State Requirements

Licensure Information

The residential undergraduate teacher education programs and graduate-level Master of Arts in Teaching degrees are designed to lead to initial licensure as outlined by the Virginia Departments of Education.

The Master of Education: Administration & Supervision, Reading Specialist, and Math Specialist programs are designed to lead to advanced licensure, as also outlined by the Virginia Department of Education. Before enrolling in a licensure program at Liberty University, students should consult the rules and regulations regarding licensure for their particular state.

Students should be aware of the following before enrolling in one of Liberty University’s education programs:

  • State regulations regarding licensure opportunities if an applicant has a previous felony conviction, a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, and/or a founded case of child abuse and neglect.
  • State regulations regarding the type and number of academic courses and practicum/internship/student teaching hours.
  • The state accreditation requirements for educational institutions.
  • The state regulations and requirements for online education programs.

Disclosure Statement

Enrollment in one of the School of Education licensure programs does not guarantee a degree from Liberty or qualification for licensure. Students are responsible for meeting all academic and professional requirements for graduation. Further information regarding these academic and professional requirements are outlined on the Liberty University website. Students enrolled in a licensure program are responsible for knowing the material outlined for their program. Further, it is the sole responsibility of the student, not the program, to obtain information regarding prerequisites for licensure as outlined by their particular state Department of Education.

The information provided below is subject to change without notice. Liberty University is not responsible for knowing when changes occur. Additionally, there might be other states with unique licensure requirements. Please reference our State Approval Disclosures page for further information.


Requirements by State 

  • Alabama

    Educational Requirements: Graduation from a university teacher licensure program; the graduate must first obtain licensure from the state in which he/she attended the university licensee program. Then the candidate can apply for licensure in Alabama. Alabama recognizes valid professional educator certificates issued by other states, by the District of Columbia, by U.S. Territories and by the Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA). The certificate(s) presented must be at a degree level, in a teaching field or instructional support area, and at a grade level in which Alabama offers comparable certification.

    Experiential Requirements: Pre-student teaching requirement: 150 clock hours; 90 of which are in increments of 3 hours; spanning all grades for which the applicant seeks certification; Student Teaching – one semester with the applicant assuming full teaching responsibility for 20 days. 

    Exam Required: Praxis II for the endorsement area

  • Alaska

    Educational Requirements: In order to be certified to teach in Alaska, an applicant must have completed a Bachelor’s degree as well as a state-approved teacher education program at a regionally accredited college or university. Applicants must submit a State-Approved Program Verification form to demonstrate that they have completed an approved teacher preparation program. The program must include a student teaching component. Applicants have 2 years to complete 3 semester hours in Alaskan Studies and 3 semester hours in multicultural education or cross-cultural communications.

    Experiential Requirements: Alaska uses a tiered system for educator licensure. First-time teachers will be issued an initial certificate. The initial certificate may be upgraded to a Professional teacher certificate after two years of successful teaching and completing the appropriate Praxis Subject Assessments exam(s) as well as Alaska’s state-specific coursework requirements (Alaskan Studies and multicultural education or cross-cultural communications). Experienced teachers may advance to a Master teacher certificate by meeting the requirements for a Professional certificate and earning certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS).

    Exam(s) Required: Basic competency exams (Praxis Reading 5712, Writing 5722 and Math 5732).

    Praxis II Content Exams are required for each endorsement area.

  • Arizona

    Educational Requirements: Arizona Board of Education rules for Certification Reciprocity rules allow applicants who hold a valid, comparable teaching certificate from another state and are in good standing in that state to qualify for the equivalent Standard Professional teaching certificate.  Applicants who qualify under reciprocity must also have a valid Arizona Department of Public Safety Identity Verified Prints (IVP) fingerprint clearance card and complete the Arizona and US Constitution requirements within the allowable timeframe. A course of examination covering the provisions and principles of the Constitutions of the USA and of Arizona is required within 3 years from the date of issuance of a teaching certificate except that a teacher who is certified in Social Studies, History or Political Science/American Government must meet this requirement within one year. 

    Experiential Requirements: 

    Exam Required: Passing scores on the required Professional Knowledge and Subject Knowledge Exam are required.

    Testing requirements:

  • Arkansas

    Educational Requirements: A graduate from an out-of-state university must first obtain initial licensure from the state in which he/she attended the university. Applicants seeking licensure in Elementary Education (K-6), Middle School (4-8), or Secondary Social Studies (7-12) must complete a 3-credit hour course in Arkansas history at an accredited institution prior to applying for certification. Applicants must have completed a teacher education program accredited by CAEP or another accrediting agency recognized by the Department of Education or CHEA and possesses a Standard License Equivalent or current certification from the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards. Applicants must complete an Arkansas history course as described above.

    Experiential Requirements: Applicants must have passing scores on assessment tests, but this requirement is waived if they have three years of experience in another state as a licensed teacher, administrator, library media specialist, or counselor. Applicants whose states did not require them to take assessment tests and who do not have three years of experience must also complete Arkansas testing requirements.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicant must achieve passing scores on the Praxis I and II exams.

    Effective March 2017, an individual applying for a first-time licensure for an elementary education license or a special education license must pass a subject matter content assessment, pedagogy assessment and a stand-alone assessment that examines the acquisition of knowledge of essential components of beginning reading instruction based on the science of reading.

  • California

    Educational Requirements: Applicants must satisfy a Developing English Language Skills requirement by completing a comprehensive reading instruction course and completing a course or passing an examination on the U.S. Constitution. License transfer requires applicants to have a Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university, have completed a regionally accredited teacher education program, and hold a credential from another state. Applicants with less than two years of teaching experience in another state must complete a Commission-approved General Education Induction program to earn a Clear Teaching Credential. Teachers with two or more years of experience teaching in another state must hold a Master’s degree or complete 150 hours of professional development to earn the Clear Teaching Credential. This requirement may be fulfilled on a Preliminary Credential.

    Experiential Requirements: Each candidate must have experiences teaching students who are English language learners, students who have special needs, students who reflect the ethnic and linguistic diversity of California as well as students who are from low socio-economic communities. Candidates must experience the full range of the school year.

    Required Exams: All applicants must satisfy the Basic Skills Requirement.

    Candidates must also satisfy subject matter and may do this by passing the California Subject Examinations for Teachers (CSET).

    Elementary teachers and Special Education teachers must pass the Reading Instruction Competency Assessment (RICA).

