You are here: Home > Academics > School of Music

School of Music Faculty & Staff

Dean

Dr. Vernon M. Whaley, BA, MCM, MA, DMin, Ph.D 
Dean, School of Music
Professor of Music and Worship
(434) 582-2562
vwhaley@liberty.edu

Associate Deans

Dr. John D. Kinchen. III, BM, MM, Ph.D
Associate Dean, Center for Music and the Performing Arts
Professor of Music and Worship
(434) 592-3875
jkinchen@liberty.edu
Dr. W. Douglas Crawley, BM, MCM, DMA
Associate Dean, Center for Music and Worship
Coordinator of Graduate Worship Studies
Associate Professor of Worship
(434) 592-7409
dcrawley3@liberty.edu

Faculty

Dr. Sean Beavers, BM, MM, DM
Chair, Department of Applied Music Studies
Associate Professor of Music,
Guitar
(434) 582-2289
sbeavers@liberty.edu

Dr. Michael Brennan, BM, MM, DM
Associate Professor of Music,
Guitar
(434) 592-4920
mbrennan@liberty.edu

Mrs. Patricia Campbell, BA, MM, DMA(abd)
Associate Professor of Music,
Voice
(434) 582-2561
pcampbell@liberty.edu

Dr. Kevin Chiarizzio, BM, MM, DMA
Associate Professor of Music Education,
Brass
(434) 582-2512
kchiarizzio@liberty.edu


Mr. Keith Cooper, BM, MA
Assistant Professor of Music,
Guitar
(434) 582-2560
kcooper21@liberty.edu
 

Dr. Mindy Damon, BM, MM, Ed.S, Ed.D
Associate Professor of Commercial Music,
Voice
(434) 582-7317
bmparrish@liberty.edu

Dr. Ruth Foley, BA, B.Ed, MA, MM, DMA
Associate Professor of Music,
Voice
(434) 582-2216
rifoley@liberty.edu

Mrs. Linda Granger, BA, MM
Associate Professor of Music,
Voice
(434) 582-2217
lzgranger@liberty.edu

Dr. Mark Greenawalt, BM, MM, DMA
Assistant Professor of Music,
Voice
(434) 592-3867 
mgreenawalt@liberty.edu

Mr. David Hahn, BM, MM
Assistant Professor of Music and Worship,
Voice
(434) 592-5704
dmhahn@liberty.edu

Dr. Tad Hardin, BM, MM, DM
Coordinator of Piano Studies
Assistant Professor of Piano
(434) 592-6566
pthardin@liberty.edu

Dr. John W. Hugo, BM, MM, MM, DMA
Chair, Department of Music
Professor of Music,
Voice and Conducting
(434) 582-2359
jwhugo@liberty.edu

Dr. Rick Jupin, BM, MM, DMA
Assistant Professor of Music and Worship,
Voice
(434) 582-2208
rmjupin@liberty.edu


Dr. Stephen P. Kerr, BS, MA, Ph.D
Chair, Department of University Bands
Professor of Music
(434) 582-2363
spkerr@liberty.edu

Dr. Taeseong Kim, BM, MM, DMA
Associate Professor of Music,
Piano
(434) 592-4603
tkim@liberty.edu

Dr. Woori Kim, MM, Artist Diploma, DMA
Assistant Professor of Music,
Piano
(434) 592-7728
wkim1@liberty.edu

Dr. Wayne Kompelien, BME, MM, DMA
Professor of Music,
Voice
Director of Opera Workshop
(434) 582-2364
wbkompel@liberty.edu

Mr. Don Marsh, BM, MS
Associate Professor of Music and Worship,
Songwriting
(434) 592-5706
dmarsh@liberty.edu


Dr. Gabriel Miller, MCM, MA, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Music,
Theory
(434) 592-6567
jgmiller1@liberty.edu
 

Dr. Samantha Miller, MM, DMA
Assistant Professor of Music,
Voice
(434) 592-4899
srmiller1@liberty.edu

Dr. Katherine Morehouse, BA, MA, Ph.D
Chair, Department of Multi-Ethnic Music Studies
Associate Professor of Ethnomusicology
(434) 592-5931
khmorehouse@liberty.edu

Dr. Stephen Muller, BM, MM, D.Min
Assistant Professor of Music Education
(434) 582-2377
swmuller@liberty.edu

Dr. Leon Neto, BCM, BMEd, MM, DMA(abd)
Assistant Professor of Music,
Guitar and Voice
(434) 592-4683
lneto@liberty.edu

Mr. Edwin Parker, BM, MM
Assistant Professor of Jazz Studies
(434) 592-6565
weparker@liberty.edu

Mr. Paul Randlett, BS, MA
Acting Chair, Department of Music and Worship Studies
Assistant Professor of Music and Worship
(434) 582-2271
phrandlett@liberty.edu

Dr. Paul Rumrill, BA, MM, DMA
Chair, Department of Music Education
Associate Professor of Music Education
(434) 582-2218
prumrill@liberty.edu

Dr. David Schmal, BS, BA, MA, MA, DMA
Associate Professor of Commercial Music
(434) 582-2219
dkschmal@liberty.edu

Mr. Dwight Spencer, BM, MM
Assistant Professor of Music,
Guitar
(434) 592-5930
ddspencer@liberty.edu

Dr. Kevin Super, BM, MM, DMA
Professor of Music,
Percussion
(434) 582-2593
ksuper@liberty.edu

Dr. Daniel Suttles, BRE, BM, MM, DMA
Associate Professor of Music,
Piano and Conducting
(434) 582-2307
dsuttles@liberty.edu

