Flames Home > Football Home > News

Woodrum Added to CFPA National Performers Watch List

October 23, 2014
|  Lynchburg, Va.
|   RSS
|   Share

Liberty quarterback Josh Woodrum was one of a handful of players added to the 2014 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy watch list, as announced by the College Football Performance Awards recently.

The College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) annually recognizes the top collegiate players at both the FCS and FBS levels of football. CFPA is now in its seventh season of player and team performance recognition. Twenty-eight CFPA winners have been first round NFL Draft selections.

The list includes 24 quarterbacks and six running backs. Four watch list members have previously earned CFPA year-ending honors, including 2013 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy winner Vernon Adams from Eastern Washington.

Woodrum is in the midst of a career season, having thrown for 1,900 yards and 14 touchdowns. The junior has accounted for 20 of Liberty 31 offensive touchdowns this year, adding six rushing touchdowns.

Woodrum currently leads the Big South and ranks nationally in passing yards (No. 10), total offense per game (295.1/No. 10), points responsible for (122/No. 9) and passing efficiency (152.0/No. 11).

The junior has thrown for 300 or more yards in four out of the last five games and is the Big South's all-time career leader with seven career 300-yard games.

Woodrum has been named Big South Player of the Week three times this year. He is on pace to challenge Liberty's single-season passing yards (3,226 by Phil Basso/1984) and passing touchdowns (24 by Phil Basso/1984 and Robby Justino/1990) records.


2014 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy Watch List:
Chris Brown (QB), Cal Poly
Austin Brown (QB), Charleston Southern
Jacob Huesman (QB), Chattanooga
Vernon Adams (QB), Eastern Washington
Chase Edmonds (RB), Fordham
Michael Nebrich (QB), Fordham
Justin Arias (QB), Idaho State
Marshaun Coprich (RB), Illinois State
Tre Roberson (QB), Illinois State
Mike Perish (QB), Indiana State
Caleb Berry (QB), Lamar
Josh Woodrum (QB), Liberty
Daniel Sams (QB), McNeese State
John Russ (QB), Mercer
Brandon Hill (QB), Monmouth
Dakota Prukop (QB), Montana State
Andy Vailas (QB), New Hampshire
Carson Wentz (QB), North Dakota State
Zach Adkins (QB), Northwestern State
Michael Strauss (QB), Richmond
Garrett Safron (QB), Sacramento State
Khairi Dickson (RB), Saint Francis (Pa.)
Zach Zenner (RB), South Dakota State
Bryan Bennett (QB), Southeastern Louisiana
Mark Iannotti (QB), Southern Illinois
Gus Johnson (RB), Stephen F. Austin
John Robertson (QB), Villanova
Trenton Norvell (QB), Western Illinois
Morgan Roberts (QB), Yale
Tyler Varga (RB), Yale