff appear on the all-decade teams, including assistant coaches Henderson, McDougal, Pete McFadden (1990s men's sprints) and Rebekah Ricksecker (2000s women's distance) and director of operations Daniel Newell (2000s men's decathlon).

A total of 15 Flames were included on the 1990s men's all-decade team, including Benhase, Dan Bentley (distance), Pete Brown (throws), Kevin Coley (jumps), Mike Connell (jumps), Githuka, Howell, James Johnson (throws), Brian Kiprono (distance), Mike Lucas (throws), Chuck Lyngaas (distance), McFadden, Mike Reed (sprints), Marlon Tanner (sprints) and Werner.

The 2000s men's all-decade team saw 11 Flames honored, including Nick Anderson (jumps), Micah Brinkley (sprints), Anthony Bryant (jumps), Jon Hart (throws), Henderson, Jones, McDougal, Daniel Newell (decathlon), Kevin Octave (jumps), Jeremy Wagner (sprints) and Chad Wilson (jumps).

Nine Lady Flames were voted to the 1990s women's all-decade team, including Audrey Ebanks (sprints), Anna-Kate Jarman (jumps), Mari Kong (sprints and throws), Holly Mays-Deem (sprints), Jaquay Reid (sprints), Amy Rodriguez (throws), Ardra Samuel (sprints), Amy Sturgill (jumps) and Amy Teer (distance).

Rounding out the all-decade squads, 10 Liberty student-athletes made the 2000s women's all-decade team, including Kena Butts (jumps), Carol Jefferson (distance), Danielle McNaney (sprints and heptathlon), Ashley Osborne (distance), Ricksecker, Sagan, Panthera Seymour (sprints), Wildrick, Marie Williams (heptathlon) and Robin Williams (sprints and jumps).

These honorees have helped the Liberty men's squad win 19 team championships and the Lady Flames capture 13 team titles in the 21-year history of the Big South Outdoor Track & Field Championships.

Sprinters: David Bobb, UMBC; Doug Hazel, Charleston Southern; Ken Howell, Liberty; Pete McFadden, Liberty; Anthony Reed, Charleston Southern; Mike Reed, Liberty; Marlon Tanner, Liberty; C.J. White, Charleston Southern
Distance Runners: Dan Bentley, Liberty; Finbarr Egan, Coastal Carolina; Stephen Githuka, Liberty; Jeff Greene, Winthrop; Brian Kiprono, Liberty; Chuck Lyngaas, Liberty; Brendan McGrane, UNC Asheville; Karl Wash, Coastal Carolina
Jumpers: Derek Allmond, Charleston Southern; Greg Benhase, Liberty; Kevin Coley, Liberty; Mike Connell, Liberty; Jonathan Daniels, Charleston Southern; Dwight Huell, Charleston Southern; Tim Langford, Radford; Anthony Reed, Charleston Southern
Throwers: Pete Brown, Liberty; Chris Guglielmo, Charleston Southern; James Johnson, Liberty; Mike Lucas, Liberty; Tyler McCart, Coastal Carolina; Ryan Werner, Liberty
Decathlete: Ryan Werner, Liberty
Head Coach: Brant Tolsma, Liberty

Sprinters: Nathan Breland, Charleston Southern; Micah Brinkley, Liberty; Levi Brooks, Charleston Southern; Kandrick Cooper, Winthrop; Michael Rhue, Charleston Southern; Alonzo Spurley, Charleston Southern; Jeremy Wagner, Liberty; Kendall White, Coastal Carolina
Distance Runners: Tommy Evans, High Point; Adam Growley, Winthrop; Terah Kipchiris, Coastal Carolina; Felix Kitur, VMI; Lucas McCurdy, Winthrop; Josh McDougal, Liberty; Taylor Milne, High Point; Goran Nava, Radford
Jumpers: Nick Anderson, Liberty; Anthony Bryant, Liberty; Antonio Gantt, Charleston Southern; Mark Johnson, Coastal Carolina; Taylor McFadden, Coastal Carolina; Kevin Octave, Liberty; Dan Oseth, Radford; Chad Wilson, Liberty
Throwers: Joshua Aydlette, Charleston Southern; Jon Hart, Liberty; Clendon Henderson, Liberty; Thomas Jordan, Coastal Carolina; Nick Kenworthy, Coastal Carolina; Kyle Morse Radford; Brian Richotte, Radford
Decathletes: Josh Jones, Liberty; Daniel Newell, Liberty
Head Coach: Brant Tolsma, Liberty

Sprinters: Tosha Ansley, Charleston Southern; Audrey Ebanks, Liberty; Mari Kong, Liberty; Angie Lanier, Winthrop, Holly Mays-Deem, Liberty; Kareshia Pridleau, Winthrop; Jaquay Reid, Liberty; Ardra Samuel, Liberty
Distance Runners: Mandy Becker, UNC Asheville; Catherine Conder, Coastal Carolina; Angela Murphy, Coastal Carolina; Lauri Occhipinti, Coastal Carolina; Emily Olinger, UNC Asheville; Amy Teer, Liberty; Becky Vonderhaar, UNC Asheville; Jolene Williams, Coastal Carolina
Jumpers: Tosha Ansley, Charleston Southern; April Cook, Coastal Carolina; Anna-Kate Jarman, Liberty; Amy Sturgill, Liberty
Throwers: Antoinette Beeks, Charleston Southern; Krista Davis, Charleston Southern; Mari Kong, Liberty; Brenda Montgomery, Charleston Southern; Amy Rodriguez, Liberty; Jeanette Sayers, Charleston Southern
Head Coach: Brant Tolsma, Liberty

Sprinters: Ebony Brown, Coastal Carolina; Ikeiylah Brown, Coastal Carolina; Dionne Gibson, Charleston Southern; Octavia Goode, Winthrop; Tonya Harling, Winthrop; Danielle McNaney, Liberty; Panthera Seymour, Liberty; Robin Williams, Liberty
Distance Runners: Carlajane Costantini, Charleston Southern; Carol Jefferson, Liberty; Diana Jepchirchir, Coastal Carolina; Lindsey Kozlowski, Coastal Carolina; Anne Marie Moutsinga, Coastal Carolina; Ashley Osborne, Liberty; Rebekah Ricksecker, Liberty; Heather Sagan, Liberty
Jumpers: Kena Butts, Liberty; Shemelia Brandon, Radford; Chasity Johnson, Coastal Carolina; Denise Morgan, High Point; Courtney Samuel, Coastal Carolina; Andrea Wildrick, Liberty; Robin Williams, Liberty; Claire Young, Coastal Carolina
Throwers: Amber Campbell, Coastal Carolina; Brittany Connor, Coastal Carolina; Jocelyn Davis, Charleston Southern; Tiffany Evans, Radford; Annette Purdy, Coastal Carolina; Brittany Reid, Coastal Carolina
Heptathletes: Danielle McNaney, Liberty; Marie Williams, Liberty
Head Coach: Alan Connie, Coastal Carolina