  • Colorado

    Educational Requirements: Out-of-state programs must be equivalent to Colorado programs. Students completing out-of-state alternative preparation programs must submit an official letter from their State Department of Education confirming its approval of the alternative program and the requirements for the alternative program completion. Applicants whose programs are determined as not equivalent to Colorado’s must complete a Colorado-approved alternative teacher preparation program for Colorado licensure. Applicants must also hold an earned bachelor's degree or higher from a regionally accredited institution. Requirements vary by subject matter.

    Experiential Requirements: No specific experiential requirements are outlined on the website for the Colorado Department of Education.

    Exam Required: Applicants must achieve passing scores on the Colorado-approved content test (select PRAXIS exams). Testing requirements may be waived if an applicant has completed 24 semester hours of specific coursework (as determined by a transcript review) in the content area.

  • Connecticut

    Educational Requirements: Students must take a three-credit course in U.S. History and a 36-hour course about children with disabilities. License transfer requires applicants to meet initial licensing standards. Students meet initial licensing standards if they have a Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution, have completed a teacher preparation program approved by another state, are eligible for licensure in that state, have recommendations from the preparation program and have completed Connecticut testing requirements. Connecticut officials review applicant transcripts to ensure completion of Connecticut equivalent coursework. Connecticut participates in the National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and Certification (NASDTEC) Interstate agreement with other states. The NASDTEC agreement is applied to applicants who have completed an approved out-of-state educator preparation program and may waive additional coursework requirements.

    Experiential Requirements: Early Childhood Programs: Students must have student teaching with Pre-K or K children and either student teaching with infants/toddlers or Grades 1-3. Students must teach in one special education placement and one regular education placement.

    Exam Required: Certification may require the successful completion of the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages exams and/or the Connecticut Foundations of Reading test. Connecticut generally does not accept other state’s testing in lieu of Connecticut’s specific testing requirements.

    Testing requirements may be completed while the applicant is working on an interim license. Testing requirements are waived if the student has taught 30 months or has a Master’s degree in the subject area taught.

  • Delaware

    Educational Requirements: Delaware will conduct a transcript review to ensure the applicant has a Bachelor’s degree from a regionally-accredited institution and has completed student teaching requirements. Although out-of-state teacher preparation programs do not have to be identical to Delaware requirements, the Department of Education will contact the applicant if there are significant deficiencies or differences. Applicants must have a Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution. Applicants must have a major in the standard certificate requested for all grade levels. License transfer requires applicants to meet initial licensing standards. Students meet initial licensing standards if they have a Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution, complete student teaching requirements, and demonstrate good moral character. Testing requirements are waived for license transfer applicants.

    Experiential Requirements: No specific experiential requirements are outlined on the website for the Delaware Department of Education

    Exam Required: Passing scores for a Performance Assessment (edTPA, PPAT, or other state-approved assessments) are required for new teachers who do not have 1 year of valid, credentialed teaching experience.

  • Florida

    Educational Requirements: Applicants may qualify for a Florida certificate if they have a valid and standard out-of-state certificate or certificates from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. Applicants with non-standard out-of-state certificates must demonstrate Mastery of Professional Education Competence and Mastery of General Knowledge. Mastery of General Knowledge requires a passing score on the Florida General Knowledge Test, a valid out-of-state certificate, a certificate from NBPTS or ABCTE, two semesters of full-time college/university teaching experience OR comparable GRE scores. The General Knowledge requirement must be satisfied within one calendar year from the date of employment under a valid three-year Temporary Certificate. Mastery of Professional Preparation and Education Competence requires completion of a teacher preparation program from an out-of-state accredited or approved institution and achievement of a passing score on the Florida Professional Education Test, a valid teaching certificate, two semesters of full-time college/university teaching experience, NBPTS certification OR ABCTE certificate and completion of a Professional Education Competence program.

    Experiential Requirements: No specific experiential requirements are outlined on the website for the Florida Department of Education

    Exam(s) Required: Education test: The General Knowledge Test may be satisfied if applicant has two semesters of full-time college/university teaching experience, a valid standard out-of-state certificate or a certificate from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) or the American Board for Certification of Teacher Excellence (ABCTE). Applicants may also use comparable scores on the Graduate Record Examination (GRE), taken on or after July 1, 2015, to satisfy the General Knowledge requirement. Exam scores must have been earned no more than ten (10) years prior to the date of application. The General Knowledge requirement must be satisfied within one calendar year from the date of employment under a valid three-year Temporary Certificate.

  • Georgia

    Educational Requirements: Students are entered by the Educator Preparation Program (EPP) into the GaPSC system (TPMS); once the program is completed, the EPP marks the student as a program completer after the student completes student teaching, passes the Ethics Entry and Ethics Exit Exams; passes the GACE Exam for their endorsement area and attempts the edTPA; passing edTPA scores will be required before the candidate can apply for GA licensure. An exceptional children’s course is also required. Before a student can complete student teaching in the state of Georgia, the student must hold a Georgia Pre-Service Certificate and have Verification of Lawful Presence. The paperwork that needs to be completed for the Pre-Service Certificate and for Verification of Lawful Presence can be obtained from the Educator Preparation Program (EPP) and must be submitted to the GaPSC by the EPP.

    Experiential Requirements: Students may choose to complete student teaching outside of Georgia, and those students do not need a pre-service certificate. For licensure, they may obtain a teaching license from the state where they completed their university program. Then they must contact the GaPSC to apply for reciprocity of their out-of-state teaching license and obtain a provisional teaching license in Georgia. They must teach 3 years on the provisional license. By the end of the 3 years of teaching, they must pass the GACE for their endorsement area, pass the Ethics Exit Exam and pass the edTPA for their endorsement area. After completion of each of these requirements, they may apply for a full teaching license in Georgia.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must have passing scores on Georgia Assessments for the Certification of Educators (GACE) content exam, educator ethics program exit exam, and approved content pedagogy assessment. Applicants must also pass the edTPA for their endorsement area. Candidates may be exempt from the Basic Skills assessment if they achieved certain minimum scores on other state education assessment tests or college admission exams such as the SAT, ACT, or GRE.

  • Hawaii

    Educational Requirements: Out-of-state applicants must submit an Institutional Recommendation form certifying that the applicant completed a state-approved teacher education program. Applicants who completed a state-approved education program and were licensed for the first time in another state before 2006 must submit documentation of their state authorized teacher education program, licensure testing and/or transcripts, out-of-state license, and verification of full time teaching in Hawaii or another state for at least three of the last five years.

