Flames Home > Football Home > News

Hanson and Hyland Named to FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

January 6, 2014
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

Mitch Hanson (left) and Scott Hyland (right) have been selected to the 16th annual Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Academic All-Star team.

16th Annual FCS ADA Academic All-Star team

Liberty's Mitch Hanson and Scott Hyland were among the 43 student-athletes named to the 16th annual Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Academic All-Star team.

A total of 90 student-athletes were up for consideration for the all-star academic squad from the 124 FCS programs in the country. Liberty was one of only eight programs in the country to have multiple selections to the academic team.

In addition to being named to the FCS ADA Academic All-Star team, Hyland was selected as one of seven finalists for a FCS ADA's $5,000 Postgraduate Scholarship.

Two student-athletes will receive postgraduate scholarships during the association's annual membership meeting held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Fla., June 9-12.

The finalists include: Brett Biestek, Fordham (DL/3.78 GPA), Tanner Bleskin, Montana State (WR/3.85 GPA), Jordan Hanberry, Nicholls State (DB/4.00 GPA); Scott Hyland, Liberty (LB/3.94 GPA), Niccolo Mastromatteo, Coastal Carolina (WR-PR/3.94 GPA) Austin Pucylowski, Southern Illinois (P/4.00 GPA) and Michael Runger, Dartmouth (LB/3.77 GPA).

This is the second year in a row a member of Liberty's football team has been a finalist for the $5,000 scholarship. Last year, former standout wide receiver Pat Kelly was one of the seven finalist and eventual scholarship recipients for the FCS ADA's postgraduate scholarship.

Both Hanson and Hyland were named to the Capital One Academic All-District team, presented by the College Sports Information Directors of America, during the season. The pair also received All-Big South second-team honors after helping the Flames capture their sixth Big South title in the last seven years.

Hanson completed his junior season for the Flames in 2013 having started 23 consecutive games. He graded out fourth on Liberty's team at right tackle and helped the Flames set a new program record with 36 rushing touchdowns.

Hyland capped off his four-year playing career at Liberty having started his last 34 straight games and as Liberty's active career tackles leader (175 career stops). He ranked fourth on the team in 2013 with 57 tackles and second in assisted stops (26).

"The FCS ADA is honored to present this prestigious award to our football student-athletes each year," stated FCS ADA President Brian Hutchinson, Morehead State Director of Athletics. "Each year, these young men epitomize the definition of student-athlete, both in the classroom and on the field. Our association is pleased to recognize their accomplishments annually."

Football players from all FCS institutions are eligible for this award. Each of the nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with significant athletics credentials.