1. Who needs to register a vehicle?
Any motor vehicle (including motorcycles and mopeds) or bicycle operated or parked on property owned or controlled by Liberty University must display a valid Liberty University parking permit or pass. The type of permit or pass indicates the areas in which the vehicle must be parked. It is the responsibility of the individual student, faculty, or staff member to personally obtain any temporary parking permit.
ALL employees, students, online students, online employees/faculty, vendors, contractors, construction workers and visitors bringing a vehicle on campus must obtain an appropriate permit on their vehicle. Employees and students must complete a vehicle registration on-line through Liberty University Police Department. This registration form sets forth certain RESPONSIBILITIES OF ALL EMPLOYEES AND STUDENTS concerning the operation of a motor vehicle on campus. Failure to receive/obtain/possess a copy of the regulations does not exempt a vehicle or persons from the penalties in these regulations. All vendors, construction workers, contractors, and visitors must go to LUPD to get their decal/pass.
2. Why did my vehicle get towed?
Towing rules and regulations are enforced 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. While decal restrictions are lifted on weekdays between the hours of 4 pm and 4 am and between the hours of Friday at 4 pm and Monday at 4 am every weekend, all other rules and regulations are fully enforced. Any violation of the regulations subjects a vehicle to towing, impound, and immobilization. Specific No Parking and Tow Zones are marked on campus. However the absence of a sign does not exempt towing for any location on campus for any violation contained herein. OFFICIALLY POSTED SIGNS TAKE PRECEDENCE OVER THE TRAFFIC AND PARKING REGULATIONS.
3. I am a student and a member of Thomas Road Baptist Church, can I park in TRBC, LCA, or ELC parking spaces?
Liberty University Police Dept. (LUPD) will enforce traffic and parking regulations on the property of Thomas Road Baptist Church, or any other related ministry. Parking in areas designated for TRBC, LCA, or ELC are reserved for those with the proper decal.
4. If I am an ELC student’s parent, where do I park?
ELC (Early Learning Center) parents must park according to the Liberty University decal you were issued. ELC spaces to pickup/drop off are only for registered ELC student’s parent to pick up and drop off their student. The parent must have the proper hangtag issued by the Early Learning Center. Vehicles parked in this location more than a reasonable amount of time to pickup/drop off registered ELC students will be towed at the owner’s expense, despite proper displaying an ELC permit.
5. Are Liberty University Police officers certified with the State?
Yes. All officers are certified or licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia. Police officers may issue Virginia summons for violations of Virginia law, including but not limited to:
Disrespect to a Police Officer, Emergency Services Officer or Parking Enforcement Officer; will result in disciplinary action from the Student Conduct Office if a student. If an employee, disciplinary action will be taken through the office of Human Resources. Interfering with an officer in performance of their duty will result in a fine, a report, and possible criminal charges.
6. What if something happens to my vehicle while on campus?
The University assumes no responsibility for loss or damage to private property.
7. I need to leave my car on campus while school is not in session, but I will not be in the area, what do I need to do?
You need to bring a copy of the key to the vehicle being left on campus, your vehicle registration, and your driver’s license to the LUPD Records Dept. Upon bringing your vehicle registration and spare key to the LUPD Records Department; paperwork will need to be filled out and you will be instructed where to leave your vehicle on campus by LUPD. This should be done the business day of or before leaving the vehicle here. You should also retain a copy of your key for your own personal backup.
8. I have a special circumstance; how do I obtain a special parking pass to accommodate my situation?
Variations from these regulations, or any special considerations, will only be granted by the Chief of Police or his authorized representative. All such requests must be in writing or an email; for student requests, an email must be sent from a faculty member, staff member, medical professional or other authority who is responsible for student seeking a variance or special consideration.
9. How do I pay a traffic ticket?
LUPD accepts no payment(s) for any traffic fees or fines (including vehicle registration). All traffic fees and fines are payable at the Student Accounts Office.
10. What do I do when my vehicle has been towed?
It is important to realize that once the towing company is on scene, the vehicle is in the hands of towing company NOT LUPD. Any damages or concerns of the vehicle will be directed to the towing company and NOT LUPD.
11. I arrived at my vehicle while the towing company (Beeline) was just starting to tow my vehicle; do I still have to pay the fee?
Yes. It is important to realize that once the towing company is on scene, the vehicle is in the hands of towing company NOT LUPD.
12. How do I dispute a ticket I received?
You must submit a written appeal to the LUPD Records Department Office.
13. How do I appeal a tow?
You must submit an appeal by printing out and completing the appropriate form. Once completed, this form should be turned into LUPD. Tow appeals must be submitted within 30 days from the date of the tow. This form can be obtained at the following link.
14. I allowed someone to park my vehicle and they were towed?
A person who receives a parking permit will be responsible for all traffic/parking violations received by the vehicle bearing that permit. This includes reckless driving violations, fines and towing. Therefore, we request that you do not allow another person to operate your vehicle unless you are willing to pay fines you did not incur.
15. Who do I contact if my question is not answered in the Traffic and Parking Regulations?
For any questions please contact the LUPD Records Department at email@example.com or 434-592-7641.