    Experiential Requirements: Student Teaching:   A minimum of 420 hours of student teaching

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must have passing scores for Hawaii Praxis Basic Skills and Content Knowledge tests. *Note – applicants do not need to take Praxis exams if they have completed a SATEP in another state. Our office will only need verification that they completed the program. Also, some Hawaii candidates may not need to take the exam because they can meet the basic requirements and content requirements in other ways.

  • Idaho

    Educational Requirements: Applicants must complete all Idaho requirements for the applicable certificate/endorsement.

    Additional Coursework Required:  Idaho Comprehensive Literacy Course and Mathematical Thinking for Instruction class for elementary or special education. The Mathematical Thinking for Instruction class is also required for secondary mathematics teachers.

    Experiential Requirements: Student Teaching: 6 semester credit hours are required

    Exam Required: Applicants must achieve passing scores on the Praxis II test required for their subject matter.

  • Montana

    Educational Requirements: Graduates from programs outside Missouri that apply for Missouri certification without a valid certificate in another state will be evaluated to determine eligibility for a provisional certificate. Candidates will need to submit an application, official transcripts, a fingerprint background check, and a university recommendation which verifies they have completed a teacher preparation program which included student teaching and that they qualify for the endorsements for which they are applying. If eligible, the applicant may be hired to teach by a Missouri school district and have two years in which to complete the identified deficiencies. Applicants must have completed an educator preparation program in the endorsement area at the Secondary level for Secondary Education Teacher Licensure.

    Experiential Requirements: Applicants must have completed student teaching as required by their home state and teacher preparation program. Must be posted on the official transcript.

    Exam Required: The applicant must provide proof of a minimum score on the PRAXIS II applicable to the requested endorsement.

  • Nebraska

    Educational Requirements: Nebraska also does not recognize certificates or endorsements from out-of-state alternative preparation programs. However, applicants are evaluated on an individual basis, and exceptions may be made following a review of the applicant’s program. Requirements vary by subject area. Requirements vary by subject matter.

    Students must complete an approved Human Relations Training course and a Special Education course before obtaining full licensure.

    Experiential Requirements: Clinical: Student teaching requirements vary by endorsement area.  

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must achieve passing scores on the Praxis 1(PPST) or CORE Basic Skills Test. Applicants must achieve the Nebraska passing score on Praxis II content test that matches their endorsement area.

  • Nevada

    Educational Requirements: Transcripts will be reviewed by a licensing analyst.

    Applicants must complete 3 semester hours of credit in parent involvement and family engagement within 1 year of obtaining a Nevada educator license:

    Licensure Transfer Requirements: Transfer Requirements - Nevada will recognize non-provisional, non-ARL teaching licenses from most U.S. states for reciprocity.

    U.S. Territories are accepted on a case-by-case basis and may require a detailed coursework evaluation in addition to the license.

    Experiential Requirements: Clinical: 8 semester hours are required

    Exam(s) Required: Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators Tests, the Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT), and Praxis II in the subject area

  • New Hampshire

    Educational Requirements: Applicants who graduated from a state-approved teacher preparation program need to submit official transcripts with this designation or an additional program verification letter from the institution or state Department of Education. Authorization: If an out of state institution permits student teaching in NH, it must be authorized by the Division of Higher Education - Higher Education Commission. Some endorsements may require a Master’s degree. Licensure Transfer Requirements: New Hampshire will accept reciprocity of approved teacher preparation programs or 3 years of the last 7 years’ experience teaching under a full valid out of state certificate. There may be additional requirements if the subject area does not align with available NH endorsement areas.

    Experiential Requirements: One semester or the equivalent of student teaching in the subject area and grade level.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must achieve passing scores on the Praxis Core and Praxis subject area exams (or comparable testing). Additionally, Elementary Education, Early Childhood Education, Reading & Writing Teacher, and Reading & Writing Specialist endorsements require the NH Foundations of Reading test (or comparable testing).

  • New Jersey

    Educational Requirements: Applicants must meet New Jersey certificate requirements. Applicants must hold a Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution. Applicants must have 15 credits in the subject area at the elementary and middle level and 30 credits in the subject area at the secondary level. Applicants must have a cumulative GPA of 2.75. Students graduating after September 1, 2016, will need to maintain a cumulative GPA of at least 3.00.

    All candidates for initial certification must also pass a Commissioner- approved test of basic skills, or score in the top one-third percentile on the SAT, ACT, or GRE for the year the test was taken. Students must provide evidence of completion of a satisfactory biology, health, or nutrition course, or complete a “Physiology and Hygiene” exam provided by the relevant county health department. The exam cannot be completed on a provisional certificate. Licensure Transfer Requirements: The out-of-state license must be the equivalent in subject matter and grade level of a New Jersey license. Licenses from CAEP institutions are deemed equivalent. If the applicant can document evidence of effective teaching in two of three years within the last four, he or she is eligible for a “Standard Certificate.” Otherwise, out-of-state students are treated the same as those seeking initial licensure.

    Experiential Requirements: Student Teaching: One-semester duration if student teaching starts prior to the academic year 2018-19; two semesters if it starts during or after the academic year 2018-19. Must be in the subject area.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must achieve passing scores on the PRAXIS II test in the subject area. All Certificate of Eligibility with Advanced Standing (CEAS) candidates complete a performance assessment for evaluation. All Certificate of Eligibility (CE) holders who begin teaching in the 2017-18 school year must complete the assessment but do not need to meet a specific cut score if the assessment is taken during this school year.

  • New Mexico

    Educational Requirements: Applicants must hold a Bachelor’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited institution.

    Licensure Transfer Requirements: Must have a Bachelor’s or Master’s degree from a CAEP and/or regionally accredited institution. Must have proof of standard license/certificate from another state. Must have taught for a minimum of one school year on the license from another state. Candidates must also pass the required New Mexico testing unless they have passed similar tests in a state in which there is a reciprocal agreement.

    Experiential Requirements: Clinical: 16 weeks of student teaching is required. Must be completed in appropriate grade level range: Elementary: K-8, Middle Level: 5-9, Secondary: 7-12; Applicants can complete student teaching requirements on a provisional certificate

    Exam(s) Required: All required testing is completed through the National Evaluation Series.

  • New York

    Educational Requirements: The preparation program must be “comparable” to a New York State teacher preparation program. If program not comparable, the applicant must have three years of teaching experience. Applicants must hold a Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution, and have a 2.5 cumulative GPA in a bachelor’s or higher degree. Most subjects require 30 hours of coursework in the subject area. A major is not required in the subject area at the elementary, middle, or secondary level.

