Club Sports News

Garvin, Schartz, Gammer reap All-ACHA Division I honors

May 8, 2018  |  Lynchburg, Va. 

Freshman forward Cole Gammer earned All-Rookie status after scoring 15 goals with 31 assists. (Photo by Andrew Snyder)

Liberty University ACHA Division I men's hockey senior forward Grant Garvin and junior defenseman Zane Schartz were selected to the ACHA Division I men's hockey All-Athletic First Team and freshman forward Cole Gammer was honored on the league's All-Rookie Team, announced this week.

Garvin, the ACHA Division I scoring leader with 25 goals and 49 assists, paced the Flames in points for a third consecutive season and currently ranks fifth on Liberty's all-time Division I scoring list. He signed to join the Roanoke Rail Yard Dawgs for the end of its Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) regular season and playoffs, including their first-round opener against Peoria (Ill.) at the LaHaye Ice Center.

Schartz, who led all defensemen in scoring with 29 goals and 36 assists (65 points), was offered a contract with the Norfolk Admirals for the end of their East Coast Hockey League (ECHL) regular season.

Both players were named to the All-Eastern States Collegiate Hockey League (ESCHL) First Team.

Gammer, the ESCHL Rookie of the Year, is the Flames' sixth pick to the All-Rookie Team in as many years, following forward Quinn Ryan last season, Schartz in 2015-16, forward Jake Hannon in 2014-15, forward Robert Ward in 2013-14, and defenseman Steven Bellew in 2012-13. In 2009-10, Flames forward Brent Boschman was named ACHA Rookie of the Year. 

Gammer scored the tying goal in the final minute of the Flames' 2-1 loss to defending national champion Central Oklahoma, forcing overtime in the March 10 opener of the ACHA DI National Championships in Columbus, Ohio.

All-ACHA Division I 2017-18 Awards

Coach of the Year: Gary Astalos (Adrian)

Player of the Year: G Austyn Roudebush (Adrian)

Rookie of the Year: F Anthony Cusanelli (Arizona)

All-Athletic First Team: G Roudebush (Adrian), D Zane Schartz (Liberty), D Austin Yano (Minot State), F Brad Kobryn (Adrian), F Grant Garvin (Liberty), F Cusanelli (Arizona).

All-Rookie Team: G Cooper Seedott (Lindenwood), D Jordan Oshowy (Adrian), D Joe Nolan (Illinois), F Cusanelli (Arizona), F Cole Gammer (Liberty), F Chase Sereno (Oakland), F Jared Virtanen (Calvin).

Men's D1 Hockey Links

No events scheduled for this team.

Mar 10
Men's D1 Hockey
at Nationals: University of Central Oklahoma
L (1-2) OT

Feb 25
Men's D1 Hockey
at ESCHL Playoff Championship vs. Stony Brook
W (2-1)

Feb 24
Men's D1 Hockey
at ESCHL Playoffs vs. University of Delaware
W (4-2)

Feb 17
Men's D1 Hockey
vs. West Virginia University
W (10-1)

Feb 16
Men's D1 Hockey
vs. West Virginia University
W (9-1)

More Recaps