Flames Home > Men's Basketball Home > News

Sanders Voted 2013 Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year

March 3, 2013
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

Flames guard John Caleb Sanders

Liberty men's basketball junior guard John Caleb Sanders has been voted the 2013 Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year, as voted on by the league's sports information directors. The announcement was made this afternoon by the conference office, along with unveiling of the Big South's all-conference award winners.

Sanders becomes the first player in program history to be voted Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year. He was also included on the Big South All-Academic Team, an honor his older brother Jesse Sanders previously earned, last season.

A business management major, Sanders holds a 3.40 cumulative grade-point average and is a two-time Big South Presidential Honor Roll member. The junior has appeared in all 31 games for the Flames this season, leading the team in scoring with 13.8 ppg (16th in the Big South). Sanders is also the team's assist leader with 107 on the season and is ninth in the conference in free throw percentage, shooting 75.7 percent.

Sanders is currently 24th on Liberty's all-time scoring list with 924 points. On Feb. 9, the Sugar Land, Texas native posted a career-high 27 points at Gardner-Webb, including 25 tallies in the second half.

Sanders and the Flames will head to Conway, S.C., Tuesday for the VisitMyrtleBeach.com Big South Men's Basketball Championship, where they will take on tournament host Coastal Carolina inside The HTC Center. Tipoff between the No. 5 North seed Flames and the No. 4 South seed Chanticleers is slated for 8 p.m.

2012-13 Men's Basketball All-Conference

First-Team All-Conference
Stan Okoye, F, Sr., VMI
Saah Nimley, G, Soph., Charleston Southern
Anthony Raffa, G, R-Sr., Coastal Carolina
John Brown, F, R-Fr., High Point
Jeremy Atkinson, F., Sr., UNC Asheville

Second-Team All-Conference
Allan Chaney, F, Gr., High Point
Tashan Newsome, G, R-Sr., Gardner-Webb
Trey Freeman, G, Soph., Campbell
Javonte Green, F, Soph., Radford
Arlon Harper, G, Soph., Charleston Southern

All-Freshman Team
John Brown, F, High Point
Michael Kessens, F, Longwood
Will Weeks, F, UNC Asheville
Adam Weary, G, High Point
Rashun Davis, G, Radford

All-Academic Team
Darren White, F, Sr., Campbell
Paul Gombwer, F, Soph., Charleston Southern
Tyler Strange, G, Soph., Gardner-Webb
John Caleb Sanders, G, Jr., Liberty
Stephen Shockley, G, Sr., Longwood
Kyle Noreen, F, Soph., Radford
Keith Hornsby, G, Soph., UNC Asheville
Stan Okoye, F, Sr., VMI
Derrick Henry, G, Soph., Winthrop

Player of the Year
Stan Okoye, F, Sr., VMI

Freshman of the Year
John Brown, F, High Point

Defensive Player of the Year
D.J. Covington, F, Jr., VMI

Coach of the Year
Chris Holtmann, Gardner-Webb

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
John Caleb Sanders, G, Jr., Liberty