    Workshops on: 1) child abuse identification and 2) school violence intervention and prevention 3) training in harassment, bullying, cyber bullying, and discrimination in schools: prevention and intervention (DASA Training) Provisional license may be issued for up to 5 years to allow time for additional requirements to be met.

    Experiential Requirements: Preclinical: New York requires 100 clock hours (15 of which must focus on children with disabilities) of pre-student teaching field experience Clinical: two 20-day student teaching experiences in the subject area and grade level.

    Exam(s) Required: New York State candidates for a first Initial teaching certificate in most certificate areas must achieve passing scores on the Educating All Students (EAS) test, the Academic Literacy Skills Test (ALST), edTPA, and the Content Specialty Test(s) (CST) in their area of certification.

    Licensure Transfer Requirements: Applicants who possess a comparable certificate from another state but did not complete a program comparable to New York requirements must have three years of satisfactory teaching experience, within the previous seven years, under an acceptable certificate. States with reciprocity with New York by subject:

  • North Carolina

    Educational Requirements: Applicants must have at least 2.7 GPA. EPPs shall meet the following content and pedagogy coursework and competencies requirements:

    A. Professional Education Program

    1. Identification and education of children with disabilities
    2. Positive management of student behavior
    3. Digital teaching and learning instructional technologies

    B. Elementary Education Program

    1. Teaching of reading, writing, and math
    2. Formative & summative assessment through technology-based assessment systems
    3. Integration of arts education across the curriculum.

    C. Elementary and Exceptional Children General Curriculum Program

    1. Early literacy intervention
    2. Reading:
      • Teaching reading
      • Diagnosing reading difficulties
      • Application of instructional supports/services and interventions to ensure reading proficiency

    D. Middle and High School Programs

    1. Relevant content area coursework
    2. Teaching the content area coursework
    3. Lab safety coursework for science teachers

    Licensure Transfer Requirements: North Carolina accepts the license from other states, however in some cases there may be additional requirements. Initial applications from an individual with an out-of-state teacher's license shall require the applicant to provide evidence of that teacher's effectiveness, when available, as measured by the evaluation system used in that applicant's state of current licensure at the time of application, including any growth measures included in that evaluation system. An individual who does not include evidence of that teacher's effectiveness with the initial application shall only be eligible for an Initial Professional License (IPL). North Carolina can only issue licenses where the licensure subject area exists in NC.

    Experiential Requirements: Clinical Internship: At least 16 weeks in the area in which the student is seeking licensure. Accepts the required student teaching levels from other states.  

    Exam(s) Required: Effective July 1, 2017 passing scores on student teaching performance assessment edTPA or PPAT begins phase in for traditional educator preparation programs (with NCSBE approved passing score requirements anticipated to begin in 2018), to replace passing scores on Praxis II 5624. edTPA or PPAT is required for NC approved educator preparation program completers on July 1, 2019. Testing Requirements: Applicants for admission to NC approved educator programs must achieve passing scores on the Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators (CORE) or the required scores, as determined by the State Board of Education, on the verbal and mathematics portions of the SAT or ACT, or the composite NC Professional Educators License applicants must achieve passing scores on Praxis II tests or Pearson tests

  • North Dakota

    Educational Requirements: If applicants do not have a valid state license, they are subject to a detailed transcript review and must meet all North Dakota standards and requirements regarding coursework and testing. Applicants with similar coursework may be given a provisional license and will have 2 years to complete coursework and testing requirements. Applicants must have a 2.50 overall grade point average on all undergraduate and coursework. Applicants must have a Bachelor’s degree in the subject area at the secondary level.

    Licensure Transfer Requirements: North Dakota does not have any limits or experience requirements for transfers with a full, valid license from another state. Transfers are not subject to a transcript review. North Dakota will accept applicants from an alternative preparation program if the applicant passes the current tests required for initial licensure.

    • Temporary licenses (based on a student’s level of coursework in certain endorsement areas) 

    Out-of-state applicants are strongly encouraged to obtain a license in their home state and transfer that license to North Dakota rather than applying for their initial license with the Education and Practices Board.

    Experiential Requirements: No specific experiential requirements are outlined on the website for the North Dakota Department of Education.

    Exam(s) Required: Scores on the Core Academic Skills Assessment and Praxis II tests

    Applicant may achieve passing scores on a provisional certificate. Initial applicants must also achieve passing scores on the Core Academic Skills Assessment and Praxis II tests https://www.nd.gov/espb/licensure/testing-information  Applicant may achieve passing scores on a provisional certificate.

  • Ohio

    Educational Requirements: Out-of-state applicants must submit a letter of eligibility from the head of teacher education program stating the type of license requested.

    License Transfer Requirements: Transfer applicants must submit an experience verification form and must achieve passing scores on all required tests 

    Experiential Requirements: Pre-clinical: 100 clock hours of pre-student teaching field experience Clinical: 12 weeks of student teaching

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must achieve a passing score on all required licensure exams, Assessment of Professional Knowledge and content exams. 

  • Oklahoma

    Educational Requirements: Oklahoma has a certification agreement with NASDTEC participants for educator preparation program requirements.

    Experiential Requirements: Preclinical: 45 clock hours of supervised developmental and sequential pre-student teaching experiences in the field. Clinical: 12 weeks of student teaching

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must achieve passing scores on the Oklahoma General Education Test (OGET), the Oklahoma Subject Area Tests (OSAT), and the Oklahoma Professional Teaching Exam (OPTE).

  • Oregon

    Educational Requirements: Applicants must have a Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution. A Bachelor’s degree in the subject area is not required at any level. Licensure Transfer Requirements: No limitations on transfer of full-time licenses. Oregon will accept all comparable certificates. Exam requirements may be waived. Applicants who completed any exams for the out-of-state teaching license should send test scores to be evaluated to determine if they are substantially similar to the test that Oregon requires. If similar, the exams required by Oregon may be waived; otherwise, TSPC will include an advice letter with the Reciprocal Teaching License explaining exactly what the applicant must complete in order to move to the next renewable teaching license.  Fingerprinting is required and must be submitted to complete clinical teaching or when applying for initial licensure.

    Experiential Requirements: Clinical: Applicants must have completed student teaching as required by their home state and teacher preparation program.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must achieve a passing subject matter test (ORELA or Praxis II in the content area), and a Civil Rights Exam.

