Flames Home > Football Home > News

Football Set to Kick Off Spring Practice Season on Friday

March 20, 2007
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

Chris Luck is one of 19 seniors who will look to lead the Flames in the upcoming 2007 season.

Chris Luck is one of 19 seniors who will look to lead the Flames in the upcoming 2007 season.

2007 Spring Practice Schedule

The Flames football program will begin to prepare for the upcoming 2007 season this Friday when Liberty kicks off its annual spring practice season at Williams Stadium with its first practice scheduled to start at 4:15 p.m. 

"We want to continue to improve and build upon the success of last year," commented head coach Danny Rocco about the spring practice season. "One of the things I was most proud of last year was our improvement from the beginning of the year to the end of the season. 

"I think the biggest challenge in our second year is to build upon those achievements, helping us take the next step in our program. The guys learned how to win last year, which is a big factor as we compete for a championship next year." 

The spring season will consist of 15 practices, culminating with the Flames annual spring game on April 21 at 1 p.m. Of the 15 practices, Liberty will have four Saturday morning practice sessions and two mid-week evening practices, with all the sessions conducted at Williams Stadium. 

Last year, Liberty posted the best win-loss improvement in the nation as the Flames posted a 6-5 record after finishing 2005 with a 1-10 mark. Rocco, in his first year with the program, was honored as Big South Coach of the Year with 14 players being named to the Big South all-conference teams, the most all-conference selections by any team in the league.

March 23 (Friday) - Practice #1 - 4:15 p.m.
March 24 (Saturday) - Practice #2 - 10:50 a.m.
March 28 (Wednesday) - Practice #3 - 4:15 p.m.
March 30 (Friday) - Practice #4 - 4:15 p.m.
March 31 (Saturday) - Practice #5 - 10:50 a.m.
April 2 (Monday) - Practice #6 - 4:15 p.m.
April 4 (Wednesday) - Practice #7 - 7:20 p.m.
April 6 (Friday) - Practice #8 - 4:15 p.m.
April 7 (Saturday) - Practice #9 - 10:50 a.m.
April 11 (Wednesday) - Practice #10 - 4:15 p.m.
April 12 (Thursday) - Practice #11 - 7:20 p.m.
April 14 (Saturday) - Practice #12 - 10:50 a.m.
April 18 (Wednesday) - Practice #13 - 4:15 p.m.
April 19 (Thursday) - Practice - #14 4:15 p.m.
April 21 (Saturday) - Practice #15 (Annual Spring Game) - 1 p.m.
Note: All practices will be conducted at Williams Stadium