Flames Home > Volleyball Home > News

Craycraft Named to VaSID All-State 2nd Team

December 23, 2013
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

Jade Craycraft was named to the VaSID All-State second team, her third career all-state honor.

Liberty senior setter Jade Craycraft collected her third career all-state honor, Monday, being named to the VaSID University Division Volleyball All-State second team.

Voting for the team is conducted by the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID). The all-state team honors the best Division I volleyball players in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Craycraft becomes the fourth player in program history to earn three or more all-state awards, joining Kallie Corbin (2006-09), Chelaine McCarty (2007-09) and Nicki Scripko (2007-09). The Lady Flames have placed at least one player on the VaSID All-State team in each of the last eight seasons.

This season the Wooster, Ohio native posted a Big South best five triple-doubles and a team-high 11 double-doubles. During conference play, Craycraft ranked second in the Big South with a .365 attack percentage, and finished eighth in assists per set, at 8.96. She ranked second on the team in kills, aces, digs and blocks on the season.

The 2010 Big South Freshman of the Year, Craycraft earned Big South All-Conference first team honors as both a junior and senior. She is one of three four-time all-conference players in program history. She totaled 4,162 career assists, good for fifth in program history, while adding 609 kills, 920 digs, 295 blocks and 121 service aces.

Hampton's Vendula Strakova was named VaSID University Division State Volleyball Player of the Year, after leading the Pirates to their first-ever appearance in the NCAA Women's Volleyball Championship. Jasmine Burton of Virginia was voted Freshman of the Year, while Marci Jenkins was named Coach of the Year after guiding Radford to the Big South title.

2013 VaSID University Division All-State Volleyball Team
First Team

Vendula Strakova, Hampton
Lizzy Briones, James Madison
Emma Deininger, Radford
Lauren Fuller, Virginia
Victoria Hamsher, Virginia Tech
Romana Kriskova, VCU
Rachel Wiechecki, Radford

Second Team
Jasmine Burton, Virginia
Kathryn Caine, Virginia Tech
Jade Craycraft, Liberty
Tori Janowski, Virginia
Kalah Jones, VCU
Amanda Love, VCU

Player of the Year
Vendula Strakova, Hampton

Rookie of the Year
Jasmine Burton, Virginia

Coach of the Year
Marci Jenkins, Radford