Flames Home > Track & Field Home > News

Edmonds, Flower Excel at Tyson Invite

February 9, 2013
|  Fayetteville, Ark.
|   RSS
|   Share
|   Box Score

Abigail Flower broke the school record with her 200-meter dash time of 24.72 seconds, Saturday at the Tyson Invitational.

Liberty's Caleb Edmonds won the college section of the men's 3K while teammate Abigail Flower shattered the school record for the women's 200-meter dash, Saturday at the Tyson Invitational. Their efforts highlighted a successful day for the Flames at the Randal Tyson Track Center.

Edmonds led pretty much from start to finish in the 3K, winning by more than two seconds with his personal-best and IC4A-qualifying time of 8:14.09. The junior now ranks third in program history for the event, trailing only Sam Chelanga and Liberty assistant coach Josh McDougal. Edmonds' 3K time was the fastest by any Big South runner since Chelanga graduated in 2011.

Flower, a sophomore, won her heat of the 200 in a time of 24.72. The effort eclipsed the previous program indoor record of 24.87 seconds, set by Olivia Charnuski on March 5, 2011 at the ECAC Division I Indoor Track & Field Championships in Boston, Mass. Flower, whose best indoor 200-meter clocking was 24.92 before Saturday, finished 44th overall in a strong field.

Liberty also produced some lofty finishes in the field events, topped by Janae Jones' third-place showing in the college section of the women's triple jump. The freshman's top mark of the day was a personal-best 39-11.5. Teammate Melissa Rohwer triple jumped 38-4, tying for 15th place.

Redshirt senior Ryan Smith threw the shot put a season-best 58-8, netting seventh place. On the women's side, Mychelle Cumings reached 48-0 in the shot put, which was good for the 12th position.

Liberty will be off from competition next weekend, in preparation for the 2013 Big South Indoor Track & Field Championships on Feb. 21-22. For the first time, the meet will be contested at the JDL Fast Track in Winston-Salem, N.C. The Liberty men's team has captured all 15 Big South indoor titles ever awarded, while the Lady Flames have won three championships in a row.