    Applicants with full licensure in another state may complete the Civil Rights Exam and any other required exams on a one-year (12 month) Reciprocal License.

  • Illinois

    Educational Requirements: Applicants must submit proof of a Bachelor’s degree or higher, depending on the endorsement area, and for initial licensure of administrative licenses, a State-approved Verification Form completed by the institution in which they completed their certification program.

    Experiential Requirements: Student teaching required but duration not specified. One year of full-time teaching experience on a valid license fulfills student teaching requirement as an option.

    Exam(s) Required: To receive the Professional Educator License, applicants must achieve passing scores on a Test of Academic Proficiency (basic skills exam), an appropriate content area exam, and either the Assessment of Professional Teaching Test (pedagogy) or the edTPA. The APT or edTPA is required for applicants who complete student teaching prior to September 1, 2015. The edTPA is required for applicants who completed their student teaching on or after September 1, 2015. The APT or edTPA is a requirement for initial teaching licenses only.

    All comparable testing listed above may be accepted from out-of-state on initial licenses only. This can be verified from the state department (forms 80-03 & 80-03A) and/or university where the approved program that led to licensure was completed (form 80- 02). Once a Professional Educator License has been issued, subsequent endorsements that required a content test will be required to take a content test in Illinois. All testing is valid indefinitely.

  • Indiana

    Educational Requirements: Applicants must submit application materials including an Areas for Evaluation Form, in which they designate the area that best matches their educator preparation program. Indiana officials conduct an evaluation of the applicants' credentials to determine what types of reciprocal Indiana licenses they are eligible for and whether they have any deficiencies that must be resolved before receiving their Indiana license.

    Applicants must have education and training on the prevention of child suicide and the recognition of signs that a student may be considering suicide. Applicants for initial licensure of any type and applicants for all renewals must show proof of valid CPR/AED/Heimlich certification. Additional coursework may be necessary depending on Indiana transcript evaluation. These requirements must be completed before receiving a certificate.

    Experiential Requirements: No specific experiential requirements are outlined on the website for the Indiana Department of Education.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must achieve passing scores on the Indiana CORE content and pedagogy exams. Previous tests may be acceptable if they were the tests and scores Indiana accepted at the time the tests were taken. Indiana currently uses Pearson CORE tests. Pedagogy tests are taken by all applicants.

  • Iowa

    Educational Requirements: Applicants who graduated from out-of-state teacher education programs must ensure they meet Iowa course requirements. There are no major requirements in the grade or subject area. Applicants must also have a Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution.

    Additional coursework may be required after transcript review. May be completed on a provisional certificate

    Experiential Requirements: No specific experiential requirements are outlined on the website for the Iowa Department of Education.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must achieve a minimum passing scores on the Praxis I and II. Iowa also accepts edTPA assessments.

  • Kansas

    Educational Requirements: A graduate from an out-of-state university must first obtain initial licensure from the state in which he/she attended the university.

    Experiential Requirements: No specific experiential requirements are outlined on the website for the Kansas Department of Education.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must complete a content knowledge assessment in each of the endorsement and teaching subject areas in which they completed a teacher preparation program. Applicants also need to complete the teaching skills test, The Principles of Learning and Teaching.

  • Kentucky

    Educational Requirements: Liberty University’s State Approvals Office is working with the KY EPSB to gain approval of all licensure education programs. Until that approval is gained, no students desiring KY licensure and/or a placement in KY can be accepted into a licensure education program.  Each middle school, high school, Grades 5-12, and Grades P-12 Certification education preparation program shall require candidates admitted to the program on or after August 1, 2016, to demonstrate the six (6) International Reading Association Standards 2010: Middle and High School Content Classroom Teacher as published in the Standards for Reading Professionals.

    Experiential Requirements: Once KY EPSB approval is gained: Pre-Student Teaching - 200 clock hours required; Student Teaching - 70 full days of instruction in grade level and content areas of certification program.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must receive a minimum passing scores on the Praxis II Specialty Area and Principles of Learning and Testing exams for each area of certification. In addition, Kentucky requires satisfactory completion of the Kentucky Teacher Internship Program for professional certification.

  • Louisiana

    Educational Requirements: A graduate from an out-of-state university must first obtain initial licensure from the state in which he/she attended the university. Applicants must have a Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution. Applicants’ transcripts must provide evidence of student teaching or internship experience.

    Experiential Requirements: No specific experiential requirements are outlined on the website for the Louisiana Department of Education.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must obtain passing scores on the basic skills test, content areas in the Praxis II exam, and the Praxis II Principles in Learning and Teaching. Students who have not met the testing requirements may obtain an Out-of-State Certificate (OS Certificate) and begin teaching immediately. Students then have three years to complete the testing requirements. 

  • Maine

    Educational Requirements: Applicants must have a Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited university and meet the requirements under one of the pathways for the several subjects found in 05-071 CMR Ch. 115, Pt II.

    Experiential Requirements: Student Teaching: 1 academic semester; or 15 weeks of full-time teaching; or a combination of full and part-time teaching; or 1 year of successful teaching under a 1-year conditional certificate

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must obtain passing scores on the Basic Skills test, the Content Area test and the Principles of Learning and Teaching test in accordance with rules Ch. 13 (Me. Dept. of Ed. Reg. 13).

  • Maryland

    Educational Requirements: Applicants must complete a state-approved teacher education program. Additional Coursework Requirements:  Reading (12 semester hours for Early Childhood and Elementary; 6 semester hours for Secondary and Prek-12)

    Experiential Requirements: No specific experiential requirements are outlined on the website for the Maryland Department of Education.

    Exam Required: Applicants must achieve qualifying scores on PRAXIS CORE, ACT, SAT or GRE. Applicants must also pass the Praxis II or American Council on Teaching of Foreign Languages Exam where applicable. If an out of state-approved program graduate achieves a certificate in that state in which they were prepared, they may submit that state’s tests in lieu of the Maryland test requirements.

  • Massachusetts

    Educational Requirements: As of 7/1/14, core academic licenses require possession of a sheltered English Immersion Endorsement to qualify for an Initial license. Out-of-state candidates can obtain a Preliminary license by passing the appropriate MTEL tests and then advance to initial upon obtaining the SEI Endorsement. Transfer applicants are eligible for a Massachusetts license if they possess the equivalent of at least an initial license/certificate issued by a state with which Massachusetts has signed the NASDTEC Interstate Contract.