16. Can I register a vehicle that does not belong to me but is a student or employee’s vehicle?
A person may NOT register a vehicle owned or used by another student or employee. Falsification of the registration information may result in the vehicle being BANNED from campus. Further disciplinary action for the parties involved in such deception may also be taken.
17. Does obtaining a parking permit guarantee a convenient parking space?
Obtaining a parking permit does not guarantee a convenient parking space. Lack of a convenient parking space is not a valid excuse for violation of any regulation.
18. Can I park on a curb, grass, sidewalk, roadway, crosswalk, fire lane, etc? What if other vehicles are parking illegally?
There is no exception for vehicles parked on curbs, grass, sidewalks, roadways, crosswalks, fire lanes, etc. even if it is only for “a few minutes”. Vehicles must be parked between two lines or space markers on a paved parking lot and in a space that is not reserved or otherwise designated. Parking illegally will result in towing.
19. Can I park for “a few minutes” in an area that says “No Parking”? What if there is no signs or ground markings?
Vehicles must be parked between two lines or space markers on a paved parking lot at all times. Parking illegally will result in towing. Specific “No Parking” and “Tow Zones” are marked on campus; however, the absence of a sign does not exempt towing for any location on campus for any violation contained herein.
20. Is LUPD obligated to provide me with a “warning” or a phone call before my vehicle is towed?
No. LUPD is not obligated to provide a warning or phone call.
21. What happens if I registered my vehicle online and signed up for a parking decal but it did not arrive in the mail by the beginning of the school year?
In such cases, the student or employee will need to go to LUPD to get a temporary decal or issued a replacement decal. If the decal arrives after you receive a decal from LUPD you must return the decal you received in the mail. “Not receiving a decal in the mail” does not absolve you of the responsibility of obtaining one from LUPD and properly placing it on your vehicle within the time requirements outlined by the University.
22. I sold my vehicle and have a different vehicle I want to bring on campus but I didn’t get the decal off the vehicle I sold; what do I do?
You will need to scrape the decal off even if it ends up in pieces. If you did not take the decal off to bring it to LUPD you will have to go to LUPD and fill out a Decal Statement Report before being issued a replacement parking decal. There will also be a nominal charge on your account to cover the costs associated with the new decal and processing the transfer in our system.
23. I went home for break and brought my parents vehicle instead of the vehicle I had registered; what do I do?
You will need to scrape the decal off even if it ends up in pieces. This prevents the parking decal being reused by another individual. If you did not take the decal off your previous vehicle to turn into LUPD, you will have to go to LUPD and fill out a Decal Statement Report before being issued a replacement parking decal. There will also be a nominal charge on your account to cover the costs associated with the new decal and processing the transfer in our system.
24. I decided to not bring a vehicle on campus after I have received a decal or I had my vehicle for fall semester and I will not have it for the spring semester.
In either case, you will need to bring your decal back. You will be credited for the remaining period the decal was not used. If you fail to bring the decal back; you will be charged and no credit will be issued. “Don’t wait until the end of the semester to return your unused decal, as credits for returned decals are calculated on a “pro-rated” basis. even though you did not use the decal. You will be credited back the prorated amount from the date LUPD receives the decal.
25. Can I give my decal to a friend to use?
NO! If a decal is found on a vehicle that is not registered to the decal; the vehicle will be towed due to fraudulent use; a report will be conducted and will have disciplinary actions take place.
26. I am a parent visiting and I want to use my student’s vehicle while I am visiting?
You must go to LUPD to get a special pass for parents to use a student’s vehicle during their visit. The other option would be to park in the areas where your student’s decal is valid. Vehicles will be towed if parked in the wrong lot without the proper decal or special pass.
27. I was in the bookstore and I was towed; can they really tow me if I am in the bookstore?
Yes. The lot that the bookstore is in is the Speakman lot which is reserved for Zone 1 decals from the hours of 2 am–5 pm. Any other decals are NOT allowed to park at the bookstore. There are reserved spaces for the bookstore that students can use to pick up books at the back of the building. Any vehicle found in the bookstore area that is not in the bookstore WILL be towed.
28. I was towed for parking in the Reber Thomas lot but I was only inside for “a few minutes” to eat breakfast?
Parking is enforced Monday through Friday 2am – 5pm. Violations will result in towing.
29. I am an online student or online faculty; do I have to buy a decal?
ALL employees, students, online students, online employees/faculty, vendors, contractors, construction workers and visitors bringing a vehicle on campus must obtain an appropriate parking permit. Online students or faculty who visit campus on “an infrequent basis” is at the discretion of LUPD.
30. I have a handicap condition and the proper handicap credential, can I park in any handicap space on campus or do I have to park in a handicap space in the parking lot that my decal is assigned to?
Liberty University provides ADA compliant transit service throughout the university campus facilities. Handicap individuals can only park in a handicap space where their decal is assigned. Handicap permits found in other lots other than what their parking decal authorizes will be subject to towing. Handicap individuals should consider this condition when registering their vehicle and obtaining a parking decal that best suits their needs and then park accordingly.