Productions and Awards

Theatre Arts Kindertransport Production - 2014

    The Secret Garden (Alluvion), Spring 2015

Past Productions

Liberty University has a history of over 25 years of theatrical productions, ranging from Greek tragedies to musical comedies, from classics to new plays. Thousands of students have performed on our stage, with many pursuing professional acting careers. The Liberty University stage produces six main shows a season, as well as student produced work, cabarets, and operas. Past shows include:

2015-2016:Sister Act, The Velveteen Rabbit, Twelfth Night, Meet Me in St. Louis, Brigadoon, Steel Magnolias, Beauty and the Beast,
Henry V

2014-2015: The Little Mermaid, A Man For All Seasons, Charley's Aunt, You Can't Take It With You, Peter & the Starcatcher, South Pacific, Everyman, The Secret Garden, King Lear
2013-2014: Les Miserables, The Man Who Came To Dinner, Sanders Family Christmas, The Taming of the Shrew, Kindertransport, Little Women, The Rivals, Mary Poppins, As You Like It
2012-2013: Into the Woods, The Glass Menagerie, She Loves Me, Carousel, All My Sons, Tarzan, Hamlet
2011-2012: Oklahoma, Little Shop of Horrors, Romeo & Juliet, Ragtime, The 39 Steps, Peter Pan
2010-2011: Hairspray, The Last Night of Ballyhoo, A Christmas Carol, The Civil War, Enchanted April, The Phantom of the Opera.
2009-2010: Annie Get Your Gun, Raisin in the Sun, Jane Eyre, Big River, The Inspector Calls, The Scarlet Pimpernel
2008-2009: Fiddler on the Roof, Dancing at Lughnasa, My Fair Lady, The Crucible, A Doll’s House, The Music Man
2007-2008: Crazy for You, The Rainmaker, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Much Ado About Nothing, Shadowlands, West Side Story
2006-2007: Ribs for Dinner, Parade, The Importance of Being Earnest, Little Women, Love’s Labour’s Lost, Once Upon a Silence, Thoroughly Modern Millie

Irene Ryan Awards

Liberty Theatre has competed in the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival for the past eight years. Through participation with the KCACTF, several of students have been nominated for the Irene Ryan, a national acting award for excellence in the craft and art of acting and design. Past nominees include:

2016: Tatiana Harman as Meg Brockie, Sarah Jirgal as Jean MacLaren, Ashton Kamphuis for Stage Management — all in Brigadoon, Kimberly Camacho as M'Lynn Eatenton, Amanda Ward as Clairee Belcher — both for Steel Magnolias.  

2015: Lindsey Register as Nellie Forbush, Monica Oquendo-Alvarez as Bloody Mary, Ashton Kamphuis for Stage Management — all in South Pacific; Heather Reed as Death, McKenzie Connel as Minion Leader, Cassandra McCall for Stage Management, Film Editor: Dylan Giovanetto for Terminological Design — all in Everyman, Matthew Brandon as Mavolio — in Twelfth Night, Makenzie Pusey as Esther Smith, Amanda Ward as Rose Smith, Catheryn Hooper for Props Master, Brooke Spencer for Stage Management — all in Meet Me In St. Louis.

2014: Makenzie Mercer as Jo March, Jonathan Hogue as Laurie, Alexandra Moss for Wardrobe Management, Jacob Filegar for Stage Management — all in Little Women; John Thomas Filegar as Jack Absolute, Whitney Tatum as Mrs. Malaprop — both in The Rivals; Whitney Tatum as Lady Alice More — for A Man For All Seasons; Ryan Scanlon as Lord Fancourt Babberley, Audrey Moore as Donna Lucia d'Alvadorez, Running Crew for Best Tech Ensemble — all in Charley's Aunt

2013: Rachel Lind as Nettie, Rachel Osterhus as Carrie, Jacob Wallin for Stage Management — all in Carousel; Whitney Tatum as Kate, Ruth Hitchcock as Ann, Kaylin Mercer for Stage Management — all in All My Sons; Whitney Tatum as Maggie, Gordon as Whiteside, Jacob Wallin for Stage Management — all in The Man Who Came To Dinner; Audrey Moore as Vera, Timmy Williamson as Burl, Will Smith for Scenic Design — all in Sanders Family Christmas