    Experiential Requirements: Clinical: 300 credit hours for most license levels. Equivalents include apprenticeships or the initial five-month period of services as a teacher or administrator of record under a license.

    Exam(s) Required: All applicants must complete appropriate Massachusetts Tests for Educator Licensure (MTEL). Tests from other states will not be accepted.

  • Michigan

    Educational Requirements: Out-of-state applicants must have their credentials evaluated by the Office of Professional Preparation Services (OPPS). OPPS reviews documentation submitted in the application process to verify program completion and approval by another state agency. Applicants must complete coursework in First Aid and CPR.

    Experiential Requirements: No specific experiential requirements are outlined on the website for the Michigan Department of Education.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must achieve passing scores on the Michigan Test for Teacher Certification (MTTC) exams, the Professional Readiness Examination, and applicable subject area test(s). Required tests will be identified during the evaluation process.

  • Minnesota

    Educational Requirements: Applicants must have a bachelor’s degree from a regionally-accredited institution. 

    Experiential Requirements: Applicants must show they have either field-specific teaching methods, student teaching, or equivalent experience, or 2 years of teaching as part of their teacher preparation program.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must achieve passing scores on the Minnesota Teacher Licensure Examinations in basic skills, pedagogy, and content- area tests, or may meet state testing requirements through other options outlined in the testing information document available below.

    The Licensing Division may permit the student to take some tests on a one-year provisional certificate. An applicant who completes approved programs leading to licensure in teacher preparation institutions within states which have signed contracts with Minnesota according to the interstate agreement on qualification of educational personnel may be granted a first Minnesota professional license.

  • Mississippi

    Educational Requirements: Out-of-state applicants must provide documentation that the program is approved for licensure in the home state. Licensure Transfer Requirements:  Applicants must submit passing scores on a core subject test required for certification by the issuing state and documentation that verifies the out-of-state license was obtained in a manner equivalent with current Mississippi guidelines for that license.

    Experiential Requirements: Applicants must have completed student teaching as required by their home state and teacher preparation program.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must achieve passing scores on the Praxis II Principles of Learning and Teaching Test (PLT) and Praxis II test in the subject area.

  • Missouri

    Educational Requirements: Graduates from non-Missouri programs must obtain an institutional recommendation verifying the completion of a state-approved program. The applicant would be subject to meeting Missouri’s coursework and testing requirements as determined by an evaluation of the application materials. Applicants must have a bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution. A degree in the subject area is required at the elementary, middle, and secondary level. Applicants must have a GPA of 2.75 on a 4.0 scale overall and in the major area of study, as well as a GPA of 3.0 or higher in all professional education and content area coursework.

    Graduates from programs outside Missouri that apply for Missouri certification without a valid certificate in another state will be evaluated to determine eligibility for a provisional certificate. If eligible, the applicant may be hired to teach by a Missouri school district and have two years in which to complete the identified deficiencies.

    Experiential Requirements: Preclinical: 2 credit hours; Clinical: 8 credit hours Student teaching must be in the subject area & grade level. May be completed on a provisional certificate. Note: The clinical requirement increased to 10 semester hours on 8/1/17.

    Exam Required: All applicants for an initial Missouri certificate of license to teach must successfully complete the designated Missouri Educator Gateway Assessment corresponding to the subject area for which certification is being sought. If no content knowledge or specialty area test has been designated for an area of certification, the applicant must take the Missouri Educator Gateway Professional Knowledge Assessment corresponding to the grade range of certification being sought.

    These requirements may be completed on a provisional certificate.

  • Pennsylvania

    Educational Requirements: The teacher preparation program must be comparable to those approved in Pennsylvania. If an evaluation reveals minor deficiencies, the Department will prescribe additional educational requirements. Applicants must have a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution. Degrees in the subject area are not required at the elementary, middle, or secondary level. Applicants must have a 3.0 cumulative GPA out of a 4.0 scale for the degree or non-degree preparation program coursework. Exceptions may apply. See “Out of State Applicant Guidance.”

    Licensure Transfer Requirements: Transfer applicants must have the equivalent of a NASDTEC Stage 3 license (full license that has met all jurisdiction-specific requirements). License transfer is dependent on equivalence based on grade, content, and license type. Active/valid out-of-state instructional certificate holders with 2 years or more of successful classroom experience do not go through program verification. A copy of the applicant’s certificate and verification of the two years of experience will be required. Additionally, applicants who have taught 2 years are required to submit passing scores only for the content area exam.Applicants that completed a program outside of Pennsylvania are encouraged to submit a college recommendation, copies of any out-of-state comparable certificates and/or verification of successful teaching experience along with official transcripts in college-sealed envelopes to facilitate evaluation.

    Experiential Requirements: 12-week full-time student teaching in the subject area and at the grade level or one year of teaching on a fully issued, comparable, out-of-state certificate.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must achieve passing scores on the Basic Skills Test or equivalent (PAPA, CORE Academic, PPST, SAT or ACT) unless the preparation program was an instructional post-baccalaureate program. A passing score must also be achieved on the content area test for the certification requested. Applicants must have passing test scores at the time they submit their application for certification.

  • Rhode Island

    Educational Requirements: No transcript review required unless the preparation program was completed over 5 years ago. Rhode Island will try to match the preparation program. At the middle level, a Bachelor's degree or 21 credits is required in the subject area. At the secondary level, a Bachelor's degree or the equivalent is required in the subject area or closely related field.

    Licensure Transfer Requirements: Rhode Island will consider licenses from all states regardless of whether the state has signed the NASDTEC agreement.

    Educators certified in other states seeking certification in Rhode Island must present a valid “NASDTEC Level 3” license from their state to attain reciprocity. ***All online institutions requesting student teacher placements in RI must be approved prior to student placement. The application must come from the office as it is not on their website. Students are advised to carefully review the certificates Rhode Island offers to ensure their preparation program matches with respect to grade level and subject material. Rhode Island does not enforce the regional accreditation requirement when transferring a full license.

    Experiential Requirements: Clinical: Applicants must have completed student teaching as required by their home state and teacher preparation program.

    Exam(s) Required: Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) and the Praxis II tests in the content area.

  • South Carolina

    Educational Requirements: Applicants are not subject to transcript review. Applicants must provide an institutional recommendation form stating the content area the graduate is qualified to teach. Applicants must have a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution. Licensure Transfer Requirements: Transfer applicants must have a valid standard certificate in a subject considered comparable to subjects issued in South Carolina. Applicants will be subject to review of exams and may be required to take the required in-state exams. There are two levels of certification (Standard Certificate and Professional Certificate); applicants who have taught 3 of the last 7 years on a Standard Certificate are eligible for a Professional Certificate.

