You are here: Home > Offices > Registrar

2012-2013 Residential Academic Calendar

Updated 11/5/2012

Printable PDF: 2012-2013 Residential Academic Calendar

FIRST SEMESTER

August 6, Monday
Faculty Return

August 8 – 14,  
Faculty Orientation

August 14, Tuesday
Early Residence Hall check-in begins
at 6:00 p.m. for new students who have
completed financial check-in

August 15, Wednesday
Residence Halls open for new students
Dining Hall opens for lunch for new students
Financial check-in and orientation for new and transfer undergraduate students (Required)

August 15-18, Wednesday - Saturday
Orientation, Freshman Seminar and Registration
Required for all new, transfer and former UG students

August 16, Thursday
Graduate Orientation – required for all new,
transfer and former graduate students

August 17, Friday
Residence Halls open for returning students at 1:00 p.m.
Meal Plans begin at lunch for returning students
Registration for returning and former students

August 20, Monday
Classes begin, 7:40 a.m.

August 20-24, Monday-Friday
Add/Drop Week

August 24, Friday 
Last day to add or drop a class at 4:00 p.m.

October 11-14, Thursday–Sunday
Fall Break

November 16, Friday
Last day to withdraw from a UG class with a "W"
Thanksgiving Vacation begins after last class
Dining Hall closes after dinner

November 19-23, Monday-Friday
Thanksgiving vacation

December 5, Wednesday
Last day of classes
Last day to withdraw from a GR class with a "W"

December 6, Thursday
Reading Day

December 7 - 14, Friday - Friday
Final Examinations

December 14, Friday
Final Exam Make-up Day
Fall semester ends
Residence Halls close at noon
Dining Hall closes after dinner

December 21, Friday
Final grades due

 

WINTER INTERSESSION

December 31 – January 11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SECOND SEMESTER

January 7, Monday
Faculty Return

January 10, Thursday
Residence Halls open for new students
Dining Hall opens for lunch for new students
Registration and Financial check-in for all new, transfer and former UG students
Graduate Orientation - required for all new, transfer and former graduate students

January 10, Thursday
Community Projects - Highly suggested for all new, transfer and former UG students

January 11, Friday
Transfer Orientation - Highly suggested for all transfer UG students

January 11, Friday
Residence Halls open for returning students at 1:00 p.m.
Meal Plans begin at lunch for returning students
Registration for returning and former students

January 11-12, Friday - Saturday
Orientation - Highly suggested for all new, transfer and former UG students

January 14, Monday
Classes begin, 7:40 a.m.

January 14-18, Monday-Friday
Add/Drop Week

January 18, Friday
Last day to add or drop a class at 4:00 p.m.

March 8, Friday
Spring Vacation begins after last class
Dining Hall closes after dinner

March 11-15, Monday-Friday
Spring Break
Spring Intensives

April 1, Monday
Easter Holiday
No Classes

April 5, Friday
Last day to withdraw from a UG class with a "W"

April 10, Wednesday
Annual Assessment Day

April 30, Tuesday
Last day of classes
Last day to withdraw from a GR class with a "W"

May 1, Wednesday 
Reading Day

May 2–May 7, Thursday-Tuesday
Final Examinations

May 8, Wednesday
Residence Halls close at noon

May 10, Friday
Baccalaureate Service
Spring semester ends

May 11, Saturday
Commencement,
Dining Hall closes after breakfast

May 17, Friday
Final grades due

May 22-24, Wednesday-Friday
Faculty Workdays
 

SUMMER SESSION

May 13 - August 16