You are here: Home > Offices > Registrar

2011-2012 Residential Academic Calendar

 

Last Updated December 8, 2011 Print the Academic Calendar

 

First Semester

August 8, Monday
Faculty Return

August 10 - 16, W - F; M - T
Faculty Orientation

August 16, Tuesday
Early Residence Hall check-in begins at 6:00 p.m. for
new students who have completed financial check-in

August 17, Wednesday
Residence Halls open
Dining Hall opens for lunch for new students
Financial check-in and orientation for new,
transfer, and former undergraduate students
(Required)

August 17 - 20, Wednesday - Saturday
Orientation, Freshman Seminar and Registration
Required for all new, transfer and former undergraduate students

August 18, Thursday
Graduate Orientation – required for all new, transfer and former graduate students

August 19, Friday
Residence Halls open for returning students at 1:00 p.m.
Meal Plans begin at lunch for returning students
Registration for returning and former students

August 22, Monday
Classes begin, 7:40 a.m.

August 26, Friday
Last day to register at 4:00 p.m.
Last day to add or drop a class with no grade

October 6 - 7, Thursday – Friday
Fall Break

November 18, Friday
Thanksgiving Vacation begins after last class
Dining Hall closes after dinner

November 21 - 25, Monday - Friday
Thanksgiving vacation

November 28, Monday
Last day to withdraw from an undergraduate class with a grade of 'W'

December 7, Wednesday
Last day of classes
Last day to withdraw from a graduate class with a 'W'

December 8, Thursday
Reading Day

December 9-16, Friday - Friday
Final Examinations

December 16, Friday
Final Exam Make-up Day
First semester ends
Residence Halls close at 12:00 p.m.
Dining Hall closes after dinner

December 23, Friday
Final grades due


WINTER INTERSESSION

January 2 - January 13

 

Second Semester

January 9, Monday
Faculty Return

January 11, Wednesday
Residence Halls open
Dining Hall opens for lunch for new students
Financial check-in and orientation for new, transfer,
and former undergraduate students (Required)

January 11 - 14, Wednesday - Saturday
Orientation and Freshman Seminar and Registration
Required for all new, transfer and former undergraduate students

January 12, Thursday
Graduate Orientation – required for all new, transfer and former graduate students

January 13, Friday
Residence Halls open for returning students at 1:00 p.m.
Meal Plans begin at lunch for returning students
Registration for returning and former students

January 16, Monday
Classes begin, 7:40 a.m.

January 20, Friday
Last day to register at 4:00 p.m.
Last day to add or drop a class with no grade
Last day to adjust tuition

March 9, Friday
Spring Vacation begins after last class
Dining Hall closes after dinner

March 12-16, Monday - Friday
Spring Break
Spring Intensives

April 6, Friday
Last day to withdraw from an undergraduate class with a grade of 'W'

April 9, Monday
Easter Holiday
No Classes

April 18, Wednesday
Annual Assessment Day

May 1, Tuesday
Last day of classes
Last day to withdraw from a graduate class with a grade of 'W'

May 2, Wednesday
Reading Day

May 3 - May 8, Thursday-Tuesday
Final Examinations

May 9, Wednesday
Residence Halls close at 12:00 p.m.

May 11, Friday
Baccalaureate Service;
Second semester ends

May 12, Saturday
Commencement
Dining Hall closes after breakfast

May 18, Friday
Final grades due

May 23 - 25, Wednesday - Friday
Faculty Workdays


SUMMER SESSION

May 14 - August 17