    Experiential Requirements: Clinical: Applicants must have completed student teaching as required by their home state and teacher preparation program. In order to student teach in South Carolina, a South Carolina application is required (prior to June 15 for the following spring placement and prior to February 15 prior to the following fall placement). The application process includes a background check and a non-refundable $105 processing fee, and a copy of a Social Security Card is required. Please email gate3@liberty.edu for information about this application process, and specific details will be emailed to you.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must achieve passing scores on the Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) test and Praxis II test in the subject area.

  • South Dakota

    Educational Requirements: Applicants must submit a signed preparation program verification form. A cumulative GPA of 2.5 in the preparation program is required. Applicants must have six transcripted credits within the last 5 years. A degree in the subject area is required at the secondary level only. Two additional courses: 1) An approved 3-semester-hour South Dakota Indian Studies course. 2) A 1-semester-hour course in suicide awareness and prevention training. Certification can be issued prior to completion of these courses.  South Dakota will accept any course that has “human relations” or “multicultural” in the course title. The Indian Studies course must be approved by the South Dakota Department of Education. Applicants who have completed an alternative preparation program are reviewed on a case-by-case basis. If deficiencies are identified, the agency may require that the applicant complete an in-state alternative preparation program. Licensure Transfer Requirements: Applicants must meet all requirements for an initial license, including testing requirements. The PLT test can be waived if the individual has been employed as a teacher in another state and can submit a program completion verification form even if they have several years of experience.  

    Experiential Requirements: Clinical: Applicants must have completed student teaching as required by their home state and teacher preparation program.

    Exam Required: Applicants must obtain passing scores on the Praxis II test in the subject area Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT).

  • Tennessee

    Educational Requirements: All applicants must have a Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution.

    Applicants from other states who apply with a license comparable to the TN Professional License will have three years to take and pass required assessments.

    Licensure Transfer Requirements: There are no limitations to transfer licenses. Tennessee has an interstate agreement with all 50 states.

    Experiential Requirements: Applicants must have completed student teaching as required by their home state and teacher preparation program. Student teaching must be in the subject area and at the grade level that corresponds with the teaching endorsement area.

    Exam(s) Required: Tennessee requires assessment of content, pedagogical and professional knowledge. The requirements for when Praxis exams must be passed are related to the type of preparation program and the applicant’s qualifications. The applicant must: 1) Have passing scores on content-related Praxis exams and be eligible for an initial license in the state where preparation was completed, or 2) Hold a professional level (clear, renewable) license.  In this case, the applicant will not be required to submit qualifying scores at the point of application but will be required to submit those scores before the Practitioner license expires (within 3 years).

  • Texas

    Educational Requirements: Reading instruction, including instruction that improves students’ content-area literacy; code of ethics and standard practices for Texas educators; instruction in detection and education of students with dyslexia; instruction regarding mental health, substance abuse, and youth suicide. The program curriculum must align with the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS). All applicants undergo a detailed transcript review to equate the completed preparation program field to a subject area and level. The agency determines in what subject areas an applicant is qualified. A Bachelor’s degree in the subject area is required at the elementary, middle, and secondary level.

    Experiential Requirements: Preclinical: 30 clock-hours of field-based experience and at least 80 hours of coursework. Clinical: Minimum of 14 weeks full day or 28 weeks half day (approximately 480 hours) in the subject area and in the grade area. Texas will verify that the applicant has completed both the preclinical and clinical components. Texas requires candidates to experience a full range of professional responsibilities including the start of the school year, which has been defined as the first 15 days of school.

    Exam Required: Applicants must achieve passing scores on pedagogy and subject area tests - the Texas Examinations of Educator Standards (TExES). Transfer applicants may substitute test scores on tests "similar to and at least as rigorous as" the corresponding Texas certification exams.

    Transfer applicants may teach for one year on a nonrenewable provisional license while completing the testing requirements.

  • Utah

    Educational Requirements: All coursework must be completed at a regionally-accredited institution. The agency does not require that applicants have a major in the subject area at the elementary, middle, or secondary level. The State Board of Education conducts a detailed transcript review to ensure applicants have completed all of Utah’s curriculum/credit requirements for the subject area.

    Licensure Transfer Requirements: The agency will always review the applicant’s transcript and license but it accepts transfers from out of state in almost all subject areas. However, if a license doesn’t align with Utah’s subject areas, the agency may reject the transfer. Applicants who completed an alternative education program must include official documentation of program completion and an official program description including class descriptions. During the transcript review, the agency looks for the same content and courses required of Utah-approved programs. There doesn’t need to be 100% in alignment with the curriculum, but it should be substantially similar. The agency no longer requires that applicants have a major in the subject area at the secondary level.

    Experiential Requirements: Clinical: 10-week minimum student teaching experience

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must obtain passing scores on the Praxis II Test in the subject area. The Praxis II - Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) Test is required to receive a Level II License.

  • Vermont

    Educational Requirements: Preparation programs are only required to meet their home states’ student teaching requirements.

    Applicants must have completed student teaching as required by their home state and teacher preparation program. License Transfer Requirements: Vermont accepts transfers to comparable subject areas for classroom teachers and administrators from other states who meet the Degree requirements and whose state has signed the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement.

    Experiential Requirements: Preparation programs are only required to meet their home states’ student teaching requirements.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must achieve passing scores on the Praxis Core and Praxis II Subject Area Exams.

    Applicants cannot apply without having achieved passing scores on all required tests. A candidate who is currently licensed in a state participating in the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement is exempted from all testing.

  • Virginia

    Educational Requirements: All Liberty University education programs (undergraduate residential and MAT licensure programs) lead to VA licensure; the undergraduate online programs are pre-licensure and require continuation into the MAT program to meet licensure requirements. Applicants complete the following:

    1. A child abuse recognition and intervention training prior to teaching.
    2. Completion of certification or training in emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and the use of automated external defibrillators; this training must be hands-on and cannot be online.
    3. Every teacher seeking initial licensure with an endorsement in the area of career and technical education shall have an industry certification credential in the area in which the teacher seeks endorsement CTE Industry Certification guidance.
    4. (Effective July 1, 2017) Every person seeking initial licensure or renewal of a license shall complete awareness training, provided by the Department of Education, on the indicators of dyslexia, as that term is defined by the Board pursuant to regulations, and the evidence-based interventions and accommodations for dyslexia.

