School of Religion

Academics

Departments

Centers & Ministries

Meet the Faculty

School of Religion Faculty

Dr. David Adams
Director, Pastoral Leadership Program
Professor of Biblical Studies and Pastoral Ministries
deadams2@liberty.edu
RH 145
(434) 592-4956
Dr. Don Alban
Associate Professor of Global Studies and Biblical Studies
dalban@liberty.edu
GH 2510
(434) 582-2484
Dr. Mark Allen
Department Chair, Biblical and Theological Studies
Associate Professor of Biblical Studies
Director, Biblical Languages Program
mdallen5@liberty.edu
RH 143
(434) 592-6295
James BorlandDr. James Borland
Professor of Biblical Studies and Theology
jborland@liberty.edu
RH 147
(434) 582-2586
Dr. Monica Rose Brennan
Director, Women's Ministries Program
Associate Professor of Christian Leadership and Church Ministries
mdrose@liberty.edu
RH 122
(434) 582-2963
Dr. Wayne Brindle
Professor of Biblical Studies
wabrindl@liberty.edu
RH 150
(434) 582-2446
Dr. Richard Brown
Assistant Professor of Youth Ministries
Faculty Director, YouthQuest
rsbrown@liberty.edu
RH 127
(434) 582-7597

Professor Rick Buck
Professor of Biblical Studies
rbuck@liberty.edu

Dr. John Cartwright
Assistant Dean, School of Religion
Assistant Professor of Religion 
jbcartwright@liberty.edu
RH 109
(434) 582-2565
Dr. Joshua Chatraw
Director, Center for Apologetics and Cultural Engagement
Associate Professor of Theology and Apologetics
dchatraw@liberty.edu
RH  144
(434) 592-7769

Robert van EngenDr. Robert Van Engen
Assistant Director, Christian/Community Service
Assistant Professor of Contemporary Issues

rvanengen@liberty.edu
GH 1880
(434) 582-2326

Dr. Gabriel Etzel
Associate Dean, School of Religion
Associate Professor of Religion
Director, Christian Leadership and Management Program
gbetzel@liberty.edu
RH 109
(434) 582-2568
Dr. Donald Fowler
Professor of Biblical Studies
dfowler@liberty.edu
RH 148
(434) 582-2668
Dr. Richard Alan Fuhr, Jr.
Director, Biblical Studies Programs
Associate Professor of Biblical Studies
rafuhr@liberty.edu
RH 146
(434) 582-7108
Professor Jonathan Geukgeuzian
Department Chair, Christian Leadership and Church Ministries
Executive Director, Center for Youth Ministries
Associate Professor of Christian Leadership and Church Ministries
jgeukgeuzian@liberty.edu
RH 127
(434) 582-2350

Professor Doug Gilmer
Director, Adventure Leadership and Outdoor Ministry Program
Adjunct Professor of Adventure Leadership and Outdoor Ministry

 
Dr. Chris Gnanakan
Professor of Theology 
cgnanakan@liberty.edu
RH 147
(434) 582-2568
Dr. Ben Gutierrez
Administrative Dean for Undergraduate Programs
Professor of Religion
bgutierrez@liberty.edu
RH 143
(434) 592-6295

Professor Melody Harper
Department Chair, Global Studies
Assistant Professor of Global Studies
Director, Global Studies Program

mharper39@liberty.edu
GH 2510
(434) 582-2636

Dr. Harvey Hartman
Professor of Biblical Studies
hdhartma@liberty.edu
RH 151
(434) 582-2579
Dr. Ed Hindson
Dean, School of Religion
Dean, Institute of Biblical Studies
Distinguished Professor of Biblical Studies and Religion
ehindson@liberty.edu
RH 107
(434) 582-7711
Dr. Will Honeycutt
Assistant Director, Christian/Community Service
Assistant Professor of Contemporary Issues
whoneycutt@liberty.edu
GH 1880
(434) 582-2152
Professor Chris Hulshof
Department Chair 
Assistant Professor of Religion
chhulshof@liberty.edu
RH 109
(434) 582-7198
Gaylen LeverettDr. Gaylen Leverett
Associate Professor of Theology
gplevere@liberty.edu
RH 140
(434) 582-2019
Professor Don Love
Assistant Professor of Religion
drlove@liberty.edu
RH 149
(434) 582-7425
Dr. Troy Matthews
Associate Director, Christian/Community Service
Associate Professor of Contemporary Issues
tmatthews@liberty.edu
GH 1880
(434) 582-2357
Dr. John Morrison
Professor of Theology
dmorrison@liberty.edu
RH 128
(434) 582-2185
Dr. Scott Phillips
Department Chair, School of Religion, LU Online
Associate Professor of Religion
sbphilli@liberty.edu
RH 142
(434) 582-2749
Dr. J. Randall Price
Executive Director, Center for Judaic Studies
Distinguished Research Professor
jrprice4@liberty.edu
Jerry Falwell Library Terrace Level 061
(434) 592-3249
Dr. Stephen Putney
Assistant Director, Christian/Community Service
Associate Professor of Contemporary Issues
sputney@liberty.edu
GH 1880
(434) 582-2157
Dr. Rick Rasberry
Department Chair, School of Religion, LU Online
Associate Professor of Religion
rlrasber@liberty.edu
RH 106
(434) 582-7718
Jeff RitcheyDr. Jeff Ritchey
Associate Chairman, Global Studies
Assistant Professor of Global Studies
jritchey@liberty.edu
GH 2510
(434) 582-2585
Dr. Martin Sheldon
Department Chair, School of Religion, LU Online
Assistant Professor of Religion
mesheldo@liberty.edu
RH 141
(434) 582-2504
Dr. Rusty Small
Assistant Professor of Theology 
rnsmall@liberty.edu
RH 143
(434) 426-4878
Dr. Michael Smith
Associate Professor of Biblical Studies
mjsmith2@liberty.edu
RH 153
(434) 592-3450
Dr. Troy Temple
Department Chair, School of Religion, LU Online
Professor of Religion
twtemple@liberty.edu
RH 152
(434) 592-4653
Dr. Steve Vandegriff
Director, Scaremare
Professor of Youth Ministries
svandegriff@liberty.edu
RH 127
(434) 582-2328
Dr. Lew Weider
Director, Christian/Community Service
Associate Professor of Contemporary Issues
laweider@liberty.edu
GH 1880
(434) 582-2453
David WheelerDr. David Wheeler
Director of Center for Ministry Training 
Professor of Evangelism and Student Ministry 
dwheeler2@liberty.edu
Dorm 17
Room 111
(434) 592-4161

Darren WuDr. Darren Wu
Christian/Community Service Coordinator
Assistant Professor of Contemporary Issues

dcwu@liberty.edu
GH 1880
(434) 582-2416

Retired Faculty  

Dr. Paul Fink
Professor of Biblical Studies and Pastoral Ministry

Dr. James Stevens
Professor of Religion