Mrs. Adelaide B Trombetta, BM, MM, AD
Assistant Professor of Music,
Voice
Director of Opera Workshop
(434) 582-2365
amuir@liberty.edu

Dr. Luca Trombetta, MD, MM, DMA
Assistant Professor of Music, 
Viola & Violin 
(434) 582-2795
dltrombetta@liberty.edu

Ms. Kathryn Voelker, BA, MA, DA(abd)
Assistant Professor of Music Education,
Piano
(434) 582-2511
klvoelker@liberty.edu

Dr. Samuel Wellman, BA, MM, DM
Professor of Music,
Piano and Composition
(434) 582-2097
swellman@liberty.edu


Residential and Online Adjunct Faulty

Dr. John Benham, BM, MA, Ed.D
Professor of Worship and Ethnomusicology
(434) 582-2219
jbenham@liberty.edu

Mr. Charles Billingsly, BA
Artist in Residence
Instructor of Worship Studies

 

Mr. Scott Bullman, BS
Instructor of Worship Studies
sbullman@liberty.edu

Mr. David Feldman, BA, MM
Associate Professor of Cello and Bass
dfeldman@liberty.edu

 

Dr. L. Lavon Gray, BS, MCM, Ph.D
Assistant Professor of Worship Studies
llgray2@liberty.edu

Mr. Mike Harland, BA, MM
Assistant Professor of Worship Studies
mharland@liberty.edu

 

Dr. Cassandra Hibbard, BM, MM, DMA
Assistant Professor of Music,
Clarinet
(434) 592-7730
chibbard@liberty.edu
 


Dr. Paul Hill
Adjunct Professor of Graduate Conducting
 

Mrs. Alycia Hugo, BM, MM
Assistant Professor of Music,
Flute
ahugo@liberty.edu

Mrs. Anastasia Jellison, BM, MM
Instructor of Harp

 

Mrs. Reka Jobbagy, BM, MA
Instructor of Violin
rjobbagy@liberty.edu

Mr. Robert Johns, BS, MA
Instructor of Percussion
rjohns@liberty.edu

 

Mr. Vince Lewis, BA, MA
Assistant Professor of Guitar
vlewis@liberty.edu

Mr. Stephen Lonetti, BA, M.Div
Instructor of Worship Studies
smlonetti@liberty.edu

 

Dr. George McDow, BME, MME, Ph.D
LUO Assistant Professor of Ethnomusicology
ghmcdow@liberty.edu

Dr. Jeff Meyer, BM, MA, Ph.D
LUO Assistant Professor of Ethnomusicology
jtmeyer@liberty.edu

 

Mr. Drew Phillips, BM, MA
Assistant Professor of Music,
Horn
atphillips2@liberty.edu


Dr. Doug Randlett, BA, BM, MA, D.Min
Associate Dean of Ministry Training,
School of Religion - Worship Leadership
dhrandlett@liberty.edu
 

Dr. Tim Sharp
Adjunct Professor of Graduate Conducting

Ms. Kazuyo Shimizu, BM, MM
Instructor of Piano
kshimizu@liberty.edu

 

Dr. James Siddons, BM, MM, Ph.D; M.Div, Th.M
Professor of Music
(434) 592-4899 
jdsiddons@liberty.edu

Mr. Chris Salerno, BMEd, MA
Assistant Professor of Music,Theory
(434) 582-2219 
csalerno3@liberty.edu

 

Mr. Larry Seipp, BM, MM
Assistant Professor of Music,
Trumpet
lmseipp@liberty.edu

Dr. John Baker Thomas, BM, MM, Ed.D 
Assistant Professor of Worship Studies 
jbthomas2@liberty.edu

 

Dr. Ron Upton, BBA, MRE, D.Min
LUO Assistant Professor of Worship Studies 
rdupton@liberty.edu

Dr. Rodney Whaley, BA, MA, M.Div, D.Min
LUO Assistant Professor of Worship Studies 
rdwhaley@liberty.ed

 

 

 


School of Music Staff

Executive Staff

Mrs. Kim Witt
Administrative Coordinator
School of Music

(434) 582-2562
kbwitt@liberty.edu

 
Ms. Caroline Perricaudet
Administrative Assistant
Center for Music and the Performing Arts

(434) 592-6563
cvperricaudet@liberty.edu
 
Mrs. Stephanie Pritchard
Administrative Assistant
Center for Music and Worship

(434) 592-6564
skpritchard1@liberty.edu
 

Directors and Coordinators

Mr. Jared Bennett
Director of Communication
School of Music
(434) 582-2203
jbennett3@liberty.edu
 
Mr. Bobby Jacky
Director of Programming
School of Music
(434) 592-4188
rjacky@liberty.edu
 
Dr. Gary Mathena
Director of Practica
School of Music
(434) 592-5569
gmmathena@liberty.edu
 
Mr. David Pritchard
Coordinator of Equipment Tuning and Repair
School of Music
(434) 592-7729
dspritchard1@liberty.edu
 

Secretarial Staff

Ms. Angela Cage
Receptionist
School of Music
(434) 592-6568
arcage@liberty.edu
 
Mrs. Sandra Snell
Faculty Services Secretary
School of Music
(434) 582-2282
ssnell@liberty.edu
 
Ms. Medley Lovelace
Student Services Secretary
School of Music

(434) 592-3875
melovelace@liberty.edu
 
Mrs. Rebecca Urban
Travel and Program Recital Secretary
School of Music
(434) 582-2318
rurban@liberty.edu