2012: Carson Burkett as Tateh, Taamu Wuya as Coalhouse Walker Jr., Zach Battiste as Stage Management — all in Ragtime; Gordon Lewanowicz as Man 1, Kyle Rodgers as Richard Hannay — both in The 39 Steps; Carson Burkett as The Baker, Kelli Overmyer as The Bakers Wife, Zach Battiste for Stage Management — all in Into the Woods; Tim Ross as Tom Wingfield, Katie Bryant as Amanda  Wingfield — both in The Glass Menagerie; Natalie Cleek as Amalia Balash, Colton Montgomery as Arpad, Jacob Filegar for Props Management, Will Smith for Asst. Scenic Artist— all in She Loves Me

2011: Davis Mercer as Ensemble, Taamu Wuya as Ensemble, Jacob Filegar for Stage Management — all in The Civil War; Hannah Blough as Rose, Ruth Hitchcock as Lottie, Michael Wrape for Set Design — all in Enchanted April; Caleb Hughes as Raoul, Rachel Day as Christine Daae, Kaitlin Patterson for Stage Management, Blake Cooper for Sound Design — all in The Phantom of the Opera; Jeff Sundheim as Will Parker, Will Viriato as Ali Hakim, TC Williams for Stage Management — all in OKLAHOMA!; Sarah Seaman as Audrey, James Bock as Mr. Mushnik — both in Little Shop of Horrors; Ruth Hitchcock as Juliet, Jamie Cloutier as Nurse — both in Romeo and Juliet

2010: Sarah Seaman as Tracy Turnblad, Brittany Adkins as Edna Turnblad, Brendan Jones for Stage Management, Tyler Williams for Wardrobe, Blake Cooper for Sound Design — all in Hairspray; Thomas Scott as Joe Farkas, Ruth Hitckcock as Sunny Freitag — both in The Last Night of Ballyhoo; Hannah Blough as Mrs. Cratchit, Kyle Rodgers as Bob Cratchit — both in A Christmas Carol

2009: Kathryn Williams as Jane Eyre, Rebekah Anwyll as Mrs. Fairfax, Kyle Rodgers as Edward Rochester, Jodi Orndorff for Stage Management, Blake Cooper for Sound Engineering, Brittany Adkins for Hair and Makeup Design — all in Jane Eyre

2008: Andy Geffken as Riff, Tim Osgood as Action, Kayla Powell as Anita, David Brady for Stage Management — all in West Side Story; Josh DeVries as Henry Higgins, Kayla Powell as Eliza Doolittle, Tyler Turner as Colonel Pickering, Blake Cooper for Sound, David Brady for Stage Management — all for My Fair Lady

2007: Andy Geffken as Trevor Graydon, Katrina Hatcher as Mrs. Meers, Brad Southards as Jimmy Smith, Sarah Hooks for Stage Management, Robert Sanderson for Stage Management — all in Thoroughly Modern Millie

2006: Aaron Bennett as The Baker, Justin Oliver as Jack, Erica Smith as Little Red, Kelly Langdon for Sound Engineering, Chad Kennedy for Stage Management — all in Into the Woods; Aaron Bennett as Professor Bhaer, Justin Oliver as Laurie Lawrence, Ashley Wasson as Amy March — all in Little Women

Additional Awards

  • In 2004, Liberty Theatre was asked to showcase Monte Cristo at the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival.
  • Linda Nell Cooper has received multiple Awards of Merit for Excellence in Directing for Secret Garden (2004), AIDA (2005), Into the Woods (2006), Thoroughly Modern Millie (2007), West Side Story (2008), and Jane Eyre (2009).
  • Chris Nelson has received multiple Awards of Merit for Excellence in Directing for Little Shop of Horrors (2011), Ragtime (2012), and Everyman (2015).
  • Andy Geffken received an Award of Merit for Excellence in Directing for Brigadoon (2016).
  • Scott Hayes received an Award of Merit for Excellence in Directing for Steal Magnolias (2016).
  • Lynne Forth received an Award of Merit for Costume Design in The Rivals (2014).
  • Design Team: Will Smith, Greg Vinson, Nicole Campbell and Kathy Jordan received an Award of Merit for Design in Everyman (2015).

Contact Us

Amanda Poch
Linda Nell Cooper
(434) 582-7078