Flames Home > Football Home > News

Flames Set to Open Training Camp Tomorrow

August 3, 2011
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

With 31 days remaining before the Flames officially kick off their 2011 season against N.C. State on Sept. 3, Liberty is set to open its August training camp tomorrow.

Members of the four-time defending Big South championship program will be reporting to campus throughout the day, checking in at the Williams Football Operations Center.

Following team physicals and an academic/compliance meeting this afternoon, "The Quest Continues" training camp will officially begin when head coach Danny Rocco addresses his 2011 squad for the first time this evening at his first team meeting.

Liberty is slated to hit the Williams Stadium turf for the first time as a squad for practice tomorrow at 2:20 p.m. In keeping with the NCAA's acclimation period regulations, Liberty will practice without pads on Thursday and Friday and in "shells" on Saturday and Sunday. The Flames' first practice in full pads will be Monday afternoon.

As always, Liberty's practices are open to the public, at no charge. Below is the Flames' complete training camp schedule. However, please be aware that the schedule is subject to change, especially considering August's potential changing weather in the Central Virginia area.

Liberty will hold practice sessions in Williams Stadium and at the practice field adjacent to the Williams Football Operations Center.

August Training Camp Practice Schedule
Aug. 4 (Thurs.) – 2:15 to 5:15 p.m. (Practice No. 1 – No pads)
Aug. 5 (Fri.) – 6:45 to 9 p.m. (Practice No. 2 – No pads)
Aug. 6 (Sat.) – 2:20 to 5 p.m. (Practice No. 3 – Shells)

Aug. 7 (Sun.) – 2:20 to 5 p.m. (Practice No. 4 – Shells)
Aug. 8 (Mon.) – 2:20 to 5 p.m. (Practice No. 5 – Full pads)
Aug. 9 (Tues.) – 9 to 10:55 a.m. (Practice No. 6 – Full pads) and 3 to 4:55 p.m. (Practice No. 7 - Shells)
Aug. 10 (Wed.) – 2:20 to 5 p.m. (Practice No. 8 – Full pads) *
Aug. 11 (Thurs.) – 9 to 10:55 a.m. (Practice No. 9 – Full pads) and 3 to 4:55 p.m. (Practice No. 10 – Shells)
Aug. 12 (Fri.) – 2:20 to 5 p.m. (Practice No. 11 – Full pads)
Aug. 13 (Sat.) – 2:20 to 5 p.m. (Practice No. 12 – Full pads) *

Aug. 14 (Sun.) – Player day off
Aug. 15 (Mon.) – 2:20 to 5 p.m. (Practice No. 13 – Full pads)
Aug. 16 (Tues.) – 9 to 10:55 a.m. (Practice No. 14 – Full pads) and 3 to 4:55 p.m. (Practice No. 15 – Shells)
Aug. 17 (Wed.) – 2:20 to 5 p.m. (Practice No. 16 – Full pads)
Aug. 18 (Thurs.) – 6:45 to 9 p.m. (Practice No. 17 – Full pads)
Aug. 19 (Fri.) – 2:20 to 5 p.m. (Practice No. 18 – Full pads)
Aug. 20 (Sat.) – 9:20 to 11:30 a.m. (Practice No. 19 – Full pads) *

Aug. 21 (Sun.) – 2:30 to 4 p.m. – Football Media Day
Aug. 22 (Mon.) – Player day off – University classes begin
* - Practice with officials/scrimmaging opportunity