    Experiential Requirements: Student Teaching: 300 clock hours (including pre- and post- clinical experiences); Clinical: 150 clock hours providing direct instruction at the grade level and in the subject matter.

    Exam(s) Required: Refer to Assessment Requirements for VA Licensure  for details.

  • Washington

    Educational Requirements: Washington requires that the applicant holds a Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited institution and has completed a state-approved teacher preparation program. Licensure Transfer Requirements: Most license transfer applicants are eligible for a first tier (“Residency”) license. Transfer applicants seeking a second tier (“Professional”) license must have achieved another state’s equivalent second-tier certificate (i.e. Wisconsin’s Master Educator License or Ohio’s five-year Professional Teaching License) or be certified by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

    Washington’s reciprocity agreement requires proof the applicant has completed a state-approved teacher preparation program or has completed three years of out-of-state P-12 teaching experience while holding another state’s regular teaching certificate, plus a Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited institution. Program personnel must also be able to complete a program verification form if verifying program completion; a past employer must be able to complete an experience verification form if verifying three or more years of P-12 experience.

    Experiential Experience: Applicants must fulfill all requirements of the state-approved teacher preparation program related to student teaching; there are no specific state-level requirements.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must achieve passing scores on the Washington Educator Skills Test (WEST) basic skills test (WEST-B) and content area test (WEST-E or NES). Educators may also submit acceptable alternative test scores.

    The testing requirements must be successfully completed within one calendar year of issuance of the first Residency teacher temporary permit for first-time, out-of-state candidates.  Applicants must also have passing scores on the edTPA.

  • West Virginia

    Educational Requirements: Applicants must show completion of a state-approved preparation program that meets equivalent standards. Applicants are subject to a transcript review.

    (See Policy 5100 for hour requirements. See Appendix A of Policy 5202 for a list of all subject areas). Licensure Transfer Requirements: Applicant’s GPA for all coursework required for licensure must be 2.5 or higher; 3.0 or higher if the applicant holds a master's degree. Transfer applicants who are already licensed in that state that have at least 3 years of experience in a public school within the last 7 years in the subject area that licensure is being sought do not have to demonstrate completion of a program that has West Virginia -equivalent standards. Transfer applicants must have graduated from a regionally accredited teacher preparation program with evidence of a student teaching experience or documentation from the state’s licensing agency of completion of an in lieu of a student teaching experience/requirement.

    Experiential Requirements: Clinical: Verification of a successful student teaching experience or equivalent in the state in which the approved program was completed (student teaching taking place in WV will need to meet the requirements of the home state program). Clinical experiences completed in a virtual/online environment may not constitute more than 50% of the minimum required experience.

    Exam(s) Required: Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators (CASE), the Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) Test—teacher candidates prepared at a WV institution are not required to take the PLT if the Educator Preparation Provider requires passing scores on a nationally-normed Teacher Performance Assessment (Effective July 11, 2016, See Policy 5100) and the Praxis II Test in the Subject Area(s). More information: https://www.ets.org/praxis/wv If the applicant is transferring a valid out-of-state license test results do not have to be submitted. If applying based on College/University recommendation all WV tests are required. If an applicant who has completed an out-of-state preparation program does not have passing scores on WV required tests but has taken the licensure tests of the preparing state, he/she may be eligible for a temporary, one-year, non-renewable certificate.

  • Wisconsin

    Educational Requirements: 

    Teacher preparation programs must have a comparable degree and teaching major/minor requirements and be equivalent in content and scope to approved programs offered by Wisconsin institutions. Applicants must have a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university.

    Licensure Transfer Requirements: License transfer applicants should apply for the Wisconsin license that most closely matches their out-of-state license. Wisconsin officials will review the license to determine compatibility with Wisconsin preparation, testing, and statutory requirements. If applicants do not meet all requirements, a license with stipulations will be issued. Applicants must remove all stipulations and complete a Professional Development Plan before the expiration of the license.

    Beginning with the July 1, 2013 licensure cycle, DPI will only issue an educator license to applicants who have met all Wisconsin's testing requirements. Applicants who are otherwise eligible for a Wisconsin license based on their credentials may be issued a license with stipulations.

    Experiential Requirements: Clinical: Applicants must have completed student teaching as required by their home state and teacher preparation program.

    Exam(s) Required: Applicants must achieve passing scores on the Praxis CORE in reading, writing, and math; or provide evidence of passing a college entrance exam ACT, SAT, or GRE; or provide evidence of completing a basic skills test.

  • Wyoming

    Educational Requirements: Applicants must complete a program that is “substantially equivalent to Wyoming’s requirements for teacher preparation and training.” Applicants must also submit an Institutional Recommendation form completed by a representative of their educator preparation program which verifies applicants have met all of the requirements for completion of the program, that they are eligible for licensure in the state where the program is located, and that they are recommended for endorsement in the area that corresponds with the educator preparation program. Applicants must have a Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution. Applicants are not required to have a degree in the subject area at the elementary, middle, or secondary level.

    Knowledge of the 1) United States Constitution, which can be demonstrated through completion of courses that cover U.S. history prior to 1865 and include the study of the Constitution, and 2) Wyoming Constitutions. This requirement can also be met by passing PTSB U.S. and/or Wyoming Constitution exams. Licensure Transfer Requirements: There are no limits on license transfers from other states as long as Wyoming recognizes the subject area the applicant is seeking licensure. However, even if the applicant has several years of teaching experience, Wyoming may require that the applicant has completed a state-approved teacher preparation program at a regionally accredited institution and is substantially equivalent to Wyoming’s requirements. Out-of-state applicants with “alternative licensure or certification” may transfer their licenses to Wyoming only if they have taught full-time 3 out of the last 6 years on a full (non-provisional) license in the state where they obtained certification. All three years of teaching must be in the subject area and grade level. Applicants should ensure that their preparation program is state-approved and leads to a full credential in the institution’s home state. Applicants should also verify that an official representative of the preparation program can complete the Institutional Recommendation Form.

    Experiential Requirements: Clinical: 8 consecutive weeks of full- time student teaching in the content area and at the grade level that corresponds with the endorsement being sought.

    Exams Required: Wyoming requires submission of passing Praxis scores in the areas of Elementary Education and Social Studies Comprehensive, only.

chat live 2 Chat Live
Asset 1 Request Info
Asset 1 Apply Now
visit